We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for adults only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The actual room was quite big and quite clean. The carpet & curtains were in dire need of replacing as very bad also rooms need air-conditioning or bigger fans as the windows don't open at all so no fresh air when in the room or corridor. Can't comment on breakfast as didn't have during stay. Ok as a budget hotel for adults, not really a place for families with children under 12 though.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharrynt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The room we were in was to say the least needing renovated. The bed was too soft the window sill was dirty. Just looked like it needed a good clean and was a bit neglected. We didn't even pay cheap cos it was a rugby weekend but yeah we stayed, washed fine and slept but wouldn't be going back in a hurry.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank LiseW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

basic budget accommodation, located right in the city centre so easy access to everything, handy for the train station and yes you can hear the trains but it wasn't a problem for us. Yes the rooms are warm but there is a fan, a telly, a kettle and tea and coffee, toiletries provided. breakfast is a good choice of continental and plenty of it. If you want luxury this isn't it but if you want somewhere cheap, cheerful and convenient then this fits the bill perfectly. You really can't complain for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meltom0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just wanted a 1 night stay in Cardiff for a gig so went for the cheap option (only £45 for the night) but what a mistake to make. Firstly couldn't check in until after 3pm (maybe they only have 1 cleaner). Whoever stayed in the room before us must have smoked a pack of 20 as the room was full of the smell of fag smoke and as non smokers you notice it straight away. You can't open the windows in the Big Sleep so you can't change the air in the room. Opened the door to the corridor to try and get rid of it but it was warmer out there than in the room. Maybe the cleaner had passed out as it was too warm for her. We were showered and out of there within 20 mins before we needed another shower. Also the door keys wouldn't work, changed these twice. You have a fan in the room but that's useless. The breakfast is a waste of time and very poor so they might as well do away with it. So The Big Sleep is off the list of accomodation for us on future stays in Cardiff. Live and learn.

Room Tip: Don't bother chosing a room here folks, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is near to the main centre of Cardiff, it was impressively cheap for the night and although not the Ritz, was clean and had an ensuite bathroom, with tea and coffee facilities in the room.

The room was large, with a tv and small fan on the wall. It is not posh, nor is it expensive, just a good value place to lay your head for the night.

The breakfast was included in the price for my stay and it was brilliant. I had fresh croissant with coffee. Will be using this hotel again for its no nonsense cheap price and comfort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jobubbles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Big Sleep is in need of a redecoration (and definitely new curtains, as the current ones which look like carpet are indeed hideous) but it does the job. My double room was gigantic and clean. It was warm on a July evening and the fan wasn't much use, but not so warm that sleep was impossible. Breakfast was pretty good - yoghurt, bananas, apples, cereal, toast, jam, cheese and eggs - and reception friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a budget hotel in a good location it's a good option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had stayed here for 1 night. As its the middle of summer and we've had hot weather every room should be provided with an air con! Our room wasnt, we didnt have the type of windows that would open either, it was just stuffy and boiling, i only had 1 hour sleep maximum. We wen't down for breakfast in the morning and it wasnt to our liking at all! Were not a fan of boiled eggs in a bowl! The croissants was rock solid & there was no signs saying that some foods may contain raisins, i took a bite out of what was ment to be a chocolate swirl, full of raisins in it! And im allergic. Wen't to wetherspoons for breakfast after. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rhiannonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £37 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing