We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best by a long shot”
Review of Stefano's

Stefano's
Ranked #361 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Serving high quality Italian cuisine, Stefano's is decorated with an authentic Italian bistro look and original artwork of famous Italian scenery, situated a short walk from the city centre in the popular Pontcanna area of Cardiff. Winners of Best Italian 2012/13 in the South Wales Echo, Stefano's is a family-run business and the proprietor, Stefano Caramella, is on-site to ensure a professional, friendly service to accompany the exquisite food prepared by the chef. Enjoy eating in the restaurant or dine al fresco on the heated patio during the warmer months of the year. Stefano's offers a fantastic a la carte menu, including Italian favourites and exotic specials, as well as fresh fish and specials boards available daily. To complement your meal perfectly, the restaurant also invites you to choose from an extensive range of international wines from the cellar.
1 review
“Not the best by a long shot”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We visited on 12th August 2014. It was empty yet we still had to wait at the front before anyone came to greet and seat us. We ordered our food and received our drinks fairly quickly. As I began to eat my starter I was very disappointed to find that it was frozen in the middle (I was under the impression it was fresh food and not frozen, certainly at nearly £8) . I pointed this out and it was taken away and then bought back quickly but wasn't much better warm. My partners starter was the lamb, it was a roll of fatty, chewy, cheap cuts of meat put back together and cooked. The only saving grace was that my girlfriend loves lamb and was starving so she ate it anyway. It definitely wasn't worth almost £10. Salad garnishes on both plates looked far from fresh. They were limp and slimy and from a bag.
The entertainment was pretty awful by any standard, the guy was singing in the same monotone way regardless of what song and played the same guitar chords regardless of the song. Just bad and pretty awful 90s jazz bar style entertainment. For us he sadly didnt bring anything to the atmosphere. The main meals were ok but nothing fantastic. I had a pasta with chicken and a creamy sauce which was nice. My partner had the duck which was well cooked but most of the veg was nearly inedible. The deep fried courgettes were extremely salty and the mashed orange thing was unidentifiable. At this point we just wanted to leave rather than complain again. Staff were pleasant and friendly, well the older of the two were anyway.
Overall a disappointing visit that certainly won't see us returning or recommending you to anybody else.

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos C, Public Relations Manager at Stefano's, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We were very disappointed to see your review-we pride ourselves on having so many excellent reviews and hate to think any of our customers left feeling anything other than 100% satisfied-which the vast majority do and they return time upon time. We are very sorry you didnt enjoy your evening. We rarely get any criticism about our food but we take it extremely seriously and will be following your comments up with the kitchen to ensure our high standards are maintained.
Regarding your comments about your dislike of our evening entertainmet-Bobby has been performing at Stefanos every Tuesday for years and remains due to popular demand and we have only ever had the highest praise for him but we are very sorry he was not to your personal taste.
We are very pleased you found the staff pleasant-we pride ourselves on providing the highest level of service whilst also having such friendly welcoming staff.
Thank you for taking the time to review us and please rest assured your comments have been taken on board. Kind Regards, all at Stefanos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    55
    27
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little hideaway....!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have eaten here a number of times with friends and have always had a great welcome! On our last visit I ordered the fillet steak tagliatelle wondering whether steak went with pasta.....was I very surprised!! A wonderful combination of thin, tender, melt-in-your-mouth steak with a creamy mushroom and red wine sauce coating everything....excellent!! Difficult to tell which was the steak and which was the pasta!! Had various other meals and never been disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos C, Public Relations Manager at Stefano's, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Look at our website for details of Upcoming events!
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True Italian welcome”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We regularly visit our son in Cardiff and take him and his partner to Stefanos because they like it and we can see why. The welcome is warm and friendly and the food and service excellent. It is also very good value. We always look forward to going there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank & Ulla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos C, Public Relations Manager at Stefano's, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Look at our website for details of Upcoming events!
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The meal with my family was an event from the start. The waiter - fully adorned in Italian tee shirt - was very enthusiastic and with the menu spinning was very good fun. The meal - starters and main course - was very tasty and despite the higher than usual prices was very good value for money. All in all not only a good meal but an event, would recommend this restaurant to any and everyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos C, Public Relations Manager at Stefano's, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for such a great review. We look forward to seeing you very soon!! Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our party enjoyed a thoroughly enjoyable evening at Stefanos on a Saturday evening. We were welcomed by Tony, Stefano's brother who is very entertaining and yet very professional. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was excellent with a good selection of pasta, meat and fish dishes all cooked to order. The staff are very attentive and I would have no hesitation in recommending Stefanos to anyone wishing to celebrate a special evening out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos C, Public Relations Manager at Stefano's, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for such a great review. We look forward to seeing you very soon!! Grazie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stefano's also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Stefano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing