We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awful!! As others have said the corridors smelt of wee and the rooms were so hot and stuffy it was unbearable. The only positive was the friendly receptionist. I cannot believe you cannot open the windows!! A fan was in the room but it did not make any difference. To boil the kettle you had to put it on the floor as the sockets were in the floor and the cord was not long enough to put on the table. Definitely not worth the money and definitely will not stay here again or ever recommend it .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

after getting to the hotel no notice on ground floor to lifts only an arrow pointing up to reception which is 2 floors I did notice lift on first floor though. booked in ok found room ok but no windows to open just a dirty fan on the wall it was a very hot day and all the fan did was circulate the hot air the room needed updating décor was bad at lest the bed was comfy, the shower was fast and hot . breakfast was included they forgot to mention it was continental but on the other hand I have never seen so many people taking more out for later, some had there bags stuffed with cereal boxes, fruit, youghurts I couldn't believe it. lucky I was only there 1 night

Room Tip: unless high up avoid the back rooms cause of trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stelew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If location location location is your priority on a budget then this is your kind of place. Its cheap so don't be surprised by the building, decor and cleanliness. The staff are great, you can get wifi at an additional price, however I have to say its not for me. Its hot, the windows don't open and the wall fan noisy so I didn't sleep much in the Big Sleep. Worse still was the hair on my pillow and stains on the sheets. If you want to park at the hotel be aware that this is down to luck and can be tight if you have a large car.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

6 of us stayed here for a concert at the Motorpoint Arena which is just across the road, as is the city centre so it's a great location however I'd forgotten the fact that the hotel doesn't have air conditioning (although this is not a secret on their website!) and that the windows don't open so the place is like a sauna. There is a fan in the room but I asked for an additional fan (as advised on their website that additional fans are available from reception) and felt like I had to explain why I wanted it to the Fan Police (aka Receptionist)! I agree with another reviewer regarding the smell of wee! We were on the 6th floor and the lift lobby on that floor smelled horrendous! Breakfast was pleasant however we had to ask for plates... then knives.... then bowls and spoons etc etc. One member of staff commented that they "hadn't expected this many" but presumably they knew how many people were booked in to the hotel the previous night! All of the above being said, I have stayed there before and it has been much better so I would stay there again (only ever in Winter though) as none of it spoiled our stay and generally the staff are all pretty nice :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here with friends as was going out for a girly Nite. I was impressed with the reception, then t all changed when we got to our room. The corridors smelt of wee and sweat and it was boiling . Our room was really dated, grubby with no air but a filthy fan. Could not open any windows it felt really claustrophobic. We went down for breakfast but couldn't eat anything because everywhere had a horrible smell. We couldn't wait to get out of there. I'm no snob but will never stay there again, £60 for a double room, what a rip off!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If your looking for location and price, this place is for you. This hotel is at the budget end, so don't expect luxury. They rooms and bathroom are adequate but housekeeping needs a little more attention to detail. If you pay under £50 a night for a room and breakfast (basic but good) you can't complain too much

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karmalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

You get what you pay for with this hotel. Great location for Motorpoint Arena. Room was large, beds comfy and clean. Decor a bit dated but didn't intend staying in room except to sleep hence the name!! Breakfast basic continental style and buffet service.
Reception staff very polite and helpful.
Free parking if you get there early enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sararuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
0.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £44 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Cardiff City Centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formerly Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David’s shopping arcade. The Citrus Hotel, Cardiff is within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers 83 bedrooms and is ideal for business travellers, leisure breaks and families with a choice of room types to suit your needs. This fabulous Cardiff City Centre Hotel is perfect for those looking for Budget accommodation with a difference – great value with a designer feel. All bedrooms have WIFI, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, Super King Beds, Smart TV, views of the city & complimentary Early Check-in at 2.00 PM when you book direct. Our hotel has a 24-hour reception and a Lobby Bar that provides light snacks and refreshments. Car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
Big Hotel Sleep
Citrus Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing