We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly not a 5* rating for this hotel........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Sadly this hotel does not live up to its 5* rating. I made a booking for 4 rooms and saw the interior of each. The furnishings are not only very plain but extremely tired and worn looking. I was shocked at the filthy windows and balcony and disappointed by a number of unsmiling, unfriendly staff mainly in the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was very nice, but a ridiculous buffet arrangement meant that you had to lift heavy lids of each dish to access the food rather than have lids with hinges or some other hot plate system. I am extremely surprised St David's has retained its 5* rating. Disappointing but retrievable if some investment in new bedroom décor, a window cleaner and customer service training for restaurant staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolyb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us at St David's. Your comments have been noted and shared with the team. I can confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to witness our ongoing investment.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,637 - 2,643 of 3,891 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is looking a bit tired and worn out . We arrived really early and went off for lunch having been told our room would be prioritised for inspection. Check in was at 3 but room not ready till half past! Although we have a deluxe king size I have stayed in better premier inn rooms. I also asked to extra milk at 630pm last night and it failed to arrive before we checked out at 11 am today! View was good but balcony is a waste of time . Spa is not what it could be ! One small sauna, Luke warm spa bath and cold pool! Breakfast buffet average and they seriously need to get chaffing dishes with hinged lids! Plus point though its easy walking distance to mermaid quay. Disappointed

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joshmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your review and I apologise for your dissapointment. It is not clear whether you brought any of these issues to the attention of the Duty Manager at the time to enable us to rectify any shortfalls immediately. Again, apologies for your disappointment.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just returned from a one night mini break in the St David's hotel and we were made to feel special from the moment we arrived. Our penthouse suite was all you could ask for and more with panoramic views of the Bay. The staff were friendly and efficient and the standard of room service was first rate and some of the best we have had. We had a lovely drink on the terrace at Tempus and would probably eat there next time we go. We slept really well as the bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. We were also able to extend our checkout until 2pm which meant we could enjoy a room service lunch before we left. We found it difficult to leave and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you ever so much for your review and your top score which is much appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed all that St David's has to offer and that the team look after you so well. A warm welcome awaits your return.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel and found the location excellent as overlooking the bay. We had a great welcome, concierge and bell boy service good and car parking nice and close. We found the room to be clean and tidy. Only downside on arrival was the fact that we had to ask for a third robe and cup for our daughter after an extra bed had already been added for her. Spa facilities were great and we really enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was fantastic, good food and great service. Only problem is that we were given French butter with our meal instead of Welsh butter. It is only a small thing but staying in the Capital of Wales we were surprised at this. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your family break with us, especially the unique location of the hotel and the service provided by the team. I note your comments regarding the butter and thank you very much for your recommendations to friends and family. We hope to see you all again soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great hotel located at Cardiff Bay. The reception is spacious with welcoming hotel staff. The room was also spacious with a balcony with a view back to Mermaid Quay (probably the best side to stay on). Lovely location and extremely convenient for the quay and the millenium centre. Just a short bus ride or walk into the centre of Cardiff (or catch the sightseeing bus or a boat). Parking is not included and it's probably easiest to stay in the public car park (adjacent to the hotel one). Also a very nice bar area with views again over the water. The spa area is also very convenient with a few options to spend your time in the water.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We were at this hotel for a wedding. We had booked 2 rooms well in advance and had requested an early check inn for at least 1 room as we were travelling with a 95 year old grandmother. The request was made by phone a few days prior to the check inn and would not be a problem. Upon arrival we were met by a rather rude receptionist who told us that no rooms were available for early check in and that we should have paid for it. Some other guests, arriving before us, had no problem checking in early. The wedding reception went fine and the food was good. To go to and from the wedding rooms you have to go outside and through the main entrance. Because of the cold and wet weather we took the 95 year old grandmother to the lobby through a short cut, another function room, which was being prepared at the time. A very rude barman told us that we were not allowed in there and should turn around immediately. We ignored this advice and just moved on and were told that next time we would be stopped. It's a pity that a few rude and unpleasant staff members cna ruin another wise pleasant hotel. Obviously staff training needs to be reviewed

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paaltjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at St David's on a recent trip to Cardiff having stayed here several years ago.
Sadly since our previous visit, the hotel is showing signs of tiredness! The windows we're dirty especially the magnificent frontage of the hotel, they looked like they haven't been cleaned in a long time! Similarly the exterior of the hotel; the decking;the exterior paintwork, the 'sail' shaped wind breaks to the balconies--- all in a poor state of repair and 'tired'. The room whilst clean was also looking tired and could do with a make over or a lick of paint to freshen it up!,
On a positive note the staff, especially at reception were most courteous, polite and helpful; sadly the same couldn't be said of the breakfast staff , the service was lacking, no teacups, at the table plates not cleared, slow service etc, this could of course be due to either a lack of staff or cost cutting??( along with the lack of maintainance maybe?)

Come on St David's, you charge top rates for a less than top rate accommodation surely you could afford to tidy the place up and restore it to its former glory! You have an enviable position make the most of it to entice us back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorahDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £93 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing