We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at this 'excuse' for a hotel! Not the staffs fault but whoever owns this place and think it is acceptable to charge for such a dump needs their head examined. We booked two nights as we needed a hotel which would allow dogs. Well they say they make dogs 'welcome' which is a complete farce, they 'allow;' dogs but that is not the same thing. The location is good, very central but saying that most of the hotels are in the same vicinity. The rooms are dire, so basic it actually looked like a hostel, there is basic and there is basic, this place offers very little. No hair dryer, a tiny TV, no free Wifi, one chair for a double room and the bed is so uncomfortable with only two foam pillows, our backs were aching and just could not get a good nights sleep as the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. The windows do not open so I would imagine in summer it must be stifling hot although there is a small fan on the wall but still do not think it would make a lot of difference when the windows are huge on two walls and it would be like being in a green house on a warm sunny day. They really should not take dogs if you cannot go anywhere with them, they cannot be left in the room on their own whilst you have breakfast(not that I would anyway!) and you cannot take them with you, so what is the point of allowing them in??They charged £1.50 for a fanta which is extortionate. Dogs are not allowed in the bar (Its not really a proper bar anyway!) We paid and extra £10 per night for her and for basically nothing!There was only one lift working which was a pain. You also have to pay extra for parking, There is a really weird smell which is like a hospital or an OAP home. Have never seen curtains like these before, like a very cheap blanket and do not keep out the light which is awful as there are so many huge windows in the room. The water is hard to get right as it is either boiling hot or trickling out, maybe there is a knack to getting it right. All in all it is somewhere I would not wish to go back to, I am really surprised that it is still open, it is not that cheap especially for what you get!If John Malkovich really does own this place Im sure as hell he has never stayed in it!!

Room Tip: Just don;t go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Good location within walking distance of the town centre. Basic room, fine for one or two nights. The rooms need a bit of an update, however it's a budget hotel. Would stay here again when in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wales20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed for a Friday Evening, good location within walking distance of the town centre. Rooms are basic but quite spacious for a budget offering. No issues with cleanliness with a shower and bath in the ensuite.

Parking is very limited to around a dozen vehicles and there is a charge applicable. There is parking available also within a few minutes walk at the same rates.

Breakfast is continental and also adequate. Hotel has c. 10 floors and at time of visit only one lift was working so was quicker to take the stairs even from the 6th floor. Bed was also comfy.

The rooms have started to look a little tired but at a budget price you get what you pay for and it was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed in this Hotel as part of a stag-do, so for our purposes it was alright though I would not recommend it for a family, couple or even business trip.

Pro's:
- Cheap price if booked early enough
- Good central location

Con's
- Feels like you are staying in a converted office block from the 80's - which you are
- Only one working lift for 4 people, there's 10 floors and over 100 rooms so stairs are quicker
- Breakfast - no hot food, just some mini cereal boxes and toast
- Very 'cold' arctic colour scheme of white and light blue - they bill themselves as a boutique design hotel with Travelodge prices, neither of these selling points are true!
- Pictures of John Malkovich everywhere, they really make sure you know he owns the place!
- No AC or opening windows, just a desk-fan bolted to the wall

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I once worked for councils helping to staff hostels for the single and homeless, and this is what they smelt like. It's also what they were decorated like. Staying here was a truly depressing experience. Is this why John Malkovich owns this chain? Is it some really black joke? The weird picture on the wall of him seems to suggest that this might be the case.

I have no earthly idea why anybody would want to stay here willingly. Unless they were drunk. And as it was a bit late in the day to be finding other lodgings, that is precisely what we decided to be.

In short, if you're going to stay here you'd best be extremely inebriated. I imagine that may well be the sole purpose of this hotel.

Don't be fooled by the price. They're going to charge extra for the parking. Stay somewhere more expensive that has parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowri_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

we stayed in the big sleep as we were going to a concert and at the en of the day it was cheaper than travelling back home if we wanted to enjoy ourselves.the hotel offered onsite parking but this is restricted (if you want to park there be early as there is limited space) but if there is no room there is a car park next door that charges £6 for a 24 hour stay so no issues there.the hotel room came in at £35 a night the room itself was basic but nice and clean and all we needed for a one night stay.the bed memory foam and comfortable and the bathroom good although the shower was a little weak.the heater in the room did not work and the tv only had three channels and as i'm not a fan of bevis and butt head i gave it a miss.also the hotel location is right next to a busy rail line so if your not used to the sound of the trains stopping and starting all night like me you won't enjoy it,i didn't . breakfast was included in the price and was continental and i enjoyed it to be honest .the overall location is not bad a short walk to the main shopping area of Cardiff so this can't be knocked i don't think i would stay here again but you never know'i would not rule it out totally..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alun d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff are really friendly, it is a stones throw away from Cardiff City centre (which you would normally pay through the teeth for) and it's clean! The facilities are average but its a budget hotel so not to be expected. I would defiantly stay here again and the beds are as comfy as a Premier Inn! The only down side is the car park is tiny.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Glynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £38 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing