We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room we had a view you could see the bay the sea
the room was big and clean the bathroom the same very quiet the staff are good the buffet breakfast is great all you can eat worth the cost Cardiff city centre is very close to the hotel St Davids shopping centre is close and the stadium we were their for the speedway

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,242)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have now stayed in a number of Premier Inns across the UK and have to rate the Premier Inn Cardiff City Central as the best - the friendliest staff and the best upkeep of the room, en suite and the rest of the hotel. Ideally sited for Cardiff Queen Street station which has a train directly to Cardiff Bay. The hotel is sited close to the cinema, theatre, shops, numerous restaurants and takeaways, and within walking distance of the castle. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieScotland69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Only needed to stay for the one night. Good clean, working room. Clean bathroom and a hot breakfast. The staff are pleasant and if needed do their best. Cost is about right, I was happy to pay the amount and felt like it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Premier Inn is well situated and in a reasonably quiet location. Room was well insulated and very little, if any, outside noise could be heard. Premier Inn rooms are all standard, you basically know what you're getting, which for a budget hotel is perfectly adequate. What I object to is the over inflated price, nearly three times the normal rate, just because of a sporting event. Do the facilities increase for the extra cost? That would be a big fat NO! For a non sporting event weekend away I would certainly recommend it, but beware the inflated room price if staying during an event weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colpaul3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Typical Premier Inn - comfortable, clean, great breakfast and the location is perfect. You have most things on your doorstep eg shops, Millenium Stadium and Cardiff Castle. What makes this Premier Inn special are the staff - friendly, always smiling and helpful. Next time we go back to Cardiff we will be booking in again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TudorG33a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The room was of a good size, it was clean and the air con kept the room nice and cool! The breakfast buffet was good, with the kitchen staff keeping it well stocked. The Inn is close enough to town to be really handy but is situated on a quiet corner. We had two nights of undisturbed sleep. Parking is opposite in an NCP car park, but you get a discount for staying in the hotel and that made a big difference in the parking charge. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Anything from 15 upward to 19,there are 10 floors. We had 418 and it was in a far corner with the l...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was my first time staying in a Premier inn. I have to say, the room and facilities were great. It was clean, the beds were nice, the shower was good and the food was great. So nice work on all fronts there.

However, I went down for dinner with a friend and after a bit of a wait was seated by the barman (at 7pm, dinner time..) because there was no other staff available. He gave us menus and advised us of two deals, the first deal for 22 pounds, starter, main and the breakfast the next morning. The second deal was starter and main for 12.95, which we thought was great because the mains alone were more expensive then that. We were flying early the next day so we decided to go for the latter.

We ordered and the food was great. I had a prawn starter which was lovely and the steak was perfectly cooked and very enjoyable. My compliments to the chefs/kitchen staff.

The issue we had was when we got the bill we didn't get the 12.95 deal, we were charged for our starter and main which came to just under 20 pounds each. We asked the waitress who then sent over the manager.

We explained our situation to the manager, how we had been told about this deal for 12.95 and what was included. She went onto say "we used to do that deal, but we stopped 2 months ago, none of my staff would have told you about it (basically told us we were lying)". At this stage, the barman who had served us had gone home because he was nowhere to be seen. I asked the manager to explain how she thought we knew about such a deal and the price that we were quoted if no one had told us about it to begin with.. She said "ah it was never 12.95, it was 13.95 or something anyway there's nothing I can do about the bill".

That was that, she left us then and we paid the full price. I understand if there was confusion on the behalf of the barman, mistakes happen, we reasonable people. If they had honoured the price we were quoted, we would have been delighted. If she apologised and said unfortunately she cannot change the price but offered us a free drink because of what happened, we'd have been very happy. If she just apologised, we'd have accepted what happened and I wouldn't be writing this. Instead she basically called us liars, telling us none of her staff would have told us about such a deal because all the staff are new and the deal ended 2 months ago.

Very disappointed with the management and their people handling skills in this hotel, however facilities, cleaning staff and kitchen staff were excellent. Unfortunately, one persons actions have lost the hotel this review. I feel bad for the good staff I've mentioned as everything else was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Made_In_Ireland84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
3,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £52 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing