We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby but functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Shabby but functional”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Big Sleep is in need of a redecoration (and definitely new curtains, as the current ones which look like carpet are indeed hideous) but it does the job. My double room was gigantic and clean. It was warm on a July evening and the fan wasn't much use, but not so warm that sleep was impossible. Breakfast was pretty good - yoghurt, bananas, apples, cereal, toast, jam, cheese and eggs - and reception friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a budget hotel in a good location it's a good option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    304
    368
    276
    375
See reviews for
169
541
104
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had stayed here for 1 night. As its the middle of summer and we've had hot weather every room should be provided with an air con! Our room wasnt, we didnt have the type of windows that would open either, it was just stuffy and boiling, i only had 1 hour sleep maximum. We wen't down for breakfast in the morning and it wasnt to our liking at all! Were not a fan of boiled eggs in a bowl! The croissants was rock solid & there was no signs saying that some foods may contain raisins, i took a bite out of what was ment to be a chocolate swirl, full of raisins in it! And im allergic. Wen't to wetherspoons for breakfast after. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rhiannonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

On one of the hottest days of the year the rooms were hot and stuffy. No air con which is fair enough in a cheap hotel but the windows would not even open! Surely this is against health and safety in this heat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sogno58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The last reviewer ED wrote a typically unfair, unbalanced and inaccurate review. This is just one example of others who have done the same.

This hotel is in a prime city centre location and the price is unbeatable value for money. The corridors have brand new carpets that do not smell, the rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. The complimentary continental breakfast is more than adequate and everything is fresh and regularly replenished. There is a 24 hours bar.

If air conditioning is an issue then pay twice the price and go elsewhere. I stayed last week on two of the hottest nights of the year. I asked for an additional fan which was provided and slept comfortably under the duvet. The rooms do actually have extractor ducts in the bedroom and bathroom and I disagree that the rooms and stuffy.

I can highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Cardiff.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor away from the railway line will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Whenever I stay here it I usually get a good deal, I choose it because it's a great location in the city center. Rooms are ok, beds not the comfiest and needs a bit updating. Overall it serves it's purpose and I would recommend to someone who just needs a place to crash and isn't too fussy

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceyanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Arrived here at 2.30pm a little early before check in and was told by the not so happy receptionist to wait in lobby for the 3.00pm check in. Fair enough. At 2.55pm back to reception, no, check in doesn't open til 3.00pm! Bang on 3pm, stand at reception, "we'll check if room is ready" I thought this is a great start! I was right!!! Got to room and was a bit shocked! It was dirty and stuffy, the aircon is a dirty fan on the wall. The curtains look like they have things living in them, the carpets and walls are covered on stains. There was a crack on the sink in the bathroom and the tiles need a good scrub!

To the people who say this is a budget hotel, I've stayed in budget hotels before and they are clean and offer value for money! The least you expect at a hotel is cleanliness!!! These rooms are worth no more than £20 a night! They charge £7 to park or they will clamp (clamping has been illegal in this country for 2 years) so pretty much everything about this place needs an update!

We didn't bother having the breakfast after seeing the rooms and the corridors (which smell awful) so can't comment on the food! Didn't sleep well, the tv in the next room just as well have been in our room. The walls are very thin!

If you're happy to stay here and think it's nice then I'd have to question what your home is like! If you want to stay in Cardiff, pay the extra and stay somewhere nice!

So to sum up, great location, staff not the best, rooms awful!! Avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel offers great value , it's a little quirky and the lift is really annoying especially if staying on the 9th floor but the hotel is good for the money and I think that's how it should be measured. The location is great for the city centre and the breakfast is sufficient with cereals, hot and cold drinks and toast and cheese plus boiled eggs. Our room was a good size , bed was comfy and shower had good pressure . The hotel has a small car park but the ncp next door is £6 for 24 hrs. I stay in hotels most weeks and I really found this hotel quite acceptable and similar standard to travel lodge and Ibis . I feel some of the reviews are very unfair . My company booked 20 rooms here for 2 nights and it suited us fine .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing