We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, good value for money and a home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This premier inn never fails to impress. The positives are too numerous to list but include:

Staff - eager to help, pleasant, knowledgeable and polite
Accommodation - clean, well maintained, well kept and comfortable
Restaurant - excellent selection, reasonable price, value for money
Price - rooms reasonable price and great value for location. Meal deals a must. Children eat free.

Do not hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleMayWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,534 - 2,540 of 3,372 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel is a nice modern facility very close to the city centre, with reduced price access to a nearby small, but somewhat potholed car park. It is comfortable, good value, quiet and clean; all you would expect from a standard Premier Inn (and I am a fan of this particular chain to be fair). I will say that the staff in particular were very welcoming and helpful when I arrived.

However, I'm not sure how it is rated as the number 1 in Cardiff. To enable fair comparison, the same standards should be applicable to all (i.e. it may be the best Premier Inn in Cardiff when compared to other Premier Inns; I don't know, but is it really the best hotel of all?).

One thing that irritates me is the charging for Wi Fi after 30 minutes. I can go into a McDonalds or Starbucks and access free Wi Fi all day long if I want. Why do I have to pay for Wi Fi in a hotel?

There's not much else to say really; it's a Premier Inn.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW1971022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Having stayed here before on my own and with my children I have experienced both sides, the hotel is great for children and the staff are very welcoming and helpful, the children were given a gift bag on check-in...colours, sweets, balloon and a voucher for a free cocktail (cranberry & orange juice) which was lovely gesture! Not had that before so the kids were happy from the word go!....Do be aware though that stag/hen parties do stay in the hotel mainly Fri/Sat nights and when we were having our meal (6pm) the bar was very rowdy from lots of revellers but that didn't bother us too much (they have to stay somewhere!) and even though they were noisy (they left after 30 minutes or so) it didn't dampen our evening at all and certainly wouldn't put me off staying here again...The staff are helpful and even a mix up in the kitchen over our dinner order was sorted efficiently and to my satisfaction...Everyone had a great nights sleep apart from myself but that was from my youngest's chest being bad, Great pillows mind! Even though our room was at the end of the lift corridor we didn't hear any noise throughout the night which was great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PheonixWelshGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband, 2 sons and I stayed for 2 nights. We had a lovely welcome and the rooms and food were great. Will definately stay here again in the summer to enjoy this lovely city. Only problem is the car parking not theirs and you have to pay for it although you do get a little off.

Room Tip: If you want a better view ask for a 01 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Only paid £19 for the night xcluding breakfast.Comfortable room & great central location.Helpful staff.
We got a discount on the nearby Rapport car park from reception which was great.
Would have liked more tea bags,coffee etc in the room,a bit stingey.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Hotel very clean staff friendly and efficient could not fault any aspect of my stay. New self check in and out very fast and simple. Room and surrounding area's were very quite. The best value hotel I have ever stayed would recommend to any one wishing to stay in central Cardiff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

What a fantastic hotel staff are fantastic, extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area. Bar & food prices extremely reasonable and location is ideal for shopping and motorpoint arena. There is no onsite parking but the NCP is across the road - with a special concessionary price of £11 for 24 hours. Rooms were spacious and clean - will definitely be revisiting.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreyh3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing