We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regan Hotel

Regan Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Regan Hotel
Ranked #31 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Regan on Saturday night. Really nice hotel!!! We arrived approx 1.30 to be greeted by Chris Regan. Very chatty guy!!!!! We were informed about breakfast being in the pub a couple of doors down (excellent breakfast) We met Lola, Chris's puppy bulldog, beautiful dog. Our rooms were spacious and clean, nothing extravagant just what it said on the tin. My wife commented on the bedding smelling of washing powder as you do not normally get bedding cleaned personally as they do in the Regan.
What makes 'The Regan' is Chris Regan. What a really nice chatty host. Would defornately recommend for a simple weekend away. Thanks Chris.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel is for sale and we initially had a problem contacting the owner to clarify parking concerns,we did eventually speak to Chris the owner who was very helpful, there is limited parking available for free but on a 1st come basis.
Chris greeted us on our arrival and we had a twin room on the top floor which was very nicely decorated and very warm.
Breakfast is in the Beverly hotel/pub 2 doors away and was more than adequate.
Owner was very pleasant and assured we had a good stay.
Due to the sale of the hotel payment is by cash only.
Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Note that payment is by cash only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank organ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed for one night. The room was actually good, the shower wasn't great but overall not bad for the price.

The major issue was with the hotel manager/owner. My girlfriend checked into the room in the afternoon before i arrived and described the check-in conversation as being strange.

When we came down to check out in the morning we were told in a rather unfriendly manner that they only took cash as opposed to cards, this was due to the hotel being for sale/sold and having no merchant facilities. It was a very strange conversation with the manager/owner who was eating his breakfast at the time.

I them had to walk down the road to get some cash, when i came back to pay the bill the owner/manager had changed into riding trousers and boots and gave me a hotel business card with my bill which seemed also quite out of the ordinary

late rooms didnt make it clear this was cash only so overall came away happy with the value of the room but cant say the service was very pleasant and not at all customer focused.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Should have been warned by the knee-high weeds in the front garden and the 'For Sale' sign out front, this was going to be a rough night. Stayed here in May, a very cold night and the room was freezing. I was unfortunate to have the downstairs room under the stairs, it seemed like an ice box and of course the heating was off given the time of year, fair enough, but no forethought to providing an electric heater. It has been a long time since I've seen brown bedsheets, but here they were. I moved the chair to put some clothes on it (no wardrobe) and the dust in the carpet made a nice grey outline of where the chair had been. Having slept in all of my clothes to stay warm, in the morning I was disheartened to not find a hair dryer in the room so I didn't even bother washing my hair as it was freezing still. Breakfast was next door in a pub, good coffee and friendly there thank goodness. Not sure how much longer this place will be around. It's kind of an endangered species finding a B&B this unwelcoming, but maybe avoid if you value a good nights sleep and warmth.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladywithbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect. Minutes from city centre in a nice quiet area.

I arrived slightly early and was able to check in right away. The host was a gentleman and had us checked in quickly.

The room was spacious, clean, warm and decorated nicely. The bathroom was in top confition and the bed very comfortable.

Breakfast is served 2 doors away which wouldn't have been a problem had I not overslept with a major hangover!

I'll def be back to this place, as long as the new owners keep up the service experienced!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Stayed for one night during a recent rugby weekend trip. Handy car park at rear of hotel.
Decor was good. Breakfast served in hotel next door but one, which was good despite the very long wait.

Our room was located on the ground floor and felt a little exposed right on the corridor leading to the owner's lounge and kitchen. Although the room itself was clean and the bed very comfortable there was a build up of black mould around the base of the shower screen and around the plughole in the sink in the ensuite. Nothing that a squirt of bleach and some elbow grease wouldn't solve but it was enough for both myself and my partner to notice and comment on.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fifi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangefni, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed in the Regan Hotel this weekend for the rugby,decor was lovely, room was fantastic very clean, very friendly staff, Chris Regan the owner was very accommodating and very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location was excellent, within walking distance of the Millenium Stadium and City Centre, a nice walk through Sofia Gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri25anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Guest House
Beaufort Guest House
#13 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 62
Number 62
#7 of 45 in Cardiff
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 45 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Laurels Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#8 of 45 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cayo Arms
Cayo Arms
#40 of 45 in Cardiff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regan Hotel

Property: Regan Hotel
Address: 81 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Regan Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing