We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speedway weekends only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Ok so i have stayed at this hotel every speedway grand prix weekend for about 7 years for 2 nights.. Only because its the cheapest rate in Cardiff at £109 a night. As all reviewers have said its badly decorated & the beds are pretty uncomfortable (like hardboard) last year our bed was broken and had to be moved but it IS CLEAN! Im sad to say that although we are paying that much we cannot eat the breakfast its just cereal, cold hard eggs & toast. We only use it as a base to sleep in and spend as little time actually in the hotel as possible. The staff ARE very lovely though and do everything they can with what they have. The Hotel could do with a Complete Overhaul but then for the usual price of £35per night what would you expect??

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank KentBexyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I had to stop in Cardiff as I didn't find a train to Swansea after a long overseas flight. This was the only option ,however, excellent location and the room was perfect for that price I had and the staff helped me in different ways

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived on a cold rainy day in January. Didnt expect much for the price as it was only £35.00. Hairdryers are not in rooms so my Fiance got told to look through every floor and theres about 10 floors. After this there were no free hairdryers. I had to sit around for nearly an hour with wet hair. My Fiance had to pay £8.00 for a hairdryer from Boots!!!! The service was appauling and no apology whatsoever. The rooms arent soundproof and we heard doors banging next door and loud footsteps above us. The curtains in bathroom were from the 1960s. The only good thing was the view we had of Cardiff. My fiance ordered a cider and I had a J20 but we were not given any ice. We wont be staying here again. Also the room where you leave luggage wasnt secure. Wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westlife879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well where to start.

After paying £7 to be able to park my car for the night and squeezing the car into a gap just about big enough for a smart car reception was clean and tidy and the staff were nice and helpful. All appeared to be fine and dandy.

We were put up on the 7th floor and as soon as we got into the lifts it smelled like a hospital or an old peoples home, this smell also wafted around the corridors on each floor.

Got to our room that resembled a prison cell and it was like someone had put us in the freezer section in Asda for the night, deathly cold and a little radiator on the wall to attempt to heat the whole room. Heated towel rail in the bathroom didn't work so the bathroom remained freezing.

The matress, duvet and pillows well i've had thicker rizla papers and the curtains were something else scabbiest shabbiest decor I have ever seen in a hotel. Ok yes this is a budget hotel but it really is the worst one I have ever stayed in.

Breakfast in the morning cold boiled eggs, no warm options other than a piece of toast that you have to toast 4 times before it loses its anaemic appearance.

Overall would not stay again definately NOT cheap and cheerful. I froze my backside off all night and heard everything going on in all the surrounding rooms!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbieBeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a night at the Big Sleep. We didn't find any problems at all. Staff really friendly and helpful. Room was spacious if a bit basic but as it was just a bed to sleep in we couldn't fault it, most importantly the room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. Yes it maybe a little shabby in places but for £35 on a Saturday night you really can't complain!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank beki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a couple of years ago and then again december 2013. I had read some of the reviews for it this time round and wandered what had happened as most reviews explained it as awful. When i stayed in december the only thing that had changes was the fact they dont put sausage and beans out anymore for the breakfast. That is all. When you pay £72 for 2 nights you cannot expect the ritz! If there were any problems you could simply tell the staff on reception and they would sort it out for you no problem. Yes the curtains were like rugs hung up but they do the job that curtains do! Me and my friend had a great timw staying here! The corner rooma are really spacious and big! And breakfast was perfectly fine. Which is included in the price of stay. So if your standards are not stupidly high then i would definatly reccomend this place to stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Apparently John Malkovitch co-owns this hotel. In our 'room' (more like a hospital ward) there was photo of him on the wall. He might as well have been grinning and giving us the finger with a 'HAHA! SUCCKEERS' to be honest.

On arrival the room resembled something out of a 1960's Michael Caine movie and Carry on Doctor, and appeared to have been a victim of furniture theft. The curtains were made of the same material your nan's toilet seat cover from poundland has got, the bed was like sleeping on concrete with a wafer-thin duvet and two....yes two sorry looking pillows. The miniscule TV was bolted to the table top and the remote worked when it felt like it. In fact it was the only place I've been where I contemplated sleeping in the bathroom as it was warmer and better decorated.

Due to a lack of an iron and hairdryer I ventured down to reception. (We were on the 7th floor with a simply stunning view. If you like mud and you're a trainspotter.) I managed to nobble some extra pillows with no problem. I was told that there was an ironing station on each floor and pot luck of either of the items were there.

Six floors later I found a hairdryer that worked if you gave it a good clout, an ironing board that collapsed without even looking at it, and an incontinent iron with a crack that weed water all over the carpet. Looking good so far.

After our mind being boggled by the decoration and lack of just about anything in existence for a comfortable night we left for an evening out.

On retiring to bed we were both awoken an hour by the couple next door evidently in the process of making a new porn movie in full surround sound through I would imagine walls made of paper mache.

I will say the staff were great and very helpful......erm that's about it.

In closing I would rather stay in a mud hut with a honey badger and a steak sellotaped to my chest in the centre of beirut than ever go to this place again. Malkovich you've got a lot to answer for matey.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonyBateyphotgrapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £41 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing