We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cardiff visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Truffles

Truffles
Ranked #311 of 1,215 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Welsh, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve British food cooked to your liking a speciality is fresh fish pan fried in olive oil served with choice of potato or try our welsh rarebit
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cardiff visit”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We come to Cardiff from Plymouth as much as possible. We stumbled on Truffels last December whilst Xmas shopping. We are so glad we did. The food is outstanding , the ambiance just so and the staff, especially Emma who remembered us and who asked about our excursion from the day before are excellent. This has fast become our fave place to eat whilst in Cardiff. The food is plentifull and the prices are very good. I would recommend a visit and can't wait to come back later in the year

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    71
    17
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality food for good value!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This place is good for a breakfast or lunch. Always good service and good atmosphere. The portions are good value for money and very tasty. The Sunday lunches are one of the best I've had in Cardiff too. I eat here fairly regularly and would always recommend to other people.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aled H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
385 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had breakfast here on two occasions. The first was perfect, (eggs Benedict and full English) which is why we returned. On the second visit my husband was brought the wrong breakfast which slightly spoilt things. Excellent coffee on both occasions though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic VFM”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Called in one morning around 10.00am with my wife, daughter and her boyfriend. We all had something different (breakfasts), all meals came quickly, and all were good portions. The food was excellent and more than enough to satisfy most people. They even brought some toast 'on the house' which we forced ourselves to eat as well :)
All in all - great value for money - goods sized portions - and great food.
We are from Cardiff and I can't believe why we did not discover this cafe before.
We will certainly be going again soon as I really enjoyed it - can you tell!
Highly recommended to all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threesheds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality home cooked food”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Been visiting for a few years and always have breakfast or brunch here!! Friendly staff food always excellent no frills good honest well presented meals ! Best breakfast in city centre

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spursssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Truffles also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Truffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing