We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious fresh well presented food excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pot Bistro

The Pot Bistro
Ranked #16 of 1,210 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: French, Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cosy bistro with 40 seats, offering a range of homemade breakfasts and lunches using locally sourced produce, and a range of seasonal drinks. The cafe transforms into a French style bistro every Wednesday through to Saturday evening, serving up classics such as Steak Tartare to start, followed by pan fried seabass with steamed mussels, langoustine & ratatouille, and a brulee to finish. Always a cosy, relaxed atmosphere.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh well presented food excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Red mullet to start really tasty and fresh cod loin with risotto cooked to perfection best Chardonnay I've tasted ever and lovely rich Creme brûlée with full flavoured coffee to finish would highly recommend

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePotCafe, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, its really good to here that you enjoyed your meal, I remember your table and am very pleased you enjoyed your birthday.

we look forward to seeing you again

Many thanks
Rhys and laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    100
    22
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We went to the pot last night with 15 friends to celebrate a birthday.

Amazing food! Wonderful service! A beautiful little gem in Cardiff! Still thinking about the red mullet and grapefruit this morning!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearlhouse189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePotCafe, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure having you dine with us and your party where a delight go serve.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Many thanks

Rhys, Laura and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

After reading previous reviews decided to try The Pot, a little french style bistro opened just 4 months ago by a lovely young couple - He the Chef, She the hostess and waitress. It really feels like they are cooling just for you - the kitchen is open with the chef and sou-chef working quietly and efficiently to get all the orders out.
The decor is very cosy, and the atmosphere very welcoming.
As for the food - It was all very good. for starters- we had the liver pate - which was fantastic! in addition, we had the french onion soup and a the squash tart - with flaky and tasty pastry.
For mains - we had the Rib-eye, 2 had the beef bourguinion, and one other main that I cant recall except that it was all very tasty :)
Desserts were lovely too - a creme brulee and choc fondant
In addition, the dinner deal makes the whole experience not only very enjoyable but very reasonable.
Hope they do well - they really deserve to!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dinagid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePotCafe, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate your feedback and it was lovely talking to you at the end of your meal.

We really do hope you enjoyed your time in Cardiff and hope to we you again someday.

Many thanks

Rhys, Laura and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great produce cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Had the scallops followed by the rib eye yesterday evening. This is my second visit and each time I go it just gets better. The chef deserves credit. The scallops are done to perfection and easily beat anything that I have had previously - the rib eye once again was sublime. Food heaven on my doorstep !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePotCafe, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, we remember your table, you are a pleasure to serve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks
Rhys, Laura and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I visited The Pot with my wife last week. We were out for the night and at a loss as to where to go. I came across The Pot on Trip Advisor and had read the reviews so I phoned up and was lucky enough to book a table for 2. We arrived after a short walk. We were greeted and sat. We both had French Onion soup to start - lovely. Then we both had Rib Eye Steak- This also was very nice. The lady serving us was amazing and we watched as she danced from table to table serving the other diners. We also had a bottle of wine as well to share. The whole bill come to £51 that is 2 starters 2 mains and a bottle of wine. I can honestly say this one of the best dinner experiences that I have had in Cardiff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePotCafe, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it means a lot to hear such great feedback about our new little bistro. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening & hope to see you dine with us again soon!
From the dancing waitress (Laura).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pot Bistro also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Pot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing