We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Stayed here at the w/e, my first time at a Premier Inn and was pleasantly surprised! I was expecting basic & was a little worried, but the room was nice, clean with enough space & the bathroom was spotless! The bed was so comfortable with crisp white sheets that you didn't want to get out of it! The staff were friendly and helpful for your every need & the DIY check in was easy. Do try and get a high room though, as you'll have a better view, we were on the 2nd. The car park was easy to find, near on opposite the hotel and you get a 40% discount, which for city parking wasn't bad at all. The hotel is right in the heart of the town so everything is on your doorstep & the bus stop to Cardiff Bay is by the car park. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want an cheap & cheery & comfortable stay in Cardiff town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    876
    164
    55
    35
See reviews for
929
1,039
120
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My sister & I stayed here for two nights (Sat & Sun) in March 2011 (to watch the ice hockey & do some sight seeing). We arrived at the hotel at 12:00pm but were too early to check in (rooms weren't ready, check in is 2pm) but we thought we'd try anyway. The hotel lobby & bar area were buzzing with a variety of people (families, couples, hen & stag do's etc).
The location of the hotel ment we could easily walk into the town centre for shopping, eating/drinking & sight seeing. We checked in around 4pm & were given a room on the first floor (which turned out to be a bad idea for the first night!) The room was to be expected, clean, tidy, fairly spacious & comfy. Only problem was stag & hen parties! They all seemed to be on our floor! To try to explain - you go up in the lift & then when you get to your floor you step out into a large open area with rooms all around you so its quite echoy & the noise from people getting out of the lift & trying to find their roooms just carries! We didn't go to bed that early ourselves but found we were woken up a fair few times in the early hours by shouting & doors slamming!
The Sunday night couldn't be more different though, silence was golden!
So basically if you want some quiet avoid Fri & Sat nights otherwise ask for a quiet floor!
We didn't eat at the hotel due to being so close to other eating establishments so I am unable to comment on the food.
The bar area was pleasant with drink prices being ok.
All in all would definitely return as it was good value with a great location.

Room Tip: Book early & use Premier Inns website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STAR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

In the last couple of years we have inveasingly used Premier Inns when travelling. Their value proposition was unbeatable and most of what can be said in their favour is in other reviews. However we returned from a stay in Cardiff to find they had taken £65 pound from our credit card for a "no show". We had paid the agreed rate of £52 on arrival. The staff were unhelpful when I called to complain, telling me I had booked 2 rooms. I had the booking confirmatio to hand and it clearly showed one room. They then said that the day before arrival I had made a telephone request for a second room. I asked when that was and they said at 3:01am! Only then did they realise that this was ridiculous. Now I don't know if this was a scam, a malicious member of staff or a system error but I do know that it is likely that someone accessed my personal details and that makes me nervous. We have just booked another trip. This time we did not choose Premier Inns. It's worth paying more to get peace of mind. And expect the staff to tell you it's all your fault if you have similar problems. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PiggyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Every member of staff greeted us and went out of their way to be helpful, starting with the assisted auto-reception. Staff all smiling.
The whole hotel was immaculately clean. Bathroom, carpet, & bed-head you could feel relaxed about. Crisp white duvet & linen, with spare pillows.
The included breakfast was very adequate, the buffet kept tidy, the food fresh, even including the croissants (which is rare). The Costa coffee a fantastic touch,
The evening meals were good value, though not gourmet, sort of good-value pub food, and the "buy 2-glasses of wine and keep the bottle" again an attractive offer.
So much better than recent visits to London Hotels, which leave you ashamed that foreign visitors are subjected to them.
Well done ! We will spread the word.
Use the East Park and ride. Again, nothing but help and good advice, and it stops near to the hotel (about 200m).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ski_Wrinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Have never stayed in a Premier in before but if this is typical of the quality of room you get for the money then would probably stay in one again.

Used Trip Advisor to find the hotel based on the good reviews it has.
Bit disappointed by the car park (not multi storey) and although it was supposed to have CCTV we were a bit concerned about leaving the car in a city centre. The other problem is the cost, although I did do my research before hand (unlike the gentleman in front of us at check in who was shocked by the cost - even wth the hotel's discount).

The other problem was that we were on the 10th floor. We were looking directly into an office full of gentlemen and presumably they were looking into our room. Bit disconcerting to say the least.
There was also a problem with one of the 2 lifts on 2 out of the 3 days we were there. This meant at breakfast time everyone was trying to get into one lift - including the cleaners and their trolleys. Bit surprised there isn't a service lift.

On the plus side the breakfast was very good and very reasoable. The room was also very big even for a family room.

The location is good - right in the centre.

All in all I would recomend this hotel if you want a clean, convenient, good value for money room with not a lot of frills.

Room Tip: In view of the lift problem you might want to ask for a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chappers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Booked at this hotel at the last minute. I was a little worried about the price of GBP62 (because it was so cheap - and you normally get what you pay for) but the room was well-appointed and very spacious (one king size bed, one single bed, desk and still plenty of more space). Definitely the best value hotel that I stayed at whilst in the UK

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Great Staff, great breakfast, great hotel. This hotel has it all despite being of the characterless purple chain, except for the car park that is. Be careful with the post code given too, I met two colleagues there, we all had to ad lib with the post code.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing