We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly”
Review of Hotel One Hundred

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel One Hundred
Ranked #7 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Because we had tickets to see Sandi Toksvig at St. David's Theatre in Cardiff, we looked for somewhere inexpensive, fairly close to the city and with good reviews. We found Hotel One Hundred and it did not disappoint. We were very well cared for by the owner's Mother, the cooked breakfast was fresh and tasty and our room was delightfully decorated. It was on the ground floor at the front but we heard very little of the very busy main road outside.

The dining room/guests lounge was well furnished and offered comfortable seats with books and dvd's if required.

We wanted to pay with our debit card but was told that there was 3% charge to do so. We hadn't noticed this on their website - hopefully it has been made more clear now - but between us, we found enough cash. The parking was a bit challenging - there is a side street but most of the spaces are residential areas. Be careful where you park!

It was really a bit too far to walk into Town (for us mature people, anyway) so we took the car into Town thinking it was only a few minutes away. It was, but at the time we started out, (around 5.45pm) to find a parking space, a meal and then the theatre, the roads were absolutely jammed with traffic. Allow over an hour if you are doing what we went to do.

Overall, for the price, this hotel cum guest house was more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    66
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
96
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this family run B&B. It was spotlessly clean and its in a good location just 10mins walk from the main centre of the city.
The owners we very friendly & helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossMcGhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

A 2 night stay. On quite a busy road but a room on the top floor and good double glazing masked most of the noise. Nicely furnished room with sky tv and a selection of dvds available in the dining room. Owner provided a good map and recommended a taxi firm for us. We didn't have the cooked breakfast but the free continental option was enough.
Downside: the bedroom was a little cold and the bathroom was particularly cold even with the heating on. The sink is very small making it difficult to fill the kettle and the only towell rail was on the opposite side of the room to the sink and shower. There is a 3% charge for using a debit or credit card which isn't clear on the website.
Good value for money, near to Cardiff centre, would consider staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Huxley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for just one night at this nice little hotel. The room we stayed in was #1, on the ground floor but up the front, so there was some noise coming from the reasonably busy front street.
The continental breakfast was nice, had everything you'd expect in a breakfast.
The room was clean and well presented.
We were advised to park on a side street, where there was free parking all over, however we got caught out parking in a 'residential park' which does not mean that you can park there if you are staying at the hotel. This needs to be understood, and should be explained more by the hotel staff I believe. We walked from the hotel down to the center of town, visiting the main shopping district and castle etc. It takes around 20-30 minutes, which wasn't too bad considering that parking in town was hard to find and expensive.
Overall the hotel did what it needed to do, at a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on a christmas shopping expedition. We arrived a little too early but were allowed to wait in the dining room while our room was made available. The young lady who welcomed us was very friendly and helpful.
The room was lovely, very clean and stylish. We stayed in a room on the top floor with a lovely bathroom and windows in a sloped ceiling.
We didnt eat the breakfast, this is our own choice and nothing to do with the hotel, but we saw the spread and it looked very nice, especially as it is in the price of the room.
At the end of our stay we were very kindly allowed to leave our bags after check out time so we could enjoy our final day without having to drag them around. The lady who we spoke to was very friendly and chatty and gave us some good tips on the buses and local attractions.
I would book this hotel again first before trying any others. We got a bargain at £57 a night, a lovely little gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelonehundred, Owner at Hotel One Hundred, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review. I'm very happy you took advantage of our wide variety of shops in Cardiff. Hope to welcome you back in the future ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely B&B, my room had some lovely high spec fixtures and fittings. If I was to be overly fussy, the only negative things were that the shower basin was very marked and there was quite a lot of traffic noise in my room which was right at the front of the building, but for the price I would definitely stay there again albeit I would ask for a room at the back. The breakfast was fine, there was always someone about if you needed to ask for anything. Paying for the room/check out was a little odd as the lady who dealt with it was fishing change out of her purse to give to us which took a while, but this was more than balanced out by her friendly welcome and the handy features such as the phone in the dining area with prerecorded numbers for taxis etc.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for one at the back, butnot the top floor back room which doesn't seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgettraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelonehundred, Manager at Hotel One Hundred, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review! I'm glad you had a good stay with us and apologies for a less than perfect check out. We must have run out of change ;) Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I expected better after the great reviews . The welcome and the staff could not be faulted but this is basically a house with rooms the owners do not live on site. The rooms are clean and well decorated but lacking in comfort -- no bedside table/ reading lights no storage for clothes and no shelving or clothes hooks in the bathroom(shower room) The road outside is also very busy and noisy. We did not pay a budget price (£120) per night and for this I would normally expect more luxury and a cooked breakfast. The area is not the best as regards parking although you can book parking if it is available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelonehundred, Manager at Hotel One Hundred, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review.

Yes that is correct. Hotel One Hundred is a 7 bedroom Victorian town house. Not a large 300 room chain hotel.

All our rooms have bedside tables. You can see this by taking a look at our photos.

There is a hanging device in the room for clothes. We also have clothes hooks at the back of the door in the bathroom.

You stayed with us on one of the busiest days of the year - The Rugby World Cup Opening ceremony. The average price for a hotel room in the city was £200.00 + with no breakfast. We offered a 35 item complimentary continental breakfast. Our rates for that weekend were reasonable. I would recommend choosing another weekend where you can enjoy our normal rates of approximately £75.00 per night for 2 guests.

We have a limited amount of secure parking on a first come first serve basis. There is a nearby street with plenty of parking if needed.

Thank you for your comments about our staff and our cleanliness. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel One Hundred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One Hundred

Property: Hotel One Hundred
Address: 100 Newport Road, Cardiff CF24 1DG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel One Hundred 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel One Hundred is an exquisite 7-bedroom boutique hotel just 5 minutes by foot from the center of Cardiff. Not just any old bed and breakfast accommodation in Cardiff, the interior has been individually designed with bespoke furniture while retaining the beautiful features of the Victorian era.Authenticity and Affordability is our mantra - stay with us and you will see why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel One Hundred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 100
Hotel One Hundred Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing