We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location excellent staff Brilliant stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant location excellent staff Brilliant stay!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here to go to see Boyzone at the CIA which was pretty much across the road we arrived at noon and dropped our luggage off a lovely young lad gave us direction to town which was a 5 minute walk away brilliant. After a long afternoon shopping we got back at about 430pm booked in with another lovely young lad sorry forgot his name :-( it was quick and efficient.

The room 719 was gorgeous large clean at end of corrider just amazing one of the best if not the best Premier Inn we have stayed in. There was no road noise at all so quiet so slept really well after the concert. Breakfast was amazing we are vegetarian and the choice as usual was fantastic and the staff were lovely and very kind I asked for 2 poached eggs and the young lady was very efficient and generally lovely.

Pros -- Location and Brilliant Staff
Cons - cost a bit more than usual but it is the centre of town.

Staff we saw during day up to 11pm were still there at 9am work to hard!!!!

Would def recommend and will def stay again thank you Premier Inn!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,935
    891
    170
    55
    37
See reviews for
939
1,059
125
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed at the hotel after a party in Cardiff. Excellent city centre location and brilliant staff. Our only complaint would be that the matress was alot harder than usual and you could feel the springs. Other than that a good experience

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulfrancis1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Just returned today from staying 1 night. Arrived early 12,30pm hoping to leave luggage but told that room was ready. Room very clean and close to city centre, Can't comment on car parking as we arrived by bus. Hotel staff extremely helpful and couldn't do enough With being rugby weekend expected some noise, but none whatosever. Would recommend to anyone and would definately use again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
We are really pleased that you had a quiet comfortable stay we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

A friend and I stayed at this hotel on for one night so that we could attend an exhibition. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Anthony very patiently told me how to use the pay machines on arrival which I really appreciated as I am a bit of a technophobe! Later on that evening, we asked for extra coffee and milk and were given pocketfuls of supplies to take up to our room. Nothing was too much trouble. We checked out the following morning and the cloakroom attendants were also very accommodating when we wanted to store our bags.

I had ordered a twin room and we had a double and a single bed with decent bedding. It was very clean and looked newly decorated. The bathroom was clean and modern and the bath filled very quickly. There were no toiletries, except soap for hand washing, in the bathroom but these were available from reception.

It was only a 10 minute well lit, easy walk from the main high street in Cardiff.

Even though it overlooked the railway line, our room was quiet and actually, I liked the view as it was far-reaching.

All in all I found this to be a very pleasant hotel and good value. Iwould definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were comfortable and well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

I Stayed here last week and having never been to cardiff before i choose the premier inn hotel city centre as a base to use to meet up with some friends of mine that have moved to the area recently. Check in was fine and the impression of the room on arrival was actually quite nice and all was well until the next day when i had asked for a wakeup call i never got it!! and then when i tried to turn off the rooms air-conditioning it didn't work the noise kept on going.

i reported it to reception at around 9 am and came back at 12pm from visiting cardiff city centre and it still wasn't fixed and neither had my room been either, i let the reception know this and went out for the afternoon and when i came back the room hadn't been serviced at all and the problem with the air con had not been either. i was upon getting into the room presented with a set of fresh towels and this was the extent of the servicing of the room.

air con problem continued and the next day once again i never received my alarm call i complained to reception and she apologized and upon my telling her of my issues and going and returning from breakfast i was offered a room change which i took!

third night was okay as the new room was perfectly what i expected and i DID get my wakeup call on my day of departure day 3!

positive things to say are the restaurant staff and food both in the breakfast and the dinner were excellent as i took the £22 a night offer for dinner and breakfast and it was excellent value for money.

also would like to mention the operations manager for his time and attention to all that had happened to me during my stay and thank him for comping 2 days of my stay due to my experiences during the stay and i would because of this stay at the hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmw4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do hope that your refund in line with our Good Night Guarantee reaffirmed to you our commitment to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay and our hotels are delivering the highest level of service. Thanks for your review we do look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This was my second stay here and once again I was very happy. Arriving early, the receptionist was friendly and chatty, offering to store my luggage for me as my room wasn't ready.
This time around, my room had a much bigger window with a nicer view than before, and was a bit bigger aswell.
Everything else was much the same; comfortable bed and great customer service from the breakfast team, and at dinner from Kirsty (again) and Shawn.
Infact, the menu has recently changed at Premier Inn, and I criticised it in a York Inn review. However I really enjoyed it here, so maybe the other one was just a glitch.

Another good stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Eleventh_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Excellent hotel.

Short walk from Queen's Street railway station and a 20 minute walk from Cardiff Central Station. Situated up a quiet road by Capitol shopping centre.

We arrived early, at about 1200 intending to leave our luggage (checked with reception prior to arrival that they have luggage storage facillities - they do) but after checking with housekeeping, a very polite young man on reception confirmed our room would be ready in 10 minutes.

Secruity at the hotel is good - to access lifts or stairs you need a room keycard. Our room (133) was on the first floor. It was very large and overlooked a main road. Despite this we heard hardly and noise from outside the hotel at all.

Our room was immaculately clean with a really comfortable bed and a lovely shower with plentiful hot water.

The hotel has a small bar with resonably priced drinks. Didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was excellent.

A special mention for the hotel's staff - so friendly and helpful.

Three very small negative points;

There was a stain on the wall next to the bed - looked like a cup of coffee had be knocked off the bed side cabinate.

The large window in the room didn't open at all. Air conditioning took ages to warm the cold room on arrival and when overnight we wanted the room cooler, the air con was quite noisy.

When we booked we tried to book the £29 rate. According to the Premier Inn website, this was available. Unfortunately every time we tried to book that rate it came up as not available. Eventually after a few hours of trying, it allowed us to book a room at the rate of £55. Now £55 is a fair rate for the room we had. On the morning of departure we decided to have breakfast. The buffet breakfast was excellent and good value at £7.99 each. That took our final bill to around £71. Again - no complaints. BUT on searching around for other hotels, the 4 star Holland House and Novotel were both offering winter special deals for around £79 for room and breakfast.

Premier Inn promotes itself as a budget hotel. If we were visiting Cardiff again for an overnight stay we would probably choose again to stay here. If we were staying for more than a night we would probably upgrade to one of the 4 star hotels who push Premier Inn very close on price but include use of swimming pools / car parks etc in the price.

Maybe Premier Inn should be a little more aware of their competitors.

A couple of small negatives points but not enough to stop us giving the hotel a 5 star rating, recommending it or staying again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolSimon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Thanks for your review, we are really pleased that your stay with us was a good one and you received the great service that we are committed to giving all our guests. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
1.0 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Address: Helmont House 10 Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff City Centre you're perfectly placed to sample all the delights the capital has to offer. And, with sweeping views from our top floors, the city is - quite literally - at your feet. From our newest Cardiff hotel, you're just a short hop from all the hot spots including St David's Shopping Centre, Cardiff Castle, the Welsh Assembly and the Millennium Stadium. Then when you're ready for a rest, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds are just the ticket. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 2 meeting rooms, the largest of which can hold up to 16 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room at our premiermeetings website Directions: Take A48(M) towards Cardiff (East & South) for 4.5 miles. Take exits toward Cardiff (East), Docks and follow Newport Rd towards Eastern Ave North. Continue forward for 2 miles, under the railway bridge. Turn left at Station Terrace passing Queen St station, at cross-junction go straight ahead. At the next junction turn left passing the Ibis Hotel on your left then turn right at the lights then turn right again before the Motorpoint Arena then turn right again at the lights then you will see the open air Rapport NCP car park. (Sat Nav CF10 2EH). Charges apply, Monday- Sunday 11GBP per 24 hours. This is discounted rate for hotel guests - tickets need to be validated at hotel reception. Hotel is located opposite the junction on Churchill Way. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena 0.25 miles The Millennium Stadium 0.5 miles St Davids Hall 0.25 miles Welsh Institute of Sport 1 mile Cardiff Central Station 0.8 miles Cardiff International Airport 12.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing