We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our second visit here. As I wrote before the only thing that lets this place down is the lack of parking, even for loading and unloading. The hotel is clean and the food very good. The breakfasts are amazing. We parked across the road in an NCP car park and get so much off if you ask the hotel reception to stamp the ticket. Our overnight parking bill would have been £22 but came to £14.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,933
    889
    169
    55
    37
See reviews for
939
1,056
125
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The premier inn was a great choice for viewing an event in Cardiff. It was near the centre of the city and the stay over was made more enjoyable by the friendly staff good accommodation and an excellent breakfast. I would stay here again. The breakfast staff served to a very high standard with the waiter Rich given excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very satisfied with my experience at this hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our booking and it was fixed without extra charge. I believe other hotels would have charged us to fix the problem. The room is big and comfortable. Our rate was unbeatable and it included a hearty full English Breakfast buffet. The location is in the center of the city and perfect for walking wherever you need to go. There is no onsite parking but there is a paid lot across the street that you will receive a discount for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnftr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed over in Cardiff on a Saturday night at this hotel in a family room with my wife and son. Room was quite spacious and came equipped with a proper bed for my son, not a pull out cot or sofa bed. Breakfast was good and filling. Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall good value, nice quiet night - could not fault it for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time. staff were amazing and beyond helpful ; highlighting all the doctor who filming locations when we mentioned visiting the doctor who experience was reason for visiting cardiff !(thank you alex !!!)
room was very big and very clean and beds as comfy as lenny henry promises !!!
breakfast was fantastic and cant wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I recently spent five nights in the Premier Inn in the City Centre.

It is just round the corner from Queen Street Station so is perfect for links to Cardiff Central and wherever else from there. It is also a stone throw from the Motorpoint Arena and Cineworld and a host of restaurants so is in the perfect location. In terms of the hotel itself it is the one of the best weeks I've had. The service from the hotel staff was excellent at all times. They were polite and efficient at all times and were always willing to help if you needed it. The service in the restaurant was excellent and the food was among the best I have tasted. The room I stayed in was always clean and well aired. It was very warm but q quick chat with Reception helped me cool it down to my sort of level (I feel very warm most of the time so wanted it cool). It had all you would expect from a hotel, clean towels every day and a top up of tea, coffee etc. Also had Imperial Leather soap for a shower if you needed it. I took my own but the option was there. The bed was wonderful to sleep on. Unfortunately I had back pain before going so couldn't really tell if I would have had a wonderful sleep as I don't usually anyway but the bed did help alleviate it slightly.

All in all it was a very pleasurable experience. I will be there again in May and very much look forward to my stay.

5 well deserved stars.

Room Tip: 4th floor room I add was a good height up. Wouldn't want to be too high up really as it goes up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Yes it is a standard Premier Inn, You cannot fault how spacious the rooms are. But my main problem was how uncomfortable the bed was for a "Good Night Sleep Guarantee" scheme! I have stayed in various Premier Inns and are a massive fan of Premier Inns as they are fantastic value for money. But the City Centre of Cardiff Premier Inn was not up to my total satisfaction - The bed was very hard and uncomfortable it took a lot of fidgetting and moving around the bed until I could finally get comfy - TBH I was probably so tired at that point from moving constantly that I fell asleep anyway. The pillows were too soft, they had the two alternative pillows on top of the wardrobe which is standard for any Premier Inn but even those pillows were too soft too. The desk chair seemed to be on its last legs and the A/C system in my room was pointless! Upon arrival to my allocated room it was very very warm in their, so turned the A/C on lowest temp but the temperature did not change, switched it off which made it worse as it remained too warm and stuffy.

I understand I may have just had a bad room and I hope all the rooms across the hotel are not like it. Other than the 3 main problems - 1) Hard Bed, 2) Too Soft Pillows 3) Pointless A/C system the rest of the room was spacious, clean and modern.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing