We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. David's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$139
US$122
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$101
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$78
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,095)
Filter reviews
4,095 results
Traveller rating
1,675
1,140
751
347
182
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,140
751
347
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suitecardiff bayoverlooking the bayspa facilitieson arrivalmermaid quaythe hotel car parkpay and displayfloor to ceiling windowsrobes and slippersafternoon tearelaxation roombirthday treatan upgradewelsh cakesbars and restaurantslovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,455 - 3,460 of 4,095 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The St Davids Hotel is located in the Bay area of Cardiff, which is less frantic than the city centre (about a mile away). Although the St Davids is surrounded by water on 3 sides, there are restaurants / bars as well as the Welsh Assembly nearby and a nature trail literaly outside. This makes for great views from any room due to the impressive hotel design.
Its slightly detached location also meant that it is much quieter.
We were staying in the hotel due a seasonal company function at Cardiff Castle.
What did i like about the St Davids- all of it
Reception: arrival and departure
warm and helpful welcome: very quick & very professional;
Security: safe and secure
Staff : great / helpful and informative
Room: on the 7th floor with amazing modern room that was both comforatble and functional. Great views over the Bay from the private balcony (bit cool in December), full floor to ceiling windows / proper complete blackout curtains / adjustable air con/ far too comfortable bed/ plasma television / lovely bathroom with fluffy towels .
The overidding feeling was that this was a hotel where design and comfort were hand in hand. Our room had extra space which was much appreciated, with excellent lighting, which is such a change from some hotel chains in this country.
Breakfast; attractive spacious room view great views. Food was fresh, varied and well presented. The breakfast staff were exceptionally good.

Dislikes ? I was dull enough to book for just one night; - from the moment my partner stepped into our room we both wanted to stay much longer. We will be back- if we can get in.

Room Tip: Lovely hotel with great views: book well in advance and ask for a top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for much for your kind review which has been shared with the team. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and everything we have to offer. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to St David's again soon.
Kind regards,
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

me and my husband stayed at this fabulous hotel for the night and loved every minute of it. The staff were very welcoming and we were thrilled when we were told we had a top floor room. the view we had from our balcony was spectacular in the day and in the night. The room itself was immaculate and the bed and pillows very comfy. There was a great atmosphere in the hotel bar and the service again was excellent. breakfast was also great with a very good selection and very helpful staff. overall our stay was first class and we cannot wait to stay again

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampingMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great hotel, location, view and pool! Reception staff very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Service and food in restaurant a little random, some good and some not so good. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crustadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for your review and your great comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Recently stayed at the St Davids for a one break and shopping trip.

Our first impressions were good with a warm welcome from the Reception Team. We had a lovely room overlooking the Mermaid Quay. Our room impressed us when we opened the door and the bed proved to be lovely and comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud! Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as well as robes and slippers. The room was spotless as was the bathroom.

The bar staff were very good as were the breakfast team. Breakfast buffet was good with everything provided! Could not fault the hotel at all. Had an enjoyable breakfast overlooking the bay from the dining room which made a lovely start to the day. Our first stay at the St Davids and wont be our last! Probably wait until the summer months before we return though. The Quay is very quiet at this time of year and the hotel is quite isolated in the winter. The walk back from the Quay is a bit scary as it is quite dark and deserted last thing at night!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

I am so pleased you class us as your "favourite Cardiff hotel" and your description of the bed is very endearing! I look forward to welcoming you back again in the summer.
Kind regards,
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Attended Cardiff with my 7 year old son to watch the rugby. After the game we booked in and without any fanfare were told we had been upgraded. From a small executive to a corner suite with separate living room is quite a bounce up. Room service was impeccable, staff were great and friendly (impressive since most are eastern europeans). Even better room was completely silent which makes a change from most hotels - that said cardiff Bay also appeared deserted!

Great weekend, Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suliivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thanks so much for your comments following your stay with your son recently. I am pleased we were able to upgrade you and delighted you both enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews