We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Having read other reviews I was very wary of staying here but in all honesty, given our experience, I am struggling to understand some reviews on here.

We stayed for 2 nights. Location of hotel is excellent - just a 10 minute walk from train and bus station. Also close to hand is a Tesco just across from hotel which is useful for any bits and bobs as well as a restaurant and cinema. Town centre is a 10 - 15 minute walk including the castle.

The room we had was very large, clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent - very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was basic but good - cereals,toast,boiled eggs, cheese,fresh fruit and yoghurts.

At the end of the day its a budget chain and I would urge other reviewers to remember this. You won't get 5 star facilities at 3 star prices :)

Overall a good hotel, well located and worth the money. If were going back to Cardiff, we would have no hesitation in booking here again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in central Cardiff, and unfortunately the quality matched the cost. My room looked out onto the railway and you could hear the trains all night, the rooms have a converted office block feel, the communal areas are unwelcoming, and the breakfast choice was very limited (no hot food. Choices were of three cereals or toast). My room did have a clean bathroom, a reasonable bed and freeview TV so all the basics were there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the opposide side to the railway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Govind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Fortunately only stayed for 1 night, would not recommend a prolonged stay but as long as all you want to do is sleep, wash and have something to eat - its fine. You have to pay for the hotel carpark which is not obvious from website, and its not that cheap, however finding an alternative in a city centre is difficult so we opted to keep car there. ONE lift for a 10 storey hotel is NOT enough - literally spent 10mins waiting for the lift! There are no windows that open so it is rather claustrophobic and very poor airflow - brought on my hubby's asthma and my loud snoring!! The curtains are made of fleece material (presumably cheapest thick material) but are really dirty with all the dust fleece can trap! Breakfast is very 'youth hostel' style but absolutely fine, except for AWFUL tea. Located perfectly for city centre, and price very good weighing it all up, just do not expect any luxuries!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandhugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We enjoyed our night there me and my boyfriend. The room was alright not perfect and not bad. The staff was friendly.. Our room was on the 10th floor so we had a nice view from there

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mawa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Just spent a night at this hotel with some friends, the main reasons for booking was its location which is ideal for all the attractions of cardiff. The hotel was clean and had comfortable beds which is what l want from a hotel, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, overall we had a good stay

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrywalkersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here the weekend of 5 & 6th October 2012, due to its location being directly across the road from the Motorpoint Arena and a great location for the shops. We'd booked two twin rooms and checked out the details online, we weren't expecting too much but had actually quite liked the retro pictures we had seen online. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the rooms. A kettle with tea and coffee facilities in each room, but unfortunately in such a large room we only had three plug sockets which were not placed conveniently. Hence having to boil the kettle on the floor, which I feel was an extreme health and safety risk. The other two sockets, being behind an open metal wardrobe and too far away to use with a hairdryer etc from a mirror placed around the corner on another wall. All very inconvenient, when all you want to do is use the hotel as a quick base! The dining room was a dreadful, with tables being too close together so if someone sat behind you, there was no room to get on your own chair which when you did get to sit down on wobbled badly! Lack of clean cutlery ~ i picked up five knives before I found a clean one and extreme lack of cups! What I will say is that the beds were clean & comfortable (although only one pillow) and the rooms were clean, albeit with stained carpets and very strange what looked like blanket material curtains which really could have done with a good clean (they were filthy), and the reception staff friendly. I'd stay there again, but I certainly would not pay the £75 a night rate for it. If you go there you should only expect basic accommodation and you wont be disappointed...next time I'll book the Radisson only £10 per night more, two doors away far more plush and with free parking!

Room Tip: Expect very basic ~ dont be fooled by the pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This Hotel was a pleasant surprise after debating cancelling after reading some of the more recent reviews. Our experience was one of friendly staff , clean rooms , linen and towels, comfortable bed (would have benefited from an extra pillow) Decor would not be to everyones taste as very retro. Location was excellent for the Motorpoint Arena as it was just across the road, also walking distance to St Davids shopping centre. Overall for the price can't go wrong for a short stay..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £37 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing