We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Guest House
Ranked #11 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“what a location”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This guesthouse is just across the river taff, from the millennium stadium.
It's a superb location, and offers remarkable value.
We paid €35 for a single room and a whacking great english breakfast.
During an international rugby weekend!
I doubt there's better value in Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

...and with very friendly owners. If youre intending to visit the millenium stadium , you cannot go wrong with staying here.

Clean, friendly, and a good full breakfast. Literally in the shadow of the stadium - perfect.

Had a single room, with no ensuite, but hey, for the purpose of being close to the stadium and clean, more than happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed here for a game at the Millenium Stadium with my husband.
The room was light, airy and clean with a great view of the river and stadium. The landlady is very welcoming and accommodating.
The location couldn't be better unless we slept in the arena! Easy walk to the centre and good bus link to the pier.
Would recommend to friend/family anytime.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephie_Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Arrived about 10pm on Friday night, which didn't bother the friendly owners. Great location, right near the millenium stadium. Clean rooms, comfortable beds and a yummy breakfast. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellyb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a concert at the stadium and we couldn't have chosen a better situated place to stay. The guest-house is directly across the river from the stadium and only 5 minutes walk from the main shopping/clubbing area. The guest-house was clean, quiet and comfortable (if with perhaps slightly dated decor), with friendly hosts and a brilliant breakfast. Overall, it was great value for money and I would definitely stay here again if visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank so_called_chaos86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Traditional B & B - couldn't be more central - directly across the river from Millennium Stadium - five minutes on foot into city, parks, station, etc..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merckx01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Guest House

Property: Anchorage Guest House
Address: 45-47 Fitzhamon Embankment | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Guest House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing