We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bill Lawlor ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Cafe

Bangkok Cafe
Ranked #138 of 1,209 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Bill Lawlor ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

First visit to the Bangkok Cafe and we were not disappointed.
The food was excellent,staff were very helpful and polite.
Lovely atmosphere and we will certainly be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    84
    33
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Flavours galore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went with two friends, prior to cinema. This was the third time two of us has visited Bangkok Cafe in past 6 months. Such is the reliability of good food and service. We all thoroughly enjoyed our starters and main. Infact, none of us was able to finish the main due to the size of the meal. It seems as if portions have increased in size recently? Anyhow, we're not complaining! A warm friendly service complemented the absolutely delicious, impeccably presented food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch Thai urban food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went last night for dinner last night and needless to say the restaurant delivered once again. Tried a new dish called roast Duck breast with yellow rice and a lime and chilli sauce. My husband had a beef rib eye steak with a tamarind chilli sauce which came with some lovely light and crispy veg fritters. Service was impeccable as always and although the restaurant was heaving, each table was being attended to with precision. The menu is an eclectic mix of Thai urban street food along with traditional Thai curries. This was our fifth visit to this place and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely BANGtastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

After watching 3 episodes of secret eaters in bed on a windswept saturday afternoon, my girlfriend and i, and a couple of friends had some extreme hunger pangs. We racked our brains to think of a place to eat, and felt lazy, so we strolled over to cowbridge road. After walking past bankok cafe a few times we thought it looked good! We went in and it was extremely busy and the atmosphere was electric!

We were warmly greeted by a waitress in some fantastic trousers, and escorted to our table. We quickly ordered some wine and mulled over the extensive menu. After much deliberation i decided on the "son in law eggs" purely chosen for its intriguing name, my companions went for prawns with rice and tempura veg, beef curry and thai green chicken curry. Our food arrived within 5 minutes!!!! All of our choices amazed us, and we were thoroughly surprised at just how delectable it was! The squid starter blew our minds with its light batter draped over those little rings of joy. My partner is an avid squid enthusiast and has sampled it in almost every restaurant in cardiff, he said it is the best hes ever eaten! All in all, you need to eat here, its a little gem!!!! 5*****

Helpful?
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, especially starters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I visited the Bangok Cafe with some friends on Saturday night. As usual for a weekend, the place was full to bursting and given it's a smallish space, the restuarant was hot and noisy. It took a while for us to be seated although we had booked ahead, but once we settled in we had a great evening.

All the dishes we ordered were zingy, fresh and brightly flavoured, with a clear standout for me being the spicy prawn soup on the starters menu. Staff are friendly even though they're always busy.

My one suggestion for improvement is to replace the plastic crockery - it might be bright and cheerful, but I'm a firm believer that plastic tableware is only suitable for picnics and for children under the age of five...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calavera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Cafe also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bangkok Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing