We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel One Hundred

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel One Hundred
Ranked #7 of 46 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were booked in to this hotel for a visit to Cardiff to attend our friend's wedding. Our friend kindly booked the hotel and we were given the best room at the top of the building which would have comfortably slept 3. The finish is amazing very boutique hotel and so romantic for our first nights away. Great wee touches like high beams and some lovely refreshments. Although this is a small hotel/b and b and there is no bar it's definitely a great base for all the Cardiff centre attractions. High style and comfort.

Room Tip: If you can get the top room. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckerrowlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    66
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
96
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This family-run bed and breakfast has a sort modern feel in parts (it tries to be boutique style) - e.g. nice bathroom fittings, comfy beds, quality smellies, wood strip flooring. In other ways it is still a converted property (it is - unfortunately - next door to a student hostel which is in a bad state of repair and upkeep). It is reasonably priced and well located for the City centre, and on bus routes and near Queen Street Station. Pillows were really hard, breakfast okay and helpfulness of the owner's mother outstanding. It is worth seeking out for its slight quirkiness and the overall quality of the Hotel One Hundred experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1013917MichaelH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Although it is advertised as an hotel it is actually a very good B&B. Good, spacious clean rooms, very comfortable beds and good sized and well equipped en-suites. Good tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. The en-suite I had was fully tiled and very chic, hotel style. The bedding was soft and the pillows comfortable. Very pleasant, modern but with some quirky additions to the furniture in the bedrooms and breakfast made the whole place feel warm and inviting. The décor was neutral and tasteful. There is a TV in the breakfast and a comfy sofa to use in the evenings but there are also TVs in the room along with free Wi-Fi. The hostess, Helen is the owner's Mum, was charming and very helpful. There are young girls who do the waiting and cleaning. Although there is a very small car park at the rear of the property which was full when I arrived, parking was not a problem in the avenue less than five minutes away. It is on a very busy main road into Cardiff so if you are not used to traffic noise then ask for a back bedroom.

It took us fifteen minutes to walk to the Motorpoint arena (formerly the CIA) and also into town. On the way, on the cross roads before turning right for the arena, is a renovated chapel now a chic bar and restaurant. It is called The Chapel. Prices around average and a nice place to have a drink before or after a concert at the arena.

The cost of our room was £55.00 for two including a very generous continental breakfast. But for another £5.00 each a full English is available, but it must be booked the night before. The owners do not live at the property but are available by phone situated in the breakfast room.

I would thoroughly recommend the establishment and will be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a back room and get there early if you wish to use the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled123-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week.We were visiting Cardiff for business so we had to be in and out of the city in a regular basis.Though we have nothing against this hotel as far as cleanliness is concerned,some rooms are smaller than expected but still that shouldn't be an issue, we wouldn't advise you to book there if you are not prepared to walk about half an hour to the center of the city or get a taxi-bus-your car.We were in Cardiff for 5 days and we left this hotel on the 2nd day due to its distance from city center and booked somewhere else.Check other options before booking...same or better prices,bigger rooms equally clean and better locations can be found!

Room Tip: we stayed in one on the top floor which was too small for a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vassia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelonehundred, Manager at Hotel One Hundred, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear guest,

We did not have any guests stay last week who stayed one night then cancelled the remaining 4 nights. In fact you had booked 2 nights and tried to stay on an extra night but we were fully booked. You were not happy about this and made you feelings known. I am sorry we were fully booked.

Room 6 is the one with the skylight as seen in pictures. The bed is a king size which is larger than a double and as everyone can see there is plenty of room left around the bed.

We are 10 minutes walk to Queen street which is the main shopping street of Cardiff. The only way you would have taken 30 minutes to walk there is if you got very lost. As you know we provide a map on check in and detailed advice on Cardiff.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Visited Hotel One Hundred with my girlfriend and stayed for one night in a top floor double room. The welcome we received was warm and friendly, Helen was very hospitable and gave us tips on public transport and where to eat. The hotel is well positioned and it does not take long to walk to the city centre. For our fifty pounds we got free wi-fi, a large comfy bed in a well decorated and clean room and a lovely breakfast. The only complaint we had was that the shower was a little faulty and it took some coaxing to get the temperature right, resulting in our review rating being very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie-Milly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fehraltorf, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel was very clean, modern, well furnished. Iit is situated 10 min walk from the center of Cardiff, we had a parking place for free. The staff was very friendly and very helpfull. Excellent value for money. The only negativ:, there is no lift to go to the second floor with your suitcase..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelonehundred, Manager at Hotel One Hundred, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased you had a good stay with us. With regards to a lift, we only have a ground , 1st and 2 nd floor for 7 rooms in total and the house is Victorian so putting one in is not on the cards.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in this B&B. It was a bit confusing since I arranged it all on-line, through a male, and was told that they wanted to text me the day I was arriving to give them an idea of when we would arrive. I said we would have no texting available, but I would call. I was asked to call ~30 min. before arriving. I did call ~30 minutes before arriving, and the woman I spoke to seemed rather confused that I was calling to let her know. I had arranged for a king-size bed, ensuite. The bed seemed to be more of a queen, but maybe that is what they consider a king in Wales. The room was very reasonable for the size. The breakfast was cold, but there was a lot to chose from. A hot breakfast was available for L5 more. Other all, a very pleasant stay. Parking is free.

Room Tip: A "king-size" bed was only L58, which was one of the cheapest rooms I was able to find for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 46 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel One Hundred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Hundred

Property: Hotel One Hundred
Address: 100 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 1DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Hundred 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel One Hundred is an exquisite 7-bedroom boutique hotel just 5 minutes by foot from the center of Cardiff. Not just any old bed and breakfast accommodation in Cardiff, the interior has been individually designed with bespoke furniture while retaining the beautiful features of the Victorian era.Authenticity and Affordability is our mantra - stay with us and you will see why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel One Hundred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 100
Hotel One Hundred Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing