We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed here on a Business Trip at the end of June. I had stayed there previously when it was a Rocco forte hotel. Hotel occupies an impressive spot overlooking Cardiff Bay. Very impressive reception and atrium. I was given a junior suit/corner room which was very spacious and well equipped. Room looked very similar to when I'd stayed before, albeit it now had a Flat screen TV in. Room and Bathroom very clean but Bathroom was starting to look a little dated. Didn't eat in the hotel that evening, as we had a business meeting at a nearby Indian Restaurant. But had a drink in the bar and Liam Neeson was there, Breakfast was buffet style and was hot and they seemed to be replenishing the items regularly. As we checked out it transpired all the X Factor judges were staying at the hotel as there was an X Factor audition in Cardiff that day and there were TV crews outside and in reception. Saw Dermott o' Leary and Ollie Murs. Very nice hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you for your review following your stay with us earlier this year. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been shared with the team. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,268 - 3,274 of 3,889 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the St. David's Hotel on Cardiff bay - we found everything about the hotel to be excellent! - from the warm welcome on arrival and very efficient 'Check-in' - fantastic room (712 on the 7th floor with panoramic views) - super location with just a short walk to 'Mermaid Quay' which has every choice of eatery you could wish for or a £5 taxi or £1 metro trip into the city - happy & helpful staff thoughout our stay. All in all a great venue with good value. We will certainly be back. Thank you! Ian and Alan

Room Tip: Choose and room high up and with the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TirYCoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you so much for your comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and all that Mermaid Quay has to offer. I very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The service and quality of the food at the resteraunt is very poor, chaotic service and standard of food not good for the price.
The Spa must have been great when it first opened but was shabby and in need of some TLC. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandyno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear guest
Thank you for your review which was very disappointing to read. The quality of food and service is something we usually pride ourselves on in the restaurant, particularly with our new Executive Chef on board however, this was clearly not the case on this occasion, for which I apologise.
The Marine Spa is being refurbished this week and will re-open this weekend.
I do hope we have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Best regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed overnight whist attending a wine tasting evening in the hotel. The hotel was absolutely beautiful but very expensive. Our room was stunning with a luxurious bed & recliner chairs. Toiletries were provided & although we only stayed for one night we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0phieOnH0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear guest
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your event and had a "wonderful stay" with us. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had my daughters wedding on nov 5th at st David's . The venue was excellent ,the staff were very helpful.can't fault the concierge jeff,help me with my luggage and showed me to my room.
The room was very clean and had everything we needed.my daughter and her husband had the bridal suite and that was wow.
The wedding breakfast and night do was a1 the food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
There were a few little niggles which I should mention . First the balcony did have cigarette ends on the floor.
We were supposed to have a private breakfast room for the family that stayed the night and by the time something got sorted it was 10.30 and the children were hungry.
And lastly I can't believe with the prices you pay to stay overnight that you charge £8 for parking, surely if your having a wedding and overnight stay at your hotel you shouldn't have to pay parking fees.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for posting a review following your daughter and son-in-law's special occasion with you. We are delighted that the day went well and everyone enjoyed the food, service and accommodation.
I note your comments regarding the private breakfast the morning after. This of course was not on the contract and it is disappointing that this was promised on the night of the wedding and then not fulfilled. I understand that Angharad, our wedding co-ordinator has spoken to your daughter direct in this regard.
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at this hotel as a combined spa and shopping break. Following advice from other Trip Advisor contributors we knew that the council car park next to the hotel was cheaper and as the hotel car park was full on our arrival it was useful information to have. (£5 for 24 hours as opposed to £8 on the hotel car park)

Check in was quick and painless. We were allocated room 118, a classic double. It was beautiful, decorated in natural colours with bold teal curtains and soft furnishings adding warmth and depth. There was plenty of space for hanging clothes and the room was very spacious, with 2 arm chairs plus a chair on castors for use at the dressing table. The bathroom was also huge and came fully stocked with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap and bath salts. The towels were plentiful, soft and fluffy. A hair dryer, iron and ironing board were supplied in the wardrobe as were bath robes and slippers. Tip - you have to insert your room card into a slot near the door to get the lights to come on.

Breakfast was buffet style with various fresh fruits, yoghurts, nuts, pastries and cold meats and cheeses available as well as a full cooked breakfast. The delivery of tea, coffee and toast to the table was a little slow which could be addressed; we noticed quite a few other guests also had to chase their orders.

We didn't dine in the restaurant so can't comment - there are plenty of other restaurants in Cardiff Bay with Bosphorous being a particular highlight, serving delicious Turkish food. It is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and can be found along a small pier, opposite Cafe Rouge.

We found the spa facilities to be sadly lacking. The 15m pool was clean and warm but on every occasion that we used the sauna it just wasn't coming up to temperature. The jacuzzi was cold on 2 occasions which was a real shame. When the swan neck showers were working they were wonderful and really soothed our aching limbs but they did seem to be off more than they were on.
I did notice that the pool was closing for refurbishment a few days after our stay so perhaps the issues with the sauna and jacuzzi will be addressed then. Considering we chose the hotel mainly due to the spa facilities we were saddened that they weren't quite up to 5* standard.

All in all we had a good stay, sharing the restaurant with the Welsh national football team was a particular highlight, but we probably wouldn't return due to the problems we encountered with the spa. However, a special mention to the housekeeper who serviced our room and the night porter who was friendly and welcoming - we didn't get names but they were a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Every room has floor to ceiling windows with a view over the bay and the majority have their own bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your room facilities in particular. I note your comments in relation to the spa and can confirm that the wet area is currently being refurbished and to this end I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My partner and myself spent Sunday night (6th November 2011) at this hotel and had 5* treatment from the moment we checked in until out departure the following day. After a 3 hour drive to Cardiff on Sunday morning we had no problem in finding the hotel and although their outside carpark was rather small we had no problem getting a parking spot. We were given room 115 that was beautifully furnished with a gorgeous bathroom and not only having all the essentials that one needs for a hotel stay - tea making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair drier, safe etc it also had the most fantastic view over Cardiff Bay. My partner remarked that it was like being onboard ship. It most definitely had the wow factor. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had excellent service and after a swim in their Spa pool the following morning our breakfast was also faultless. We could not find any fault with this hotel and it is most definitely on our list of hotels to revisit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BANNRIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments which have been shared with the team. We are so pleased you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer together with the unique location and setting of the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £92 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing