We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price & Location = Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Price & Location = Basic Hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are looking for a cheap hotel in the centre of cardiff this is perfect. If you just want somewhere to shower and sleep especially after a night out this hotel is a dream. Its opposite the main shopping centre and 2 minute walk from the main bar an club area on St Marys Street.

If you want luxury, peace and quiet or a romantic weekend this hotel is not for you. Its very very basic and needs redecorated.

But the location is amazing, water is hot, it has a bed and a basic but included breakfast. I would stay here again if I needed somewhere cheap and basic.

Room Tip: Ask for a blue room (not a pink room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    312
    371
    277
    375
See reviews for
173
549
106
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Being in the hotel was disgusting. trying to drive up the helterskelter car park was an absolute disaster followed immediately by being screamed at by reception as we didn't have a parking space, however we were being dropped off by a friend. the extremely rude staff didn't get any better throughout our stay. the hallway and lifts were surrounded by a gang of very dodgy looking characters, as soon as the lift reached our room there was blood all over the hallway and one room door, looked like someone had been stabbed!! needless to say we locked our door very tight and didn't stay in the hotel very long at all. rooms look like they are out of a dodgy 80's movie, the curtains look like carpet!!! Just horrible. Would never ever stay again!!! Would recommend the travel lodge!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KD5232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Dont waste your time, absolutely rubbish. I have stayed in 2 star guest houses that have more customer service and cleaner rooms.
All these want is your money. There was a que from the lift door into reception waiting to complain on checkout. I have never felt so ripped off in my life.
NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlchunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Ok so i have stayed at this hotel every speedway grand prix weekend for about 7 years for 2 nights.. Only because its the cheapest rate in Cardiff at £109 a night. As all reviewers have said its badly decorated & the beds are pretty uncomfortable (like hardboard) last year our bed was broken and had to be moved but it IS CLEAN! Im sad to say that although we are paying that much we cannot eat the breakfast its just cereal, cold hard eggs & toast. We only use it as a base to sleep in and spend as little time actually in the hotel as possible. The staff ARE very lovely though and do everything they can with what they have. The Hotel could do with a Complete Overhaul but then for the usual price of £35per night what would you expect??

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBexyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I had to stop in Cardiff as I didn't find a train to Swansea after a long overseas flight. This was the only option ,however, excellent location and the room was perfect for that price I had and the staff helped me in different ways

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malvern
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived on a cold rainy day in January. Didnt expect much for the price as it was only £35.00. Hairdryers are not in rooms so my Fiance got told to look through every floor and theres about 10 floors. After this there were no free hairdryers. I had to sit around for nearly an hour with wet hair. My Fiance had to pay £8.00 for a hairdryer from Boots!!!! The service was appauling and no apology whatsoever. The rooms arent soundproof and we heard doors banging next door and loud footsteps above us. The curtains in bathroom were from the 1960s. The only good thing was the view we had of Cardiff. My fiance ordered a cider and I had a J20 but we were not given any ice. We wont be staying here again. Also the room where you leave luggage wasnt secure. Wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westlife879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well where to start.

After paying £7 to be able to park my car for the night and squeezing the car into a gap just about big enough for a smart car reception was clean and tidy and the staff were nice and helpful. All appeared to be fine and dandy.

We were put up on the 7th floor and as soon as we got into the lifts it smelled like a hospital or an old peoples home, this smell also wafted around the corridors on each floor.

Got to our room that resembled a prison cell and it was like someone had put us in the freezer section in Asda for the night, deathly cold and a little radiator on the wall to attempt to heat the whole room. Heated towel rail in the bathroom didn't work so the bathroom remained freezing.

The matress, duvet and pillows well i've had thicker rizla papers and the curtains were something else scabbiest shabbiest decor I have ever seen in a hotel. Ok yes this is a budget hotel but it really is the worst one I have ever stayed in.

Breakfast in the morning cold boiled eggs, no warm options other than a piece of toast that you have to toast 4 times before it loses its anaemic appearance.

Overall would not stay again definately NOT cheap and cheerful. I froze my backside off all night and heard everything going on in all the surrounding rooms!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieBeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
1,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing