We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. David's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great views from the hotel room across Cardiff Bay. Good rooms, although quite basic. Food was very good, although service and lack of ingredients for breakfast one morning was definitely not 5 star. Great location, within walking distance of some good restaurants and bars. The spa was nice, but, not as good as we were expecting, I think from the hype we expected something a bit more special. Cardiff itself is a great city to visit, with a number of touristy things to do and good shopping.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback which will be discussed with our team and we hope you chose to return on a future visit.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,445
    995
    668
    300
    157
See reviews for
415
1,933
79
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Like the gentleman on 25/9 that was made to feel invisible at reception, I have to say that never in all the hotels that I've stayed in, have I ever come across more lacklustre, disinterested, faceless reception staff. The only person on this desk with any personality is a lovely girl by the name of Becca.
I have stayed in this hotel several times since 2000 and I have to say that since the Rocco Forte chain pulled out, standards dropped and have never re-attained that 5 star level that this hotel used to offer. I decided after my trip last year that I would not return, but I gave in and returned both this July and this weekend both gone. If I thought the service during my trip in July was poor, well nothing could have prepared me for the shoddy, indifferent, no-star service I received this weekend just gone.
I will be writing to the hotel directly to complain. And whilst people think that small things don't matter, I'm afraid that if you have a constant build up of small things, they can actually ruin what should be a nice relaxed weekend of pampering and indulgence.
I will never cross the threshold of this hotel again.
If you want 5 star service in Cardiff, go to the Hilton. Their staff know how to treat paying customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derval M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team. I believe you are in contact with my Guest Relations Manager who you have been in regular contact over the last couple of years. He advised me that he has emailed you to endeavour to assist you further on the issues that you highlighted in your review. Please accept my apologies for the delay in responding to your comments however we wish to investigate these matters in further detail.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just got back from an amazing weekend at the St Davids Hotel. They upgraded us upon arrival to a master suite and as it was my husbands birthday this was absolutely fantastic.

Lounge area with dining table was huge and had everything you could need for a weekend away.

Bedroom was equally as big and bed was so comfy that it really was perfect. We were suprised how hot the room was for autumn. The large windows were fantastic as there was an amazing view right across the bay.

Bathroom had everything you could want including a powerful shower.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted we were able to accommodate your needs and look forward to welcoming you back to St David’s in the future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

On arriving at the hotel we were quickly welcomed by Jeff the doorman who took care of our luggage and parked our car.Thanks Jeff.On checking in at reception we were informed we had been upgraded free of charge from a junior room to the master suite.Not having stayed here before we didnt know what to expect.We were blown away the room was amazing!We had a lovely sitting area plus a dining area with lovely furnishings.The bedroom was beautiful and the views form the two balconies were amazing!The rooms had everything you could wish for and bathroom well equipped with toiletries etc.Enjoyed some lovely drinks in the Tempus bar and enjoyed talking to Elaine who was very welcoming and helpful.Needless to say the room was so lovely we didnt venture very far!Breakfast was tasty with lots of choice and again we were sat on a corner table with lovely views of the bay.Checkout was quick and efficient although there were a lot of people checking out at the same time.Again the lovely Jeff came to our aid and brought the car to the front of the hotel for us.Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martip10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous review and the score of 5. I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay and your kind words have been passed to Jeff and the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to St David's soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Had a one night stay at this hotel. Very comfortable room, use of excellent spa facilities and a very hearty, tasty breakfast choice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

As one or two others have said, there are a few things that you wouldn't expect at a five star hotel - our room had paintwork rather badly patched up on the wall and a cracked skirting board that needed some attention. There was also an old vacuum cleaner left on the corridor during all of our stay with I assume, the cleaner's name scribbled on it! None of these spoiled anything though and are just minor nit picks.

So overall - brilliant, great location, facilities and staff. Rooms great and comfortable - just a few attention to detail things that need looking at.

Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: Ask for bay facing if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobskiStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is very useful and will be discussed with the team. I am pleased that despite these minor issues you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to St David's in the near future.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed for one night with my wife as a weekday treat. A good corner room but it all felt a bit corporate, nothing wrong just lacked a little passion and sole. Corner rooms offer excellent views over the bay (and into other rooms...)

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with your wife. I have shared your comments with the team and thank you for your feedback in this regard. I am sorry for your disappointment but hope we can welcome you and your wife back to St David's in the not too distant future.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed here for one night for my birthday weekend. We had tickets to the motorpoint arena and it was the perfect location away from the center and by the beautiful view! We had the spa in the morning overlooking the bay and lovely places to dine for lunch. The staff we all friendly and the room was lovely!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us. Many Happy Returns! A warm welcome awaits your next visit!

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing