We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodation for basic money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation for basic money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Certainly not a hotel for a romantic getaway.
The room is very basic, as are the facilities.
The car parking is on a first come first serve basis, so if you are driving, there is not a guarantee of getting a parking place at the hotel.
However, if you are looking for somewhere just to get your head down at the end of a night out, or are just passing through and you don't want to spend much money it is ideal.
Breakfast tends to be provided in the price and for that you get a continental breakfast, which again is very basic.
The quality does lie in the attitude of the staff. They are friendly, helpful and seem to go out of their way to make you feel at home.
Certainly not a place to be snubbed if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    298
    365
    272
    373
See reviews for
167
536
102
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here again after a previous bad experience simply because of the price. Room was much cleaner than the previous time, fire alarm was tested at 6:00am and had to go and find out if I had to leave the building or not, paid for late check out and was still called to leave at normal time. Great location but wouldn't stay here if the price hadn't been £36 compared to the nearest price of over £70

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraftyMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

There is carpet in the rooms and very heavy curtains which makes the room look dark and dirty. Beds are ok, and toilets were rather clean. I did not like breakfast. Choice was small and food looks messy. I would not sleep there again.

Room Tip: this hotel is located right in the city centre, take a room on top floors to avoid noises from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

me and my husband stayed at the big sleep hotel on the 1st/2nd of march 2014 we were in cardiff for a flim and comic com at the motorpoint arena and we were looking for a hotel near by we choice this one as it over the road and seemed cheap which it was it's right on the main road there is a buzzer which you need to press and say you are staying there if you are checking in and if you are already staying there, then you need to take the lift or stairs to the second floor to the reception desk we were able to leave our bags in a room which was more like a groom cupboard but it was fine, the room we had was on the 7th floor and it over looked at railway line and block of flats ! not great but ok the room was basic don't expect 5 star ! we only had one pillow you could make tea and coffee in your room but we found all this in a cupboard with a kettle ! really this should have been out but hey ! bathroom had bath, shower and so on all clean which is good ,we only had one problem with some one at 4am so may have had to much to drink banging on peoples doors shouting and so on i did report this the next day to the receptionist who did speck to the person who was in looking after the group , the breakfast room was clean and did continental breakfast which you help yourself to .. all in all it is what it is cheap and cheerfull !and it only a stones throw from the main shopping centre and high street

Room Tip: as i said don't expect 5 star ! take a hair dryer none in room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Was dreading arriving at the big sleep after reading some of the horrible reviews. Once arrived was greeted by the lovely receptionist who answered all my questions and gave me and my boyfriend the key to our room. We were on level 6, opened the door to a surprisingly big double standard room, big windows, big bed, lots of space, everything was clean, the pillar in the corner of the room had a few black marks on it but nothing to serious, the bed was comfy with big pillows, the blanket was big, the curtains were like fluffy throw over blankets but they did the job at keeping the sun out :) the tv was small but had lots of channels and we didn't have a problem seeing it, the tea and coffee facilities were basic, 4 tea bags and coffee 4 sugars and sweetners, 4 milks. Only able to have one tea as I like my tea milky and with 2 sugars. The radiator only worked for an hour then turned off. The bathroom was big, clean and had cool fluffy curtains, we had two large towels and 4 hand towels all clean, the bathroom door had a crack in it but nothing too bad and the bedroom floor had a pink stain but was fine under the table. Quiet night sleep no noise, but we were lucky enough to have the city view not the train station view. Breakfast was basic but nice, plenty of cereal on offer, toast - butter and jam to accompany it. Fruit, yogurt and pastries like croissants. For drink there was tea, coffee, orange juice or black current squash. A tv in the corner to watch. Overall it was perfect and more that what we expected for £35 a night, will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayleighAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Big Sleep Hotel proves that you can expect quality for less. As a student, willing to sleep rough to optimise my beer kitty, I was looking for a reasonable price however I did not expect to see rooms that I would put on par with some more expensive hotels I have checked in to. To cut a long story short I must consider the Big Sleep Hotel a bargain that is not to be missed. The location was perfect, the room was spacious, warm and decorated simply in order to provide a calm feeling which really worked. Firstly it would surprise me if a cheaper alternative could be found, however what astounded me more was the high standards the Big Sleep Hotel has to offer. A lovely city I shall consider myself crazy not to return to one day and when I do there is only one hotel I will consider staying at. A truly truly excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room was warm and clean.the extra pillows and hairdryer requested were willingly provided.the shower was efficient.security was good.breakfast was fine.staff very polite and helpful.excellent location.

Room Tip: We were on level five and this was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozonorme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing