We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find”
Review of Madame Fromage

Madame Fromage
Ranked #12 of 1,350 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were so glad we had a walk round to look for somewhere to eat rather than go in the first place we saw. This cute deli is fabulous. The food, the service, the location all fantastic.

The menu isn’t extensive but it doesn’t need to be. If you love cheese in all its forms then do not miss!

Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairMF, Owner at Madame Fromage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Paula W

Thanks for selecting us and thanks for the great review and comments.

Glad you enjoyed the food, service... and location.

You are quite right, our menu isn't extensive, but it is done well we like to think ! (... also we don't like to think of ourselves as a restaurant, more of a cheese shop that does a bit of food ! )

Hope to see you again.

Thanks

Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I followed my nose to get here. A gorgeous little cafe tucked away from the hustle and bustle by the castle. Waiters were all very polite. Cafe was very busy but had first class service. Would definitely recommend the mix cheese n meat board. Really delicious and not your average food.

Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairMF, Owner at Madame Fromage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marianne B

Good that you followed your nose and even better that you decided to stay.

Glad that you enjoyed the food and service.

Thanks for the great review and lovely comments.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks

Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this lovely little beauty on Saturday and the only word that comes to mind is WOW!!!

The sharing platter was AMAZING!

The baked camembert was BEAUTIFUL!

Will I be coming back.... you can count on it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bennie2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairMF, Owner at Madame Fromage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Bennie2225

Wow... thanks for the great review, even I can't top that !

It says everything. Glad you enjoyed the food and service.

Thanks and look forward to seeing you again.

Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for lunch on what was possibly the busiest day of the year, the Rolling Stones were in town. Despite being full and several people queuing for tables, the service was superb. We were kept informed re waiting times for orders and food and given lots of helpful advice re the local beers. The food was absolutely excellent. I would love to go back again.

Thank goldenbaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairMF, Manager at Madame Fromage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi goldenbaygirl

Thanks for waiting, particularly on Rolling Stones day ( ... but we are used to it, since its the same on every normal Saturday & Sunday lunchtime ! )

Thanks for the great review and lovely comments.

We'd love to see you again, but if you come on a Saturday or Sunday, be aware the the queues about lunchtime at MF are normal... which is a good sign really !

Thanks

Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch and it was excellent. As everything is made fresh it does take time for your food to come but this is advised on their menu and well worth the wait. We have a very tasty lunch and would definitely recommend it. They also have a lovely deli selling some of the lovely items from their menu.

1  Thank Pammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastairMF, Owner at Madame Fromage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi Pammy0

Thanks for stopping by and glad that you appreciated the reasons for preparation time for quality food !

Thanks for the great review and lovely comments.

Hope to see you again.

Thanks

Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madame Fromage also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Madame Fromage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing