We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Another excellent stay at the Radisson Blu Cardiff. ideal location for the city centre and concert at the Motorpoint. excellent check in staff, leant me a phone charger for the night - very comfy bed, great size room and bathroom , lovely breakfast . All perfect as always.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty W, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Our location is perfect to venture over to the Motorpoint arena for concerts and also into the city for shopping or to visit local tourist attractions. It is fantastic to hear you mention our great staff, lovely breakfast and comfortable rooms we offer. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 2,421 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

This modern hotel in a central location in Cardiff is a good place to spend a weekend. The décor is pleasant and staff very friendly. We were lucky to be upgraded to a Business Class room on the 21st floor. You get a good view from up there. With only two lifts you may have to wait a little to get up or down especially in the morning, but this is not a major problem. Our room was spotless and the en suite bathroom spacious. Breakfast saw a good choice, the Filini restaurant had a modest Italian inspired menu which was fine, but not outstanding. A couple of train lines pass by the hotel, but in our case we heard nothing of the passing trains. Be aware that parking is very limited and cannot be booked in advance. We had to park in the John Lewis car park across the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty W, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Our location is perfect to venture into the city for shopping or to visit local tourist attractions. It is fantastic to hear you mention the decor, great food, friendly staff and lovely views from our comfortable rooms. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction. We are lucky to be located near many car parks such as John Lewis across the road, St Davids II and also NCP Pellet St down the road.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Kitty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have stayed at the this hotel a few years ago, and when we needed to book overnight accommodation in Cardiff again, we checked their prices and found them to be more reasonable than most of their competitors, we were not disappointed, check in was quick and we were greeted with a smile, my request were met and the receptionist explained if we were not happy to let them know and they would do their best to accommodate us. The room was clean and towels and linen were crisp and had everything you needed, toiletries etc. Tea & Coffee facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board should you require it. The view from the window was of part of the town that you could see the railway, but you could not hear anything in fact my husband commented on how quiet it was. Breakfast was also well planned, pleasant staff and plenty of them, when asked if we would like tea or coffee and we said coffee we were offered a choice of cappuccino, and although we had normal black coffee, it was very good, i asked for an omelet as i am not a fan of the full English, and this came back perfect. My husband enjoyed his full English from the self service area, cold meats, smoked salmon, cheeses were also available as well as fresh & tinned fruit and cereal and pastries. check out went seamlessly and they looked after our overnight bag while we went shopping. All in all a very pleasant stay and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your five out of five star review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Our location is perfect to venture into the city for shopping or to visit local tourist attractions. It is fantastic to hear you mention the great service you received and comfortable rooms we offer. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction. Our super buffet breakfast is one of the best in the city so it's great to hear that you agree too!

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for one night recently after going to a concert. Booked at last minute. Room was lovely. Very spacious room and big bathroom, with very nice fluffy bath towels. We didn't have a meal or breakfast but had a great stay. Hotel is in ideal position very near city centre. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us following your concert. Our location is also perfect to venture into the city for shopping or to visit local tourist attractions. It is fantastic to hear you mention our spacious rooms and great bathroom we offer. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Raddison Blu Cardiff is an extremely clean and efficiently run hotel. We arrived during the Friday night rush hour but hotel parking was a dream (thanks to the amazing work of the attendant there who was more than helpful and really welcoming) and check in was efficient and quick.

Our room was a standard double but was extremely large for the price we paid and very plush even though it was rated as standard. Cosy and clean with comfortable beds and a sparklingly clean bathroom. Plenty of storage space and well controlled room temperature. The rooms are well sound insulated and although the hotel is situated very close to the main railway line into Cardiff we did not hear anything that would disturb your stay.

The hotel car park was a little snug (!) but with careful maneuvering is OK (we have a Vauxhall Astra but anything bigger could be more of a challenge. You can use the John Lewis car park opposite (as our friends did) but it is more expensive if you plan to stay there more than one night and the John Lewis Car Park only open late when the store does. The Raddison Car Park is very secure and if you can go there.

The Filini Bar area is cosy and buzzing with ambience without overpowering your evening. Drinks are standard hotel prices and service is very good. Its a little chilly there as its completely open plan but it gives nice views of the busy road and nightlight outside the reception area.

There are 2 lifts which although a little slow are roomy and of a good standard. For those who cannot wait a couple of minutes there are stairs :-)

Breakfast is fantastic and for £9 each was really good value. A vast array of proscuitio's, chesses, fresh fruits etc, many many cereals and of course a wide variety of cooked food stuffs were available. The sausages (always a good indicator of breakfast standards) were gorgeous and did not leave you feeling like you had eaten a tray of salt. 3 different types if bacon available too which was refreshing along with plentiful FRESH mushrooms, tomatoes, potatoes black pudding etc. Any style of eggs available freshly cooked too and swiftly supplied when ordered.
I would definitely recommend the breakfast here and the staff are extremely pleasant,efficient and very welcoming too.

All in all Well done Raddison - we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolLouLouD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Our location is perfect to venture into the city for shopping or to visit local tourist attractions. It is fantastic to hear you mention the great atmosphere in our Filini Bar and large comfortable rooms we offer. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction. Our super buffet breakfast is one of the best in the city and it's great to hear that you agree!

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Have stayed here twice and whilst there is no single issue with the hotel there are a few little things that take the edge off:
1) Car park is very small and expensive so use the John Lewis over the road unless you need an early start (the JL one opens late)
2) Only two lifts which can take ages to sometime arrive
3) Next to the train station so if you are a light sleeper or used to no outside noises it can be a disturbed night

Then a few specifics around the room I had recently (803). Curtains are almost hanging off, held by about half the number of hooks they should be. Water pipes or air con is very noisy, enough to wake you (a colleague had a similar comment on floor 7 so not an isolated thing).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you chose to stay with us again after your first visit. We are lucky to be located near many car parks such as John Lewis, St Davids II and NCP Pellet St. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be addressed with our team accordingly to help improve our services moving forward. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction. Our One Touch Service is available throughout your stay with us so we are able to ensure that you receive the full service you deserve.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Second time I have stayed here, the first was on a business trip and the latest i took the family for a break in Cardiff. Great hotel, great staff, great value for money. We had a junior suite on the 20th floor, the room was clean and had great views. The espresso machine was a great bonus and was used throughout our stay. I will go back for both business and family visits.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jens H, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us along with your family. Our location is perfect to venture into the city for shopping or to visit local tourist attractions. It is fantastic to hear you mention the great views from our bedrooms and fantastic Nespresso coffee machine we offer. We pride ourselves in offering 100% guest satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cardiff.


Kind Regards
Jens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff

Address: Meridian Gate Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#14 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £61 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing