We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed one night in October 2012 for sporting event. Relatively handy for city centre venues. Rooms quite large but minimally furnished. Breakfast ok - continental standard fare. Only on lift working so long waits especially if your room is on ninth floor! Friendly helpful reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for third or fourth floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

I wasn't expecting much as we managed to get a cheap room for a night for £32, but to be honest, even this was overpriced. This is basically an office with a bed in it. Suspended office ceilings, garish office lighting, minimal soft furnishings apart from fleece curtains which have seen far better days and a threadbare carpet that is covered in stains. The light above the bed didn't work, the room was noisy from both lack of insulation from other rooms and the trains outside, but the worst thing of all - NO COLD TAP in the bathroom. The corridors announced that drinking water machines were placed on every even numbered floor and once you got there, the only thing to put water into were those awful paper cones that hold about 10ml of water. The chiller in the machine didn't even work.
This is far and away the worst hotel I've stayed in in Cardiff. Quite possibly the worst in the UK.

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up at the front, to at least reduce the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for one night in a room on the 9th floor. The building is a converted office block - which makes the hotel layout interesting. One of the two lifts was out of order (and appears to have been for quite some time), leading to some long waits for the lift at peak times.

Location wise you're pretty much central. Handy for Central and Queen Street railway stations, the CiA and the city centre. The hotel sits alongside the Valley Lines rail network and the London - Cardiff main line so expect some rumblings from passing trains through the night.

All that I could live with, but the room did let the place down badly. Size wise no issues and bed ok - have slept in much worse! The office like suspended ceiling was an interesting feature and with fluorescent lights throughout don't go expecting romantic mood lighting.

The maintenance and upkeep of the room did disappoint. The thin grey carpet had various stains across it, and the blue fleece curtains were grubby from a few years of manhandling - nothing a good steam clean wouldn't solve. Somebody also appeared to have had a go at hacking the lining out from one of them. There were badly filled holes in the wall adding to the feeling of a place run on an incredibly tight budget.

The reading light above the bed didn't work. The mixer tap in the bathroom didn't do cold water. If you want drinking water either take your chances with what comes out of the cold tap on the bath or there are water dispensers on every 2nd floor - making doing your teeth and having a sip of water if thirsty in the night a trek if you don't happen to be on the right floor (we weren't) and don't trust the bath's water supply not to be grey water (we didn't).

Shame about this place is that with a good steam clean of the room and a 10p bottle of drinking water in the room it would be ok for a one night stay. Certainly can't recommend for longer stays than that though.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Aquadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Having read other reviews I was very wary of staying here but in all honesty, given our experience, I am struggling to understand some reviews on here.

We stayed for 2 nights. Location of hotel is excellent - just a 10 minute walk from train and bus station. Also close to hand is a Tesco just across from hotel which is useful for any bits and bobs as well as a restaurant and cinema. Town centre is a 10 - 15 minute walk including the castle.

The room we had was very large, clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent - very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was basic but good - cereals,toast,boiled eggs, cheese,fresh fruit and yoghurts.

At the end of the day its a budget chain and I would urge other reviewers to remember this. You won't get 5 star facilities at 3 star prices :)

Overall a good hotel, well located and worth the money. If were going back to Cardiff, we would have no hesitation in booking here again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in central Cardiff, and unfortunately the quality matched the cost. My room looked out onto the railway and you could hear the trains all night, the rooms have a converted office block feel, the communal areas are unwelcoming, and the breakfast choice was very limited (no hot food. Choices were of three cereals or toast). My room did have a clean bathroom, a reasonable bed and freeview TV so all the basics were there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the opposide side to the railway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Govind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Fortunately only stayed for 1 night, would not recommend a prolonged stay but as long as all you want to do is sleep, wash and have something to eat - its fine. You have to pay for the hotel carpark which is not obvious from website, and its not that cheap, however finding an alternative in a city centre is difficult so we opted to keep car there. ONE lift for a 10 storey hotel is NOT enough - literally spent 10mins waiting for the lift! There are no windows that open so it is rather claustrophobic and very poor airflow - brought on my hubby's asthma and my loud snoring!! The curtains are made of fleece material (presumably cheapest thick material) but are really dirty with all the dust fleece can trap! Breakfast is very 'youth hostel' style but absolutely fine, except for AWFUL tea. Located perfectly for city centre, and price very good weighing it all up, just do not expect any luxuries!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandhugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We enjoyed our night there me and my boyfriend. The room was alright not perfect and not bad. The staff was friendly.. Our room was on the 10th floor so we had a nice view from there

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mawa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £38 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing