We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

As expected from Premier Inn, the hotel was clean, modern and comfortable. The staff were on the whole very friendly and accommodating. It is a large hotel and seems busy however the staff manage well with minimal disruption. Where possible large groups are located together and stags/hens separated from families.

Breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of continental and english options, all on buffet.

Located only 5 mins from Cardiff Central rail station and 2 mins from Queen St, the hotel is in an excellent location for business and pleasure. NCP Parking is close by, however expensive at £18.40 per day. Fortunately the staff will subsidise this upon request making it a reasonable £10.85.

I would be happy to recommend and visit again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TADrinkwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwionIwan, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Many thanks for you review. At Premier Inn we strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Your comments have been forwarded to the team and am I'm sure they will be very much appreciated. We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    903
    176
    55
    40
See reviews for
944
1,083
126
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here with work and have to say it was very nice for a city centre hotel.

The staff were really helpful, those at check in actually smiled and seemed very genuine. The staff at breakfast were also really pleasant and made you feel really welcome.

The room was big and had everything I needed. The breakfast, which was buffet style was excellent.

Overall I would stay here again with family when not on business as the location is so central, the only downside would be the expensive car parking nearby.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwionIwan, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for you review. Your comments have been passed to the team and were very much appreciated. We are glad that you had a nice time and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just got home, really nice clean, central hotel. Good areas for children like the childrens tv programmes, colouring and loom band area so adults can relax and have a drink from bar. Breakfast worth the money just a shame when i went to pay for car parking although my card so say validated I was made to pay full days fees!!!.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I ate in the restaurant with my daughter and her family who were staying at the hotel. I can only comment on the restaurant but wasn't impressed with the food. I ordered lasagne and chips and expected there to be a small amount of salad on the plate too, especially for the price - there wasn't. My husband's chips arrived cold even though everyone else's were hot. Admittedly the waitress did bring him a fresh dish of chips. He also had a cup of coffee which was not very hot and given cold milk which made it even colder. This again was replaced. Overall I felt that the meals were quite expensive for the amount you received. What's on the menu is exactly what you got i.e. no salad with the lasagne unless you specified it instead of chips.
The waitresses were all lovely though, very helpful and encouraging and immediately tried to rectify our problems. They even took my husband's meal off the bill. Not somewhere I would go for a meal in future, even if I was staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel has a great location in centre of Cardiff. the staff were great giving our family linked rooms to make our stay easier, they even put the teddy bears to bed when they came and made up the beds which made the childrens day!! Only one complaint is the bar closes at 11p.m. which compared to other city centre hotels is bit too early.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located very centrally so a lot of attractions are within walking distance. The St Davids shopping centre is very close by so there are lots of options for shopping and eating out. Our room was easily big enough for the four of us and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and had a shower/bath so perfect for us. Breakfast was good quality and there was plenty of everything. Parking is a bit annoying as it's so expensive in Cardiff but we knew booking the hotel that they didn't have any. Just factor it into the cost when booking. Overall it was very good value and suited to a family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stopped at the hotel which is situated in the city centre. Very friendly staff and the rooms are clean and functional. Ate in the restaurant with the meal deal- good value food and the breakfast was great- all you can eat etc. we'll used by families but I would say equally good for the odd stop business wise. The one way system to get to the hotel is challenging even with sat nav!!!!The hotel does not have a car park but opposite is an open NCP car park which is 18 per night, I did use the hotels discounted car park ticket which is supposed to reduce it to 11 pound but it didn't work and I didn't have time to walk back to the hotel, overall a good location , clean and. Comfortable, there is also a tesco express around the corner 2 mins away if you want water etc ps wifi is free for 30 mins

Room Tip: Use car park opposite open NCP carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing