We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALMOST 100%”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a very good hotel- clean and comfortable with friendly,courteous and efficient staff. The only drawback is that there was no full length mirror in the hotel - although there was one just outside the room - but who wants to go in to the corridor to check on your appearance. The car park (if you are lucky enough to be able to get a space) is overpriced ( gone are the days when you could use a hotel's card park for free) . Having said that I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Ellissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking your time to leave a great review. We hope to acheive 110% on your next visit with us! We do offer full length mirrors in our bedrooms which some already do have. Please be sure to use our One Touch Service on your next visit to ensure we can meet your request whilst you are staying with us - 100% guest satisfaction guarantee. There are many car parks nearby which we benefit from and charge as little as £1/hour or £24/day which we advise guests to also use.

I look forward to welcoming you again on y our next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,425 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Easy to find, it's directly opposite John Lewis. Small underground parking option which is totally secured. Check in was swift and efficient and we were offered several rooms, based mostly on how high we wanted to be. Room is spacious, very clean and tidy and the bathroom likewise. Plenty of white, fluffy towels and complimentary bath accessories offered. There is a fridge, tea and coffee and all other standard accessories you'd expect of a hotel of this level. The elevators are very, very slow and laborious so avoid a top floor room if you are in any kind of hurry. We were advised of this on check in so that was a real plus point. We weren't in any hurry this time so it didn't matter.
I had stayed here a fortnight before on business and the breakfast was a hot and cold buffet style affair. This time however, as the hotel had few guests the hot option was taken as an order at your table. The most annoying thing on both occasions was that the best part of the restaurant was being laid up for lunch and therefore unavailable to breakfast users. It's 8 o'clock in the morning, is it really necessary to shut the best bit of the restaurant to lay up for something that will happen in 2 hours or so?
The other point to note is that they could not provide a single egg cup, so we had to become incredibly inventive with a shot glass in order to enjoy boiled eggs. We did raise this on departure and they assured us it would be addressed.
Don't bother with the upgrade to the business option it really is a rip off. There is a cordoned off area in the main lobby which I wouldn't thank you for ,where canapes are offered for an hour or so in the evening and breakfast is served elsewhere, again on the thoroughfare as everyone comes through to breakfast. There are some free papers but really, for the sake of the £1 to add to the room I cannot see the value of the business option. I have stayed elsewhere where this has been an option and it has been worth every penny.
The staff were knowledgable and helpful and I would stay again.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view but the slower the descent to the lobby. We took the stairs ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melandmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for our fellow guests. It is great to see that you chose to stay with us for your birthday treat in one of our bedrooms on the higher floors offering great views across the city. Your points in regards to our breakfast area has been noted and will be addressed with our team accordingly to ensure the best service is always provided for our guests at all times. Many of our guests enjoy the additional luxury elements of our upgrade. I do sincerely hope we change your mind on your next visit again with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very good hotel, nothing to complain about: single room spacious, clean and comfortable, soundproofed, amazing breakfast in the morning. A few steps away from Cardiff central station. Looks identical to many other hotels of the same category, perfect service and fair price. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laureanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our super buffet breakfast is one of the best in the city and we are glad you agree. Comfortable, spacious and clean rooms and high level of service at a great price, what else could you ask for...

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I had two separate one night stays during January and on both occasions the service was very good. Reasonable room prices.
Check and out was problem free and room was very clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and food very good.
Only downside, car parking £15 is a bit expensive.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank rsb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our staff friendly and fodd very good. Please do bear us in mind for special celebrations as our Filini restaurant is open to the public 6 days a week. Our nearest car park is John Lewis is across the road but the most value for money would be NCP on Pellet St at £1/hour or £6/24 hours.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday with my partner. Check in was quick and easy. The room was on the 17th floor with amazing views over Cardiff and Cardiff bay. The room was spotless and replenished each day with tea, coffee ect. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and served at good times. Had a lovely stay at this hotel and have recommended to friends too.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Becks3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your fantastic five out of five star experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your special birthday celebrations with us. I am glad to hear that you saw the fantastic views across the city that we offer in every bedroom with our floor to ceiling windows.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I arrived quite late and left fairly early the next day but I was impressed by the pleasent welcome, the no nonsence check in, not having to wait for a lift (I was on the 15th floor), a very comfortable and well equipped room (so many choices of light combinations!) and an excellent breakfast. The hotel is just a few minute walk from Cardiff Central Station in one direction and the attractions of the city centre the other way. Despite that, the room was quiet and my sleep undisturbed. On departure I told reception about two very minor issues with the room and the reaction left me confident that they'd be sorted.

Room Tip: the higher floors give you an impressive viwe over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_y_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our great location and superb super buffet breakfast. It is great to hear that you felt welcomed by our team at the hotel and your kind words will be passed on.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We came for a little weekend getaway and decided to stay in the Radisson Blu. The location was perfect - a 2 minute walk to go shopping!

When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly gent behind the desk. We were given a free complementary upgrade to a business class room, and the room was perfect. It had an excellent view and had a super level of cleanliness with everything you could need for a stay! Tea bags and bathroom extras were replaced so when we returned from shopping it was like everything was new. The bed was very comfortable and we had 2 lovely nights sleep.

On our way out for the evening we stopped and sampled a few drinks at the bar, lovely service and atmosphere.

Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay and would definitely return again next year for another weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellylacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed a five star experience at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff. Our bedrooms ensure a lovely comfortable night's sleep and our location is perfect for shopping trips!

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £60 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing