We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We visited for a buget -city break. We had a large comfy room with clean en-suite. As a newish place - following conversion from office use. It was great. We loved the contenetal breakfast. Especially my son who just loved the toaster- boys and gadgets!
Very near to the multiplex cinema.Walking distance from train and local amenities 10-15mins
We had no car but beleive parking maybe a issue. Didn't see staff apart from check in and at breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lactivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,343 - 1,349 of 1,575 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

My friend and I stay at this hotel 2nd Jan as we were out in Cardiff for the night.
When we got there we thought the location was brilliant as we didn’t have fair to get in to the town centre where the night life was but our first impression was OMG.

To enter the hotel you had to buzz in all the time to reception if you want to get in the front door (good idea but if your already checked it, they should have a key slot for entry or something)

It was like a maze with multi-coloured walls!

Checked in, very help full, only one lift working and being on the 9th floor we had to wait quite a bit for the lift, once in it, you would think it was going to break down with the amount of cranking that was going on!

Got in our room (lovely view of the CIA, main road and you could just about see the stadium)
BUT THE ROOM WAS COLD COLD COLD.....one tidy radiator! which never warmed up the room at all.
When we return back to the hotel early hours the room was freezing.

The beds had a wood frame around it and when you sat on the bed and felt like it was going to collapse, the quilt was really thin and we had a pillow which was like there was nothing there.

Curtains were like an old sheep’s rug and the carpet was rough!

the racked that we could hear in the morning was unbearable when you only have a few hours sleep!

The mirror was by the bathroom door, but no plug, so when you had to do you hair how was you suppose to see what you were doing??

(One mirror, no plug near it, not good if you’ve got young girls getting ready for a night out)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed her for the new years eve and expected a minimal room. Nothing prepared us for what we found. The room carpet had not been cleaned for a long time, there was visable dirt. The bed had hair all over the linen that was supposed to be clean! I had to ask for clean linen, pillows and duvet as the thought of sleeping in it was terrible. The bathroom was not only like being in an NHS WARD it was not that clean.

There were Stains on the walls that were new and were unmetionable! The curtains are made of fleece and look like they have never been cleaned they are so thick with dust!!

I would not stay in this property , they should close for a refit or even just close.
Its not even suitable for the student brigade because even they have standards!!
Paid £85 for the room -daylight robbery.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights in September for my birthday. We was not looking for a luxery hotel as we just needed a crash pad while we shopped, ate and enjoyed cardiff.

Location-wise it is fantastic, 5 minute walk from train station, across the road from the cinema and the food hall, and near john lewis and the highstreet.
The room itself was basic- we stayed in a standard room after being upgraded from the budget due to there being no budget rooms left. In all honesty, i would be worried to sleep in a budget room. The room we had was OK. The bed was uncomfortable to be honest, cheapo matresses and the pillows were as thin as paper but we popped down to reception who gave us more pillows which was great. It was all a little shabby to be honest, tiny tele, paint chipped and the photo frame on the wall had been broken and badly glued back together. The bathroom was ok, clean towels on arrival and if you leave the dirty one's in the bath they get replaced.
Breakfast was average, toast, fruit, cereal, tea and coffee, and randomly a bowl of boiled eggs. If you want a proper breakfast though there are plenty of cafes etc on the high street.

In summary, if you are looking for a cheap room to crash in after a great day in cardiff, book here. If you like your luxery and comfort (and a cooked breakfast) then go to one of the other hotels

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I travelled to Cardiff with my girlfriend and we had a lovely time but if i was to do it again i wouldn't stay at the big sleep.

I like the theme of the hotel and the colours create a nice atmosphere.... thats about only positive i can think of.

The big deal was the heat!! it was ridiculously hot and the rooms are fitted with a small electric fan. this resulted in a sleepless night for me and my girlfriend. The breakfast was very basic and bland too, i'd recommend a McDonalds breakfast 5 minutes down the road.

I supose you cant complain considering the price but there is a holiday inn about 100 yards away from the big sleep that would probably cost the same and include air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stemoffatt92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Booked this to go and see a-ha at Cardiff International Arena, it is right across the road so ideally placed for this and the shopping centre. It was £45 for a basic room breakfast included. It was very basic but clean and the bathroom was of a good size with loads of hot water. The staff were very good, reserving us a disabled parking space before we arrived, we still had to pay for it but we don't mind paying. The curtains did look like they were made from the skins of unwanted teddy bears but they kept the room nice and dark and they were in the bathroom aswell, bizzarely.
Breakfast is croissants, toast, cereal, boiled eggs type of thing. Criticism of the breakfast room would be that it is painted a sickly pink and looks like it should be in a psychiatric hospital, but no matter. Other gripes would be that the car park is tricky and there was only one lift working.
I would definately stay here again, but not at weekends as it is full of stags and hens. And I never travel without earplugs. It is right near a railway line so you might want to invest in some.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleverCat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

It calls itself stylish & chic, well painting concrete pink & green does not make it chic. It was draughty, noisy (next to railway lines) no water in the hot tap or the shower, room heater thermostat was broken and room was stark. Soviet style functionality but not chic. The breakfast was basic, the breakfast room stark and echoing. I will never stay there again and would advise others to find somewhere else. Its more like a hostel than a hotel so it should really have hostel prices. The staff were friendly but this does not makr up for the low standard. Do yourself a favour, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsisWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 74 in Cardiff
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £34 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Cardiff City Centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formerly Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David’s shopping arcade. The Citrus Hotel, Cardiff is within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers 83 bedrooms and is ideal for business travellers, leisure breaks and families with a choice of room types to suit your needs. This fabulous Cardiff City Centre Hotel is perfect for those looking for Budget accommodation with a difference – great value with a designer feel. All bedrooms have WIFI, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, Super King Beds, Smart TV, views of the city & complimentary Early Check-in at 2.00 PM when you book direct. Our hotel has a 24-hour reception and a Lobby Bar that provides light snacks and refreshments. Car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
Citrus Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff) Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing