We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takeaway was terrible”

Pearl of the Orient
Ranked #180 of 1,235 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Since opening in 2001 Pearl of the Orient is seen by many as Cardiff's Premier Oriental restaurant. Situated in the opulent surroundings of Cardiff Bay's Mermaid Quay offers discerning customers the finest Cantonese, Peking, Malaysian and Szechwan as well as catering for Vegetarians in contemporary relaxed surroundings.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Takeaway was terrible”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have eaten there before was ok. Tonight ordered takeaway was supposed to be shredded chilli was shredded beef in watery oxtail soup.
This place is dying.
Avoid

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barratt_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    110
    53
    51
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor - won't be going back”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was wary if this place after reading the poor reviews on here but decided to head here anyway with a group of friends who had bought Groupon vouchers. What a mistake. Portions were minuscule & the main which was Cantonese meat & jasmine rice was lukewarm so we sent it back to be reheated & it was still lukewarm not 1 bit hotter! The meat was very fatty & we felt as though the waiters were constantly watching us. Really not worth the money even with a voucher, won't EVER be going back, much nicer places to eat in the Bay sorry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmj361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't be returning !!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Haven't been to the pearl of the orient for quite a few years so we thought we'd go tonight ....

Service was terrible ...
Starters were ok
My main ( sweet and sour pork)
Was uncooked .. Pink in the middle
Would of had a pudding but the service was so bad we didn't bother

Asked for the bill ... Nice 10% charge added on


Definitely would not recommend this place ... Definitely won't be going back !!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyGee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable lunch at Pearl of the Orient”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had lunch at the Pearl of the Orient yesterday and really enjoyed the food and drink. We did have a Groupon voucher which was great value but there normal lunch offer seems to be good value to. We can't fault the staff or the speed of there taking our orders. We had garlic ribs and thai fishcakes to start followed by Chilli squid and Chicken kung po. The Chinese beer is really tasty to.
The only thing we would fault is the bill. All I can say is that you have to be careful and go through it carefully. The staff do not explain that the bill you receive (if you have a Groupon Offer) is not the amount you have to pay. This is because the bill includes a 10% tip added to your TOTAL bill including your lunch (which you've already paid for). Get your calculators at the ready!
Saying that though we will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshtravellers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We won't be back...”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Visited the restaurant from Groupon. The staff wasn't happy to serve even though the restaurant was almost empty. Portions were small and disappointing... It really is a shame as this restaurant has a perfect location and could become a top place to go to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frogggyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearl of the Orient also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Pearl of the Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing