We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just an overnighter”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was only a very brief stay after theatre in Cardiff. Nice welcome, efficiently taken through check-in and a summary of the facilities. We did not use the Spa or restaurant, however, the room was very nice, large widow facing the bay, and good in room facilities. One for the ladies, my wife thinks it is the best hair-dryer of any hotel we've stayed at!!
Breakfast was what you would expect from a good hotel, nice range of hot and cold and excellent juices, the waiting staff were excellent.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of 'the bay' and lots of decent restaurants.
My only gripe is having to pay for parkling in the overflow pay and display.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverthou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future, when you can take advantage of all the facilities we have.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,464
    1,009
    677
    302
    159
See reviews for
429
1,959
79
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a dinner bed and breakfast package which was really lovely. On arrival we were told we had an upgrade to a master suite! This was excellent, such a beautiful view over the bay in the lounge area. We even had our breakfast in our room which was very good. Dinner was also tasty. The spa area is particularly good; huge area which was quiet both times we went there. Service could have been better at dinner, but apart from that we had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natzanddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed all that we have to offer and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Having booked the break away some weeks ago, I had a lengthy conversation with the Telephonist discussing the Junior Suite and the children's policy in the Swimming Pool. When we got to the Suite,we were disappointed that there was no 3rd bed in our Room. Making the trip back down to Reception, the Receptionist informed me (and a colleague) quite loudly that there was no evidence of a request for a children's bed. We did have written confirmation with us, however, in fairness the hotel quickly rectified the problem and a lovely polite guy from house-keeping sorted it out quickly for us. However, not exactly the start we wanted. The suite (averaging out at £180/night) was in need of a bit of TLC - double glazing unit on one of the panels was letting in condensation, heated towel rail not working, soap dish in shower off wall, sharp wooden piece on bottom of door frame sticking up which could could catch nastily on feet. The housekeeping/staff at breakfast were always friendly. Breakfast was exactly the same on both days we were there, but plenty of choice and we all enjoyed a hearty breakfast. People who have kids need to be aware that pool times are limited - in fairness, this was made known at the time of booking, on arrival and Reception and plenty of notices around. The Waves Room with concessionary refreshments was a lovely touch and particularly popular with our 10 year old! Be warned that there were two Traffic Wardens patrolling the NCP car park at 11am - which is the check out time. We noticed that a couple of unlucky people had received parking tickets as the check-in queue was understandably quite long. Best things - location, bar, friendliness of staff and a nice short walk down to Mermaid Quay. Not sure it felt like a complete 5^ experience though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review and useful comments. In the first instance I apologise for the housekeeping issues in your room and have passed this to my Maintenance Manager for investigation. I am pleased that despite this you enjoyed your stay with us and was glad to hear that our Waves room was a particular hit!
I hope we can welcome you all back in the near future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We decided to go to Cardiff for our silver wedding anniversary. We hadn't been before. St. Davids was a lovely hotel set on Cardiff Bay which is surrounded by restaurants and walking distance of the Millenium Centre - I think the equivalent of the Barbican.

St. David's was peaceful, spotless and the service was excellent. The bed was so comfortable I felt like a princess. There is free use of the swimming pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi during your stay. They provide good quality bath robes for your use.

The breakfast is plentiful. Something to please everyone and they are very obliging - nothing is too much trouble.

Each room has ironing board, trouser press, hairdryer and there are the usual shampoo, conditioner, etc. If you needed anything you just had to call room service.

We didn't eat there for an evening meal and room service looked very expensive (£7 for a sandwich!).

Cardiff itself is a really friendly place. The atmosphere was brilliant. There was a big rugby match on and everyone was in such a good mood. Everywhere we went, people burst into song. It's true about the Welsh - they all sing beautifully.

Would love to visit the hotel and Cardiff again one day. Thanks for making our anniversary so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view - its stunning but may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I am so pleased you chose us/Cardiff to celebrate your special anniversary and am delighted you enjoyed all that the hotel and Cardiff has to offer. I would love to welcome you back again in the future but in the meantime Happy Anniversary and our best wishes for the next 25 years!
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We didn't actually stay at the hotel but visited for afternoon tea and all I can say is 'superb'! Lovely relaxed setting, fantastic variety of sandwiches, scones and cakes to die for. Good value for a lovely tea.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review following your Afternoon Tea experience with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience and your kind words have been shared with the team.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the St Davids Hotel and Spa. We stayed 1 night on the 16th February and paid £102 for an executive double.
After reading all the bad reviews and helpful tips we arrived at 2.45 and parked in the pay and display carpark which is right next the the hotel carpark apart from a bush that seperates them. We paid £5 for 24 hours.
Check in was very easy, the receptionist was happy and helpful asking if we required anything and explaining everything to us, even the indoor lift that leads straight to the spa.
We arrived in our room and was extremely pleased with what we found. A lovely size room with king size bed. we had our own balcony that over looked the bay and even though it was not a sunny day we spent alot of time out there just admiring the view.
As it was my birthday the hotel gave us a bottle of Champers which was a lovely touch.
The only small let down was the bathroom. It was not very big and felt a little bit out dated. But non the less it was clean and everything was in working order. I loved the bath salts they gave they spelt amazing.
My husband and I went straight to the Spa. After finding out dressing gowns in the wardrobe, we left our room in our swimming suits and robes. We used the indoor lift and came out in the spa. Collected our towels and went straight into the pool. The Spa is lovely, but not very big. I have been to a few spas and was a little disappointed with this spa. Everything seemed a little worn and needed a bit of an update. But again it was clean and relaxing and we spent a few hours lazing around.
We decided not to eat in the hotel and a short 10 min walk we were in the Bay, which has the most amazing atmosphere and restaurants/bars.
We had the most comfortable sleep on a very soft bed. we woke early to go for a early swim and to make the most of the facilities.
Check out was easy as we paid before hand, and again the staff were friendly and happy.
We were very disappointed to be leaving. We then drove the 15mins into Cardiff town had had a lovely day there.

The only thing that annoyed me was that they charged nearly £12 per person for breakfast. we walked to the bay again and had breakfast for £5. SO not really a problem.

I loved my stay and would go back there again, maybe not for the spa but for the lovely room with its amazing view and comfortable bed, friendly staff and being so close to the bay.

Thank you St Davids Hotel and Spa for making my 29th Birthday fab ; )

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your special occasion with us. Wishing you a belated Happy Birthday!
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Opted for a deluxe room but none of the complimentary features were in the room, had to ask for them, eventually arrived. Morning paper didn't arrive, no apology. On departure charged £8 for using hotel car park. Stayed at Future Inn at the Bay night before, free parking and room just as good for half the price. Also without out St David's staff arrogance. Was meant be be a treat to remember, only memory is being ripped off.

Room Tip: Future Inn or other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R11SJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for your disappointing stay and I will be discussing your comments with the team. I hope we have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
2,131 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing