We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I booked a few nights here months before online, entered my credit card details and assumed all was well. When we arrived however, I was informed that I hadn't paid and had to pay in full then. Apparently, this Premier Inn had been unable to take payments online for months, so the money had never been taken. Having checked my bank account this is true, but it would have been good if someone had let me know or there had been some information about this when booking, even just an email to outline the position - having assumed I had already paid this meant our holiday budget took an immediate hit that I hadn't planned for.

My other criticism is the car park - the hotel seem to push the ncp car park which they claim to have a reduced rate for (although given the way they push it one wonders whether they get a cut from the charge). The cost is about £15 a night which is incredibly expensive, so we avoided this by parking at Cardiff East park and ride - just £3 a day and you can leave your car for up to 72 hours without returning. The park and ride bus drops off just 5 minutes from the hotel as well. Would be nice if Premier Inn were more independent in their advice regarding parking as despite having asked them about parking prior to coming, the only option they told us about was the ncp.

On the positive though, the room was great - exactly what you expect of Premier Inn, modern, clean, spacious. The bathroom was equally good and we were happy with everything in this respect. The location of the hotel is fairly good too - only a few minutes walk from the shopping centre and 5 minutes from the castle. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you know for sure if you've paid in advance, and park at park & ride!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washing_Machine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,109 - 3,115 of 3,341 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

I booked online for £51.00
I turned up with two young daughter unfortunately a day late. My Mistake.
There was no help sympathy from the guy on reception - no refund or allowance from him.
We started to book for the night again.We could see there were loads of rooms available but he now wanted £73.00.
Didn;t book and went to the tourist information in the city who found me a great hotel for £43.
I have written to head office as I felt that he was taking advantage of the situation.
Shame as we were looking forward to our stay and have never had a bad experience with Premier Inn before. Perhaps it is a staff issue at this hotel that needs addressing.
Sorry folks but I am unable to comment on the room etc as didn't get to see one. Was not wanting to pay £73!!

Room Tip: Shame about the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lykr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Staff really friendly and very helpful. Breakfast staff (Valerie) very polite and couldn't do enough for us. Check in staff (Michael) very helpful and ensured all queries were answered. Recommend this hotel highly!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Excellent value for money hotel located in the city centre. We had very spacious room with clean & functional bathroom. Very friendly service. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatkaMaiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Train station literally a two minute walk, Bus stop right outside the door. Shos galore within 5 minutes. Staff very friendly. Bar area great for nightcap. Breakfast really good value. All in All a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I regularly stay in Premiere Inn’s as I travel with my job. I stayed here in July for one night and was not impressed at all. Perhaps I’ve been spoilt with the out of town Premiere Inn’s, but having to park on that unmade car park, then carry your luggage and work stuff across the road and up the steps was annoying, only to be greeted with a computer. The SATNAV option for this place and the car park did not work (the one where you reply by text). Trying to find the car park in rush hour was stressful enough but then to be faced with a computer to check in (why not a proper receptionist?). Seriously by the time I had checked in, found the room I wished I had never bothered coming here.
Breakfast was buffet style so most if it was either overcooked or just plain uninviting. The only member of staff I saw for the whole 15 hours I was there was breakfast waitress who had no idea about the car park discount, so I ended up being fleeced £16 to park there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WallisKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and on the receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed here with my family for 3 nights in total and were very happy with everything about the hotel. Staff were very helpfull and friendly and room was very nice with a great view over the city. Great location only 2 mins walk and you are in the center of everything. Next time we are in Cardiff it will be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £47 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing