We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
182
360
409
287
387
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
360
409
287
387
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Just dreadful. Had to stay here for match day prices. Had us generally over a barrel. NO cold water in the bedrooms for some reason. Stained curtains appear to be made of blankets. Had to ask for a jug of drinking water at reception. Very, very tired decor. Just generally grimy. Thankfully we weren't there for long. John Malkovich should be ashamed to put his name to it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Owner at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My Partner and I stayed here for one night. As we visited Doctor Who Experience as well. It was a birthday surprise for him. The hotel was what I expected as I looked at there website first. But you can never tell unless you experience it for real. we was on the 8th floor and our view from the window was disappointing as it was of the railway tracks. The décor was 1960s which was ok. The curtains in the bedroom needed replacing as they looked shabby. Breakfast was also disappointing for a big hotel like that they could add more of a continental. And give the guests more choice. We decided to have a night cap after eating out Friday evening and the bar had no brandy. Instead the barman offered us whiskey lol. So my partner had beer which wasn't chilled as the fridge wasn't working. And I had warm cider lol So we wasn't impressed really. We did pay a lot for parking at the hotel as it was £7 per night. To much really. Especially when you are actually staying at the hotel itself. We paid for a extra 3 hrs, parking to have a look round the shops and paid £10 in the end. Just as well it was for one night.

Room Tip: If you want a better view from your room mention it first when booking in.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hotel is very basic, ideal for a place to get your head down for the night as it's cheap but wouldn't stay any longer than one night. When told that we get tea and coffee in our room i expected a fresh pot of tea on the desk but instead it was just tea bags, coffee sachets and a kettle in the cupboard. After just getting to sleep at around 11pm we was then woken up by the fire alarm at 11:30pm. After walking down ten flights of stairs to reception we were told it was a false alarm, and that someone forgot to shut the bathroom door whilst having a shower and steam got into the fire alarm, we then had to walk back up 10 flights of stairs due to the elevators not working because of the fire alarm. A fire alarm should be able to handle steam from a shower. Breakfast was very basic, nothing special. Customer service was also poor. When checking out we wasn't even asked the question 'Was everything OK with your visit?' instead we got "that's all done for you".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Certainly not a hotel for a romantic getaway.
The room is very basic, as are the facilities.
The car parking is on a first come first serve basis, so if you are driving, there is not a guarantee of getting a parking place at the hotel.
However, if you are looking for somewhere just to get your head down at the end of a night out, or are just passing through and you don't want to spend much money it is ideal.
Breakfast tends to be provided in the price and for that you get a continental breakfast, which again is very basic.
The quality does lie in the attitude of the staff. They are friendly, helpful and seem to go out of their way to make you feel at home.
Certainly not a place to be snubbed if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here again after a previous bad experience simply because of the price. Room was much cleaner than the previous time, fire alarm was tested at 6:00am and had to go and find out if I had to leave the building or not, paid for late check out and was still called to leave at normal time. Great location but wouldn't stay here if the price hadn't been £36 compared to the nearest price of over £70

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraftyMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews