We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for a short break on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A great place for a short break on the Bay”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for just one night over the weekend and to our surprise received a free upgrade to a master suite which had a wrap around balcony and views over the bay.

The rooms in the hotel would certainly benefit from a refit as they are looking a little tired. Staff helpful and the leisure facilities are worth a visit during your stay. We paid for the breakfast which was very nice but pricey.

Top tip: use the public pay and display car park outside the hotel as it is cheaper (£5 per day) than the hotel one right nexy to it.

Would come back but only if had a good deal on the room

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I note you would like to come back and would refer you to our website for updated offers. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Yours sincerely
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    1,022
    684
    306
    161
See reviews for
435
1,998
79
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Lovely room and superb view from (sadly unfurnished) balcony. Bright, light and airy. Not sure if I'd rate as 5 star but easily a 4. No fridge which is annoying, and no shower cubicle - over bath arrangement a bit cramped and bathroom could be a bit larger. Location in Cardiff Bay a 10 minute walk from most facilities. Lots of buses into city centre, Geat wetlands reserve on doorstep. Would be good is they had a casual as well as high end place to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for nview of wetland reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed the room and the views and your further comments have been noted and will be discussed with the team.
Yours sincerely
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Excellent serviced hotel, if your after a lively place to stay this is not it but you will certainly get excellent service, Immaculately clean and well looked after and staff are highly professional and cant do enough for you.

Room size isnt bad although for the money you would expect something a little bigger but rooms are well comfortable.

Fabulous views from the upper floors, spectacular view of the lobby area too. Ample parking

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments which have been shared with the team. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to St David's in the future.
Yours sincerely
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My girlfriend and me popped over to Cardiff for a weekend away and we chose to stay in the St David's Hotel & Spa.
I stayed in this hotel many years ago when it had just opened, and my good memories of it from then held true for this trip too.

The hotel is in a great location in Cardiff Bay, and every room has a balcony with views of the bay. The weather was ok whilst we were there, but not quite good enough for us to sit out on the balcony - although I can imagine that on the right day it would be lovely.

The rooms are a decent size, and the bed was comfy too.
For those that like to read it had a great reclining chair too.
The bathroom has everything you need, including a good sized bath, with an "above the bath" shower.

We visited the bar for a glass or two of bubbles, and they had a really good chap in there singing cover versions of some great songs. It was just the right volume too, so thankfully we were able to carry on chatting whilst enjoying his songs.

Breakfast was a "help yourself" buffet, with Tea, Coffee and toast brought to you.
We also asked for poached eggs which were cooked to order too.
It was a good hearty breakfast.

We also had some room service during our stay. As per the norm for a lot of hotels it was a tad on the expensive side, but the service was speedy and the food quality was good too.

The hotel has a spa with a fantastic pool area, and we went there on both days.
My girlfriend had her nails done, and she also had a facial too. She was very happy with both of these treatments.
Both of us went for a 30 minute massage, and sadly the Spa staff let themselves down there. We were in and out in just under 30 minutes, and I reckon that we only got about 15 minutes of actual massage, and the quality of this wasn't anything to write home about.

There are plenty of things to do in the area, and we wet for some lovely walks.

It was a great trip, and the hotel is lovely.
Perfect for a weekend away.

Room Tip: It looks like all the rooms have balconies and great views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear guest
We are so pleased you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. My apologies for the massage, which I will take up with the team. I am pleased your girlfriend enjoyed her other treatments. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Good location, nicely decorated rooms and good facilities. Particularly liked the quality of the beds. Would definitely like to go back for a weekend break.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear guest
Many thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here on Saturday 13th as we had tickets to the rugby. We arrived at 10.30am and managed to get our room straight away. We were upgraded to a deluxe double with views of the bay - the staff on Reception were lovely and very patient as we were a bit distracted watching the England Rugby team walk into the hotel just behind us........

We had a room on the first floor which meant you could step straight out onto the deck to admire the view. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean and tidy. The hotel is in an ideal location in Cardiff Bay and is a few minutes walk from shops, bars and restaurants on Mermaid Quay. We walked into the city twice and it takes 15-20 minutes or you can get the train from Cardiff Bay into Queen Street.

Food - we had room service in the evening and it was quick and efficient and the food was piping hot. We had a bit of a queue for breakfast and a wait while some of the food was replenished but it was all tasty.

There is a large public car park right next to the hotel which charges £5 for 24 hours so I wouldn't bother with the hotel car park. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will stay here again. Oh, and make sure you go up to the 7th floor and have a look over the balcony!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrenandJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your review which has been shared with the team. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours sincerely
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed 1 night here for my 40th Birthday. We had just had the weekend at the Celtic Manor Resort and decided to stay in cardiff on our way home for an extra nights treat. The book-in was fine although the reception area is very clinical. The room was clean but very basic. The spa pool area was dirty and tiles chipped. (not what you would expect from a 5*). We decided to stay for food at the bar which was average. At breakfast most of the hot buffet was empty and not replaced for aprox 15 mins!!! in the end we gave up as did many other guests. (This was at 9am so not late). I have stayed at this hotel before with friends and had similar service but thought I would give it another try with my husband but it has not improved and I will not be staying again!!!

Room Tip: For a great Spa break in Cardiff try the Park Plaza or the Hilton no comparison
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read your comments, and will discuss the issues with the team. In the meantime, my apologies for your disappointment.
Yours sincerely
Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing