We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
plymouth england
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good not 5 star”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

1st stay at this hotel for me and a 1st to stay in 5 star, on checking in I was suprised to see the reception area desks could have done with a makeover as looked worn and dated and why is their a bunch of green apples on one of the tops in a large bowl baffled me I think a flower presentation would have impessed me more. Check in was smooth on entering our room on 5th floor was inpressed to the view over the bay, we checked the bedding for cleaniness shock n horror it had a stain on sheet and hairs on bed sheet not happy, the duty manager was very apolgetic and gave us another room, the balconys are beautiful and amazing views of bay St Davids please update the table and chairs on Balcony as the one we had, had splinters in and had to use a towel to sit on,Carpets in the room look like they had done their time,beware of the walk in shower room the floor area after showering you really need to put a towel down to stop yourself from slipping,we booked to have our evening meal in the resturant which was very quiet only 5 tables in use the meal was excellent unfortuantly the wait was to long 2 hours later when i had a cup tea to finish meal off this came luke warm? so fed up by this time with the wait we left, the morning breakfast was very good as we were not very hungry due to an early start we asked if we were able to take some pastries and we were offered a box to help ourselves to takeaway, looked around spa and very nice seperate lift from your rooms to here so you could take advantage of going down in the bathrobes and slippers provided in rooms,the staff were very quiet and not very talkative It would have been nice to have seen them more relaxed and approachable overall we had a pleasant stay, no way is this hotel 5 stars, would I stay again yes as the location was ideal for were we needed to be.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on top floor these will have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshsue56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for review and your comments have been noted and taken on board. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and am pleased to see you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    1,057
    703
    317
    167
See reviews for
456
2,082
80
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel via another website based on room only for two nights (Paying over £1.2k including spa). When we arrived at the hotel the concierge came outside to get our luggage which was great but then we arrived at the reception the car park was full but conciege kindly said he would park our car - fab!
The reception was bright but this soon became quite dull when we entered our room - fairly dated.
One of my friends decided to upgrade her room paying a total of £300.00 a night for a suite and it soon became apparent this was not value for money - heres why:
- £300.00 per night for the so called 'suite' doesnt include breakfast!
- The bathroom door was broken
- Sofa's had stains on it
- One of the larger tables wasnt stable - loose legs.
- Infact all the furniture was dated
-The air conditioning wasnt working making the room unbearable and we couldnt leave the balcony door open because it didnt have a door stop. (this was in room 502 and 511)
- A maid walked in room 502 early am whilst we were asleep wanting to clean the room

Called the reception 3 times before a maintenance guy came and as he moved a couple of tables to access the air conditioning system the coffee tables underneath had a thick layer of dust! So much for a suite!

Then other 3 calls were made to reception before Michelle (Guest Relations Manager) came to the room. Michelle acknowledged this was unacceptable and offered to move my friend and our guest from Vancouver to another room. (Too much hassle so we just asked for it be cleaned properly)

We went on to the Marina Spa which was absolutely fantasic - thanks to Susan for the lovely massage and facial.
When we arrived for lunch at the spa there was 2 bottles of champagne to compensate for the issues with the suite - thanks Michelle. The lunch which was prepared for us was lovely.
Back in the suite there was a fruit platter - again I think this was thanks to Michelle.

As much as Michelle tried to rectify the issues there is clearly a need for the hotel to improve to a 5 star. Would we return again? Maybe if the hotel had a refurb as became a true 5 star. I have been to many 5 star hotels around the globe - this is probably a 3.5/4 star hotel.

If you go into town - dont let the cab drivers rip you off. A cab into town should cost no more than £8.00. (We had one cab driver charge us £20.00!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Hello again!
Thank you for your review. I very much appreciate your comments and am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the unacceptable issues you encountered. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you all back to St David's in the future to experience our ongoing investment.
Kind regards.
Michelle Jones
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have stayed here annually since it first opened in 1998! Whilst times have moved and things have changed, the St Davids is still "Special"! A great location with superb views either over Mermaid Quay and it's buzzing nightlife, or over Cardiff Bay and beyond. This unique building hosts a relaxing sanctury from day to day life. A warm welcome greats you on arrival, followed by an excellent lunch on the terrace overlooking the bay. The rooms are nicely appointed, Huge beds, floor to ceiling windows lead to your own balcony, again with the views. After "donning" the complimentry robes and slippers, take the private lift directly to the Spa and all of it's facilities, and RELAX! Not the cheapest hotel, but 5* shouldn't be, the quality of service afforded by all of the team is excellent, and nothing is too much for them. Excellent breakfast, good lunch and dinner all taken in "Tides" restaurant, again overlooking the bay, adjacent parking (the municiple one next door is much cheaper!) and easy access to Cardiff central or the motorway network compliment this excellent place in which to enjoy a break!

Room Tip: Bay side for the afternoon sun and the higher the better for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you so much for your kind reveiw. It is so gratifying to receive such feedback. The team work hard in ensuring your stay with us is "special" and it is therefore very encouraging to receive such feedback. We very much look forward to your return soon. Many thanks once again.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We went to this hotel recently for a wedding and it was beautiful. It was in the Roald room and all the tables very decorated beautifully and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The view of the bay from this room was lovely the only thing that spoiled it was the weather. The food was very tasty and was all brought out hot, overall I think this would be a lovely place to have a wedding. There were a few downsides though, the drinks were very expensive (£5 a pint) which was a bit annoying as although this is classed as a 5* hotel I would say I have stayed in nicer and paid less for drinks. Also, there were no toilets on the same floor as the wedding so we had to keep going up and down the stairs which can be a bit awkward when you're drunk and wearing heals. The hotel I thought as well looked much nicer on the inside than the outside which looked a little bit dated.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that looks over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irig01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to us for a wedding. I am so pleased that every aspect of the wedding, the room, the decorations, the staff, the food and of course the view were of good quality and enjoyable. I have taken on board your comments with regards to the price of your pint - although you will appreciate this is for a specific variety and other alcoholic beverages served in pint glasses are less expensive. Yes, the toilets servicing the Roald Dahl Suite are situated down one, or two flights of stairs. A lift however is available for your use.
Once again, thank you for your review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to St David's in the future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Been to this hotel twice now and loved it every time.. As for some people saying it dated it's not at all... It's very modern and crisp white walls but that makes it feel open and fresh.
Rooms are beautiful and very comfy beds and nice sized bathroom. Lovely view over the bay from the balcony and could sit and watch the world go by all night long.
Spa is very nice nd relaxing if your staying at the hotel you have a private lift to get down to the spa so u don't walk through reception in your dressing gown.
It's not the cheapest hotel around but your definitely get what you pay for, the breakfast is great food and locally sourced which is nice to know. Also has a sugar free selection for any diabetics etc..
I recommend the Italian restaurant on the bay signor valentinos lovely food!
110% will go bk here again at some point can't wait!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusieC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you have enjoyed the unique style and setting of St David's on the two occasions you have stayed. Myself and the team very much look forward to welcoming you back to St David's in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The lobby was very dated which didn't give a good impression on entering - get rid of the orange sofas! The treatments in the spa were good (special birthday treat) but again there was a general unkempt, scruffy look with a staff member wandering around the spa in what looked like a tracksuit. Not what I expect in a 5 star hotel and looked silly. Took away a bit of the glam experience for me. I can't comment on rooms and food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank BookGirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
It is disappointing to read your comments. I do appreciate that the unique style of St David's is not to everyone's taste but your comments have been taken on board.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pencoed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Miniscule car park (charged), charge on credit cards (not told this when checking out), no furniture on grubby balcony, meal package deal had no actual value so still paid full price, food decent but little effort made on a quiet night for a decent gluten free desert for my coeliac wife, room akin to a 3 star, tv flat to wall totally offset from bed, forgot to bring toast at breakfast, no bill break down prior to paying (only interest was in whether I'd used the car park), champagne Rose laid out in room as if complimentary (no note of explanation so didn't fall for that one). Will certainly try the Hilton next time as I will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwangPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
I can confirm that the bottle was indeed complimentary. Thank you for your further comments which have been noted.
Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing