We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new, modern,clean, comfortable, friendly hotel in Cardiff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My wife and I and our tween-aged son have recently spent a night at this brand new, modern hotel, about a ten-minute walk from the center of Cardiff. We found every aspect of our stay very satisfying. The reception could not have been friendlier. The room was fresh, modern, comfortable. (the only thing I would improve is the level of lighting, which is quite dim). Parking was provided in a small, secure space in the back. Breakfast was basic but plentiful and served with friendly enthusiasm and accompanied by great conversation.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKoala87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

Very tasteful decor but not overdone
Very friendly but not intrusive
Luxurious but not expensive

I wish Abi and Charie every success in this venture and I would not hesitate in booking again. Thank you for looking after me so well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secretw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Great value newly opened small hotel ,rooms very modern and spotless, close to city centre and very nice staff/owners.
breakfast plentiful if a little low on choice, kids yogurts and coco pops not the ideal choice for adults ( no kids staying at this time ) but this would not stop me from coming back. good look for the future

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukethedog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I've just returned from spending 2 nights at Hotel One Hundread and was very impressed with this comfortable and enjoyable place to stay. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating and went out of your way to make you feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble.

The room was very comfortable, clean and well decorated, although not in the room hairdryers and DVDs were available on request.

The hotel is well situated, it is only a short walk (approx 5 mins) from Cardiff centre or there is a bus stop nearby with frequent buses into the city centre and beyond.

The buffet breakfast , although limited in choice was perfectly adequate with a cooked breakfast available at an additional cost, if required.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

First impressions are important and this was really bad! The front garden was a sea of mud and builder's detritus. Ladders and workmen impeded the entry as we squeezed through the front door and they were much in evidence on all floors.
At least our room was completed but was much smaller than the one depicted on the website. Designed by someone who had never slept in it, there was nowhere to put things – no wardrobes, hangers, drawers, not even a hook in sight. The decor of the room made a strong statement about something but left us mentally and physically cold – not a place where you would wish to spend any time. The lighting was abysmal – had to leave the bathroom door open in order to get more light into the bedroom. To plug in the kettle for a cup of tea required the dexterity and suppleness of a limbo dancer. There were no curtains just an austere black roller blind which did not help with retaining the pitiful amount of heat in the room or keeping the continual roar of the traffic from the main road out.
We had particularly requested parking and was told it would not be a problem as they had their own car park. It was occupied by contractors' vans. We had hoped to enjoy a drink with our son and his girl friend in the lounge/dining room as promised on the website but it was still a mess and no one put us in the picture as to when it might be clear.
When this place is finished and the management gets a grip on operating it in a hospitable and welcoming manner it might be rather cool but we were left with the feeling of having been really badly seen off by the owner/manager who was not in the slightest concerned about our complaints. His only input as we left, having abandoned a second night in preference to the warmth and surety of a Premier Inn, was to insist that he had a right to conduct alterations and internal work. It was this obstinacy and lack of sympathy which has primarily led to this denigratory review. .

In fairness the basics were satisfactory The bed was comfortable. There was hot and cold running water. The loo flushed. The breakfast was adequate. Success at running a back packer's emporium is not neccessarily a pre-requisite for you to shift upmarket.

A weekend at the Boutique Hotel One Hundred in Cardiff was something we had been looking forward to but unless you have some masochistic streak that enjoys paying a premium price for an inferior product we would advise you to go somewhere else that has a verifiable track record.

Our first and last experience of Cardiff will stay with us for ever, not least because the management of this establishment was unable to converse, apologise or have any personal rapport with us his customers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheSmithsBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelonehundred, Manager at Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear guest,

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us last Thurday night.

THE GOOD - Thank you for your praise of our lovely room - all of the other rooms are equally as beautiful.

THE BAD - When I entered your room staight after your departure I noted that the right hand side of your double glazed bay window was open and was open all night. Had it been closed with our double glazing and thick slik curtains the room would have been quiet.

The mattresses in all of the rooms are £500 Silent Night premium mattresses and 2 years old (we only opened 2 years ago)

THE UGLY - Cards are accepted but we have of course have to pass on our additional expenses which I explained in detail on check in. It is mentioned clearly on our website.

If you had checked our website for full details you would have seen a list of the foods served at breakfast. It is a vegetarian breakfast but we offer a cooked option as an alternative. Our free breakfast consists of the following : Coffee (freshly ground and brewed), Tea (freshly made on request, 3 types of bread, French pastries, cheeses, mixed berries, 3 types of yoghurt, 5 types of cereal, jams and speads including peanut butter and Nutella, Skimmed, whole milk and Soya milk, orange juice, cranberry juice and Apple juice.

As you can see from previous reviews this is enough for most guests. It gives CHOICE to our guests. If a cooked option was included in every stay we would be much more expensive (and not all guests want a cooked option as we have clientele from all over the world).

When I checked you in I offered you onsite parking. You waived that suggestion away saying you are happy on Cyril Crescent. To say there is not parking is ludicrous as there is plenty of parking - just ask us!

You CAN park infront of the hotel to unload your baggage because we are fortunate enough to have a double width pavement.

You parked on Cyril Crescent for free which is 30 seconds walk from our front door. Potential guests reading this would not see this as a problem.

When I book in all our guests I take them through the workings of the house and your room so that immediately you feel at home in our lovely guest house but you were not interested about hearing that or about tips on sight seeing or restaurants in Cardiff.

You had every opportunity to speak to me and voice that you were dissatisfied so we could have rectified any problems you had but you could not do this.

We are greatful to have been voted number 1 on Tripadvisor. Past guests have apreciated our reasonably priced accommodation (this is not hype) and you have to only read a few of them to realise this review is unjust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten insgesamt drei Zimmer, alle waren in etwa gleichwertig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank HelioRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Exchange Hotel
The Exchange Hotel
#1 of 47 in Cardiff
222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dexby Town House
Dexby Town House
#10 of 47 in Cardiff
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#4 of 47 in Cardiff
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast

Address: 100 Newport Rd, Cardiff CF24 1DG, Wales (Formerly Hotel One Hundred)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: £46 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel One Hundred is an exquisite 7-bedroom boutique bed and breakfast just 8 minutes by foot from the centre of Cardiff. Not just any old bed and breakfast accommodation in Cardiff, the interior has been individually designed with bespoke furniture while retaining the beautiful features of the Victorian era. Authenticity and Affordability is our mantra - stay with us and you will see why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 100
Number One Hundred Bed And Breakfast Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing