We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay and i will use this hotel again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We came over to Cardiff for the speedway we arrived on friday with a welcome there was a young girl helped us to book in and told us of the offers they had.we ate in the restaurant both nights as the food was lovely.We also had breakfast both mornings and it was also good.The hotel is really central to the shopping castle and also the Millennum Stadium which was great.Hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juls40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,090 - 3,096 of 3,277 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

There is no car park, go to the NCP car park opposite the hotel. There is an arrangement wherby you can park for £10 per day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordunitedOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
The room and bathroom were large - plenty of room for a wheelchair ro manoevre - and were adapted to a very high specification. In fact the best adapted bathroom I have ever found.
Everything was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The restaurant, while not michelin star, was reasonably priced with a good range of pub grub. Wonderful breakfasts.
No general car parking apart from multi storey nearby but free 24 hour parking immediately outside the hotel with a Blue Badge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbaileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Wasn't sure what to expect as we had never stayed in a Premier Inn before, but the reviews looked good so we thought we'd give it a go! Hotel was great - Rooms spacious and clean, had all the ammenities that you would expect, staff were friendly and very helpful etc. Breakfast was good - plenty of choice. We had an evening meal at the hotel restaurant the first night and food was lovely. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Ideally situated for all central Cardiff attractions & shopping. From our arrival to our departure the young & enthusiastic staff made us feel welcome. The room with en suite bath/shower was spotlessly clean; the bed was comfortable and the media facilities were up-to-date. Breakfast, in the pleasant restaurant room, came from a buffet bar & servery witha wide range of morning goods. Staff were willing to prepare additional items if requested. Only downside was the off-site parking but a standard reduction in parking fees somewhat compensated for this. Will stay again & will strongly recommend the hotel to friends & family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scousetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I stayed at the Premier Inn for 4 nights recently. It's a modern hotel very conveniently situated close to the train station.
There is a self-service check in which requires staff to be on hand to guide you through the process, which makes me think, why not just have the conventional method of checking in?
My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, the windows don't open so you are reliant on an air-conditioning system, which works, but personally I prefer fresh air.
The staff were friendly and polite.
Unfortunately I had two upsetting episodes on two separate nights. The first was having a glass thrown and smashed against my room door just as I was going to bed by 3 drunk guests. I complained to reception who took no action against these people who I had identified, other than to say the hotel security would be made aware of the incident. The following day I had a meeting with the hotel general manager, who to her credit took the matter very seriously by listening to my account of what happened. I received a letter from her that day, giving a full apology for my distress, plus stating she would be providing training to her staff on how to manage incidents more competently.
On my last night, I was woken at 2am by the fire alarm going off. Apparently this was caused by a guest setting it off as a "prank".
Premier Inn have a policy of refunding the cost of your stay under their "Guaranteed Good Night's Sleep". Again, to their credit, I have received a prompt refund for both nights my sleep was disturbed by the incidents described. I have suggested they install CCTV in their hotel corridors in order to identify and if necessary evict these idiots who behave in this way.
So, judge for yourself whether you want to stay at this particular Premier Inn. Personally, I have mixed feelings. One incident I can put down to chance, two in the period of 4 days indicates a more systemic problem with how the hotel manages their guests that hopefully management can recognise and correct.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robfranBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed here for a family break for 5 days. We were warmly welcomed and provided with plenty of information about the hotel facilities. We had asked for a quiet room so we were shown to the top floor where there are only 5 or 6 rooms. It was very clean and well presented. The only drawback when staying in a room with 2 children as well is the lack of wardrobe space. This is acceptable for a few days but would not be for me for say, a week.
There is plenty of choice for breakfast, well cooked and presented. The "all you can eat policy" is very tempting. The service was fast and friendly. The evening meals were also delicious, but if you go for the meal deals you have a limited choice.
The drawbacks- having to pay for internet connection - there is a pay per card system is a bug bear. Extortionate car parking - we paid £12 per day. We did later find a car park about 1/2 mile away charging £4 per day.

The hotel is in a good central location only a short walk to the main shopping precinct and Cardiff Castle. The Castle is well worth a visit and the ticket is valid for a year so you can go again for free! A no 6 bus from across the road from the hotel takes you down to the Bay area for a small fare where there's more to see and do e.g. restaurants, bars, Cardiff Bay Barrage, Technoquest (a bit like the Science Museum in miniature) - great for kids of all ages and more. We had a fabulous visit to the National Museum (free entry and free guide to the outstanding Impressionist Collection). We didn't get time to do all we wanted in Cardiff. There is so much to see and do. We had a fabulous time. Thank you again Premier Inn and thank you to the lovely people of Cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Binkyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £51 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing