We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As usual a very nice comfortable room with tea/coffee making facilities. Within 20 min walking distance to city centre. I've stayed many times and will continue to do so. I use this for business a few times a year and it's always fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,871 - 1,877 of 3,372 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted and welcomed. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay either. We were in a large party so the adjoining rooms meant we could all socialise. Very clean and comfortable hotel, staff were fab. I would definitely stay here again. Location was also great, shops no more than a 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a family room with our 9 year old Son on a busy Saturday night, the room was very comfortable and spotless on the top floor so had an amazing view of the city and we were away from the busier groups on the lower floors, the staff were very friendly and worked hard, the atmosphere in the bar during the evening was relaxed and informal which was perfect for us and the breakfast the next day was amazing with a good selection on offer and very efficient as there was no waiting and there was plenty on offer, overall an excellent hotel and worth staying over if visiting the city.

Room Tip: 1001 perfect family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, on a short break to Cardiff. I really could not fault the hotel or staff. From the speedy check in, everything remained excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was very good as was the evening meal. The staff were very welcoming and were available to as answer any questions I had. My only issue was the cost of parking in the NCP across the road, but you do get a discount from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is a large mirrored building on a quiet plaza, on a relatively quiet road on the eastern side of the city centre. City view rooms are sought after, so I ended up on the Bay side. This overlooks the railway, prison and Cardiff Bay development (this latter the most prominent). The automatic check-in machine doesn't offer any choice of rooms but there are staff present, one of whom cheerfully searched for city view rooms then moved me to a higher floor. Certainly on floor 9 I was not bothered by railway sounds.

The hotel feels well-built with ample sound-proofing. This was let down by auto-closing room doors that it is hard to close quietly (unnecessary - Premier Inn should up their game on this). Setting aside the doors, effort has gone into good double-glazing, limiting sound on TVs, notices requesting quiet etc. And on the weekday nights I was there it was quiet. One can customise the air-conditioning e.g. by turning the fan down or, indeed, off as I did at nights, and there is a choice of soft and hard pillows.

Rooms are well designed with an easy chair and desk. Bathrooms have a proper bath. Decor here and in the bar/restaurant is bland and could use some local colour. Breakfast was OK rather than amazing, a reasonable range of choice in the self-service buffet.

Cardiff city centre is small, so it's easy to walk everywhere. A bonus is that the rather hidden steps at the back of the hotel plaza lead down to Queen Street station with trains every 12 mins to Cardiff Bay; also a Baybus stop (Bus. no. 6) for the Bay (or, going north, to the National Museum/National Assembly).

If coming to the hotel from Cardiff Central rail station one can either walk - 20 easy minutes - or take the train one stop to Queen Street. The hotel is 5 minutes from the very attractive St David's shopping centre with many eateries; be warned that as elsewhere in Cardiff most restaurants are shut by 9pm.

It's a shame that Premier Inn are still charging for wifi, but otherwise this is a well-run and comfortable hotel aimed at business travellers but useful for all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bolbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Overpriced – at £100 per room and with 4 people needing an overnighter its was expensive for what you got – breakfast was another £35 on top of the room only rate. Not ideally located being at the eastern end of the city – look around and you can do better and with banging doors and shouting form stag parties its not ideal for a weekend city break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great service, friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable especially the beds and as we booked 2 doubles got to have interlinked rooms which was fun! Aircon worked and was a must given we stayed during warm weather.
Ideal hotel location for our concert at motorpoint arena and shopping expedition. Castle and park visits as well.
Would have liked more teabags in room without having to ask but otherwise brill stay, hope to stay again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £44 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing