We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, so-so habitation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent location 2 blocks from train station and 6 blocks from Cardiff Castle--everything easy to get to, very easy to find.
It's a converted office tower, and the rooms look it. They are bare essentials and nothing more.
But it was comfy and convenient and inexpensive.
Breakfast was standard fare.
Nice pub right next door, city center restaurants a couple blocks away.
The biggest drawback was no wifi (could pay for wifi).

Room Tip: I was on tenth floor, which was great for views but the elevator is SLOW, so not so good for that.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 996candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night between working long shifts in Cardiff.
Arrived before 2 o'clock and was told no check in until 3 o'clock, this is shown on the booking and is fixed !
Room was ok carpets were hard and could do with being replaced bed although comfy every time you moved is made a noise.
Bathroom was ok but the bath had mould on the seals around it.
No windows open and the room has a very small fan attached to wall luckily it was not a hot night.
I will think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SwindonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Basic room and decor. It felt cheap and tacky. Bed very hard and uncomfortable. Okay sleep as we didn't really hear other rooms and our room looked onto the railway.
Service was okay. Parking was 7pound per night and if you stay past 10,30 checkout you can pay 1pound per every additionalhour
Location central.
Bath tub was slippery and the shower was above it. I slipped in the shower and was very badly bruised and in some pain., I was very lucky that the shower curtain was there and stopped me falling out of the tub completely. When I told reception about this on check out they just said "do you want to fill out an accident report slip". Not very sympathetic at all.
Went to the breakfast room just after 9, it closes at 9.30 but all they had left was cereal and all tables were taken so we checked out and went elsewhere
Basic place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we came in on train to Cardiff central & had no trouble walking to this hotel.When we arrived we were greeted walmly & our room was ready.I was travelling with my grandson.They said had given us bigger room as staying 3 nights.Found room & only problem was so warm & no windows that opened.We had small fan & they gave us a bigger one also.room was lovely & clean,towels & linen spotless.Beds comfortable.Breakfast was plenty next morning & good start to our day.
Would definitely stay again.Thank you for great time in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Our corner room was very bright & roomy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GOLD66Wales_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was dreading staying here as I had read all the reviews after my husband had booked it. But to be honest it was value for money. We only paid £76 for 2 nights during the Summer holidays so cheap in comparison to others.There are things that need sorting such as the lack of air con/fans attached to walls etc and the curtains look like something my cat sleeps on but the bed/bedding and towels were "Daz" white and comfortable.There was a hair in the bath, there was contact lens packets behind the heater but apart from that it was OK. Parking is cheap at £7 per day but you do run risk of losing if you move your car. It is a minutes walk to Tesco Express,3 minutes to the City centre 10 mins to City Road and all the takeaways and a pleasant stroll to Cardiff Bay. If you are looking for a cheap base it does what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel was perfect. No frills, stag do's and hen do's all over the place, ropey decor, terrible breakfast and a tacky hole for drunken men and women to go and crash in. It was everything we expected and more!! This may sound odd but this was exactly what we expected for a stag do in Cardiff and I am an advocate of putting things in to perspective. If we'd paid £100 a night I'd be rating this as terrible but as it happens we paid a quarter of that and were within a stones throw of the main action in Cardiff. Do not go here with Children as it would be wholly inappropriate. If you're looking for a cheap, clean place to crash for a night or two of partying in Cardiff then I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

For the price the hotel is rather average.
It is one of the cheaper hotels and you get what you pay for.
The staff were pleasant and the hotel was decent.
Was happy and would return again.
When you stay, the breakfast is free and included which is always a plus.
The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean.
Overall was very pleased for the price i paid for.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
864 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £40 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing