We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th visit - still excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 18 April 2014

As on all previous occasions, we have really enjoy our stay at Big Sleep. I'm quite surprise to read some negative comments but like always it is all about what one expects. I'm still a bit concern if it comes to staying there in hot summer, ventilation system is not working properly and fans can't substitute A/C, specially in 10th floor suites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans_Kloss_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Apart from the strange curtains, the blind in bathroom needing replacing and the 4 am fire alarm. A great budget hotel. Breakfast was ok, it was free. . . . So i'm not complaining. Will stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Better experience than we've had at four and five star establishments. First impression was that it was very basic although very efficient staff on reception immediately made eye contact which impressed us. I requested a hair dryer and was given one immediately. We asked if we could get a drink at the bar following a concert late at night and this was provided immediately. Breakfast, again although basic was adequate and staff were very efficient at replenishing items. Room was spacious and bed probably the most comfortable I've slept in for a while. Fur effect curtains let the room down which was otherwise clean and comfortable. It was a refreshing change to have our expectations exceeded for once.

Room Tip: Corner room was very spacious on floor 4. If you can ignore the fur effect curtains and shabby bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a bed and a shower then you wont be disappointed.
However...here's somethng to consider.
On first arrival we we're optimistic, dispite the flahback decor, and the welcome was efficiently friendly. I choose the stairs (to the 5th) as I'm never confident when it is clear one of two lifts has been undergoing maintenance and may be a while until it will be running again.
The room was clean, basic and had an thin screen of smoke as we walked in? Without air conditioning or windows that open the solar heating made for an oppressively hot atmosphere. Then in the evenings it was a stuggle for the small radiator and towel rail combined to heat the room. So don't expect any form of thermal control. However the bed was comfortable so that counts for a lot.
Upon closer inspection I would debate the cleanliness of the bathroom, it would be an idea for the management to invest in a deck scubber, some strong floor cleaner and then let the chamber staff know the dark marks around the base of the toilet contains urine. On a plus the shower was powerful and hot.
When booking in you might want to ask for a room on a floor with a drinking water station, not all floors have them, and take a water bottle.
Breakfast...continental....which continent? Being honest it was laughable, we never ate there as there are plenty of places within a 5 min walk that are far better value.
So for an honest roundup, do not expect luxury and you won't be dissapointed and expect a noisy night as it's popular with stag and hen nights.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

You get what you see - the "air condition" is a fan attached upside-down to the wall, but at least the room is very, very spacious, which was a bonus. I didn't expect glamour to be honest so I can't complain, and for the price you get you get that level of quality, but with a central location, awesome views of the city, and lots of space, this is a bargain!

Room Tip: Single rooms have as much space as double rooms or even suites - just one thing to bear in mind if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_D_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from staying at the Big Sleep Cardiff, after reading reviews I was dreading staying here. I was pleasantly surprised what a brilliant place to stay. Cheap clean rooms perfect size the location couldn't be better for events at the Motorpoint arena,even though situated by railway line couldn't hear trains at all, continental breakfast was lovely. Would like to say a special mention to Jess on reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Yes it was a bit tatty, yes breakfast was only cold food, yes the windows did not open BUT for £36.00 for a double room with breakfast, opposite the concert arena (Motorpoint) in Cardiff it was warm, the staff were helpful, there was plenty of hot water. And we did not see one picture of John Malkevich.
I do not know what people expect for that sort of money . We would use it again.. did wonder about the fur fabric used as curtains!

Room Tip: If you want something swanky stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FTisbesttoteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £41 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing