We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent one night at the St David's on business.

The hotel enjoys a good location, overlooking Cardiff Bay. It is near restaurants and bars and is therefore well located for leisure, although rather far from the city centre.

The entrance hall was vast and towering, with an atrium going up several floors. My check-in was pleasant and the receptionist was efficient and welcoming.

I was rather disappointed in my room, which was on the fourth floor. It was reasonably large, but rather sparsely furnished. There were no decorations whatever on the walls and the whole feeling was stark and rather unappealing. Disappointingly, there were two single beds. There was a flat screen television, with a wide choice of channels. Pleasingly, there was also a trouser press.

The bathroom was rather disappointing. It had a wide range of toiletries, but was not very big and not particularly luxurious.

I had a very poor night's sleep. The room was equipped with air conditioning, but clearly the system had not been turned on so as to expel cool air. It whirred away all night, but the room nevertheless became increasingly hot, and as a consequence I slept badly.

I ate in the restaurant, which was attached to the bar. On the night in question, there was a live singer, but, to be frank, he was not particularly good, rather noisy, and detracted from the evening rather than enhanced it. The meal itself was good and there was a reasonable and fairly-priced wine list.

Breakfast the following day was very good indeed.

This is quite a good hotel and I do not believe that any traveller could go wrong by staying there. However, it lacked personality and I would not rush to return. To sum up: it was ok, but not outstanding and the lack of air conditioning was a major fault.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the spectacular views and the breakfast.

I apologise for any issue with the air conditioning and your further comments have been noted and will be discussed with my management team.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,467 - 2,473 of 3,951 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a relaxing two night stay and enjoyed the spa. Drinks in the bar were a little pricey but great views over the bay. The room had a panoramic view of the bay and its own balcony. Reception staff were very welcoming and explained that cars can be parked opposite in the hotel's car park but there is a charge. I had a beauty treatment and bought products from the salon.

Room Tip: The room with a view of the bay was worth having.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa, particularly the spectacular views of which we are very proud and indeed the service provided by the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely location. Stunning hotel inside. Looks a bit tired on outside. Had views over Cardiff Bay and very close to all attractions. Staff were amazing. Excellent breakfasts. Bar in evening had good atmosphere and we felt really well looked after throughout . The sauna, pool and other spa facilities were really good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have wider view and semicircular balconies so I guess they are the most expensive. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review, which has of course been shared with the team here at The St David's Hotel & Spa. We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and particularly the location, stunning views, Tempus Bar & Restaurant and of course the exceptional service levels provided by the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel situated in Cardiff Bay and only a ten minute taxi ride into Cardiff city centre. The hotel's public areas are modern and stylish but we felt that the rooms were a little dated and needed modernising. For this reason, we didn't feel that it was a 5 star establishment. The staff were very professional and always friendly. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyStarSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa. We hope you come and visit again soon to experience more of our ongoing investment.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights .check was good car was parked and luggage was put in room while we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar .
Room was an excellent size .bathroom nice .
The view from our window was fab across the bay .
Had my hair done in the hairdressers in the lobby ,very nice too.
Went to the theatre one night only a stones throw away .
Definitely come back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning very soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Took my fiance for her birthday and it was the best hotel i have ever stayed in, I work all around the uk and stayed in many hotel's but this hotel is the best by far, great service by staff and all round brilliant hotel, 5 star plus i say

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you and your fiance had a enjoyable stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa.

We very much hope to see both again soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly recommend this hotel. I emailed the hotel prior to our visit asking for a top floor room due to the wonderful views - and was pleased to get this. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave the 5* experience. The only very slight negative was the tired decor in the spa - it needs a bit of tlc. But all in all a fantastic hotel in a great location and would absolutely recommend it for a luxury break.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you got to enjoy the views that St David's Hotel & Spa are proud of.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to St Davids.

Kind regards
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,304 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £90 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing