We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plastic sheet under the four poster (nice!)”
Review of St Hilary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St Hilary Hotel
Ranked #33 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Maldon
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plastic sheet under the four poster (nice!)”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

To be fair, that was the worst of it and the hotel boasts several four posters although I wouldn't recommend this for any sort of romantic getaway. My room was tiny and you can hear all the other guests. That said, you do get a bit of a workout trying to open the door. The building itself is beautiful and probably even better if you are into rugby and canvasses. The breakfast was good and was in the LODGE (a few doors up) which looks far nicer, but I didn't stay there. Not sure if they have plastic sheets under their beds too. I imagine the assumption is that all guys in vans are incontinent.

Room Tip: make sure you get a lower room and check the undersheet before your host disappears!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    24
    12
    24
See reviews for
14
30
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

booked it last miuit for the rugby, we got a twin side room, small but clean. the walls are thin,you can hear people snooring, its very convenient to town ,10 mins walk, the gentleman that booked us in was very nice and genuine, the breakfast was nice. all in all its ok for the money. cash only

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

3 of us stayed in the B&B for £65.00 for the night. The welcome is friendly and the owners made sure that we had everything that we needed. As the previous reviews state, the décor is dated, but the rooms were clean, towels fresh and there was plenty of room for the 3 of us to get ready for the evening. You get more than what you pay for. If you compare prices of other locations in the city - this is by far one of the cheapest. It is a five-ten minute walk to the centre or we got a taxi which cost £5.00.

Cheap and cheerful and ideal for somewhere to crash after a night out. Breakfast was included within the price and there was extra tea and orange juice provided upon request.

All in all ideal for what we wanted. Will definitely be staying again on visit for a night out in Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianh200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012

St Hilary LODGE (not hotel) was the perfect B and B for my stay during a christmas do night. I loved the new york scene canvases around the bed and the landlady was a STAR. Entertaining and cheerful. The breakfast experience made me super happy because they were just so attentive and kind. food was served quick and was spot on. I wanna stay again asap. Karla Brading

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Came to Cardiff for a night out and visit to the city for my friends birthday. We were greeted upon arrival by the most delightful, bubbly lady who was very helpful, very fun, with a great sense of humour.
We were shown to our rooms and left to it. Although the rooms are very dated and quite small...for £15 each (which is what we paid from laterooms) we were over the moon. It was cosy and cute in my opinion.
The £15 each also included breakfast!!!!! Normally you pay £15 for a fry up let alone with the accommodation included!! The b&b is situated in a perfect position. Just out of the city centre so you dont get the noise and disturbance...but certainly walking distance (in flats) with a few nice restaurants and pubs for food or a drink along route. About 15 min walk to shops and clubs.

Highly recommend this place. People are quick to judge and leave negative comments yet not enough people show appreciation for good experiences. I much prefer to stay at a family owned b&b where you are looked after and treated like royalty, than a plush chain hotel where you are just a number. Had an amazing time and WILL be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave14121987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obigies
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It's a (very) simple hotel, looking old timer. We'were 4 in 2 rooms. Nr11 at first floor was okay but nr5 at ground floor was smelling humidity and a lack of fresh air. Breakfast was correct and situation from town center affordable if you like to walk. We were there for Wales-Belgium match, like this you know the context. Average, really average.

Room Tip: Not at groung floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Never ever again, I would rather stay in the train or bus. I have long forgotten televisions this old.d The gent who booked us in was good and I felt sorry for him. To get access to wifi from room 11 - sit on the staircase. Cash only on arrival, sneaky if you ask me, they got your money so you will stay. My girls and myself were too tired to find somewhere else. Not recommended at all. I am also going to find the owners details and put in a complaint. Not worth the £65. I am sure the YHA is better than this.

Room Tip: Do not take room 11. Especially if you want to read sub titles on the television - magnifying glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie1958N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.2 mi away
Elgano Hotel
Elgano Hotel
#26 of 44 in Cardiff
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#3 of 44 in Cardiff
398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#11 of 44 in Cardiff
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunk House
Bunk House
#27 of 48 in Cardiff
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Hilary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Hilary Hotel

Property: St Hilary Hotel
Address: 144 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9JB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Hilary Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your St Hilary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Hilary Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing