We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel - Excellent Staff - Excellent Rooms - Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Excellent Staff - Excellent Rooms - Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a bit of a retrospective review but my partner and I stayed here in October as we went to a show at the Motorpoint Arena, a stone's throw from the hotel.
This hotel is brilliant, we stayed for a night and ate in their restaurant. We always do the meal deal for £22 per person when we stay, 3 course evening meal with wine or beer, and all you can eat breakfast. The restaurant has been beautifully decorated. The food was better than many well known restaurant chains, and the all you can eat breakfast is lovely, they have everything from cereal, to a full english, to porridge to croissants.
The staff, particularly the front of house and restuarant were fantastic and a credit to the hotel...
The room was absolutely spotless, and totally adequete for what we required. They have hit the nail on the head with this hotel, and we would definately return when we visit cardiff again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbristol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    864
    160
    55
    34
See reviews for
915
1,029
119
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had a short break at this hotel for shopping and sight seeing. The accomodation was basic and clean and suited our family requirements, including TV, Tea and Coffee, ensuite, hair dryer etc. Staff were friendly and polite. Breakfast was excellent. No parking but with such a good price on the hotel we didn't mind the charge for multi-storey parking close by. Late check out (12.00) was also useful. Definitely do it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gill085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Premier Inn can always be relied on to provide good, comfortable and clean accommodation at a reasonable price. This was my first visit to this particular one and I was impressed by the excellent location, very quick check-in, pleasant and helpful staff and comfortable room (an excellent nights sleep) Unfortunately we did not have breakfast as the queue for the restaurant was too long.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I booked this hotel for my elderly mother and aunt who went to see a show at the nearby Motorpoint. The feedback received from my mother is extremely pleasing. It seem like this budget hotel is providing an excellent service to its customers.

As many other reviewers state the welcome and attention from all members of staff was top class. The twin room (a disabled one) was on the 6th floor, right by the lifts and was very spacious. My mother will eat anything so her comments about the breakfast being the best in Cardiff should be taken with pinch of salt nevertheless she said the restaurant was busy and everyone appeared to be enjoying the feast.

Just a few minutes from the station (within walking distance even for these two doddery old ladies) this hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sideshowsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay. Staff very attentive, lovely comfy beds and everything very clean and tidy. We ate in the restaurant, the food was very good and staff very friendly. Convenient for the motor point arena, just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton, Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed in Premier Inn for two nights during the midweek. Upon arrival with my Son we both were made to feel very welcome and the checking in procedure was easy.

The reception explained about their guarantee on a "good nights sleep" and also about 30mins free Wi-Fi. The restaurant within the complex was recommended which offered a good menu at reasonable prices.

The staff are courteous and are more than happy to assist where they can from giving you directions around the city to even calling a taxi for you.

Our family room was situated on the 7th floor and was spacious with an en-suite bathroom. The beds were comfortable, and the room also had digital freeview television. The only downside to the room was you either had to sit on a hard back chair (only 1) or on the bed.

The rooms were very clean and well maintained with additional extra's such as coffee/tea facilities and a foam soap and shower gel dispenser in the bathroom.

The hotel is situated 5 minutes (walking) from Cardiff Queen Street railway station and is located less than 5 minutes (walking) from the local shopping precinct which has plenty of high street shops and bars, cafe's/restaurants.

Eventhough I booked last minute with just over 24hours notice, I thought it was a little overpriced dispite seeing it advertised on television for 1/3rd of the price I paid (think the more notice you give the cheaper your stay or was it because we were staying in the school holidays the prices were pushed up??? I'm undecided on that one!!)

For children there isn't many facilites within the hotel other than the TV in the room. However, there are local shops to explore. If your looking for more activities such as cinema/10 pin bowling, then go by train to Cardiff Bay Staion (1 stop from Cardiff Queen Street) and opposite the station (big glass panellled building, 5 minute walk) and visit the Red Dragon Centre.

Overall, a modern well maintained hotel with friendly staff in the heart of a great city. I will be booking here again.

Room Tip: Always book early as you may get a better deal than booking last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

It was almost midnight when I arrived at the hotel. Received a warm welcome from the receptionist who was very helpful and courteous.

The room was what I would expect from Premier Inn. Comfortable and clean (especially the bathroom). The overall impression is of a well maintained hotel. Good security as well, you need your room keycard to use the lift or access the stairs from the lobby so it's very difficult for strangers to wander in and out.

Breakfast was an 'eat as much as you want' deal and on offer was a hot buffet (eggs, bacon sausages etc.) as well as a simple choice of fruit, pastries, toast etc. The location in Cardiff is perfect and the central part of the city is less than five minutes walk.

I've stayed at the Radisson Blu in Cardiff, which is an extremely good hotel, however the Premier Inn represents much better value for money, especially for one or two nights. Thoroughly recommend this place and will definitely stay here in future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing