We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still in the queue for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It is Sunday morning and I have started to write this after being in the queue for breakfast seating for 28 minutes. We are 5 in our party and there are no tables left large enough to accommodate us. This is because all the larger round tables were occupied by 2 people! Eventually after much deliberation we were offered a table for 4 with an extra chair at the end. We are very cramped and not comfortable. The woman organising the seating told us that if we came at 7.30 we wouldn't have had to wait! I wont go into the details of the food but I asked for hot water and fresh lemon. The water came 10 minutes later and I was told that the lemon would be 4 or 5 minutes. After a further10 minutes and 3 requests the lemon finally arrived. My husband asked for an expresso coffee and was told they only have instant!
We had booked a junior suite and were very surprised to have a complimentary bottle of wine. However this rose frizz ante wine was to be served cold and as there was no fridge or mini bar we left it on the balcony.
The bathroom was a disgrace. A shower with a curtain and a temperature gauge that doesn't work and no shaver socket.
The lighting in the suite was so bad that we had to ask for an extra lamp as we could not read at the table in the lounge area of the room. One was brought but there was no socket in the area. We were told that it is a MORNING table.
How this can be classed as a 5 star hotel is beyond me. I can only think that as this is the only 5 star hotel it may be better to take a chance on a less prestigious establishment.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank sandrabutwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review. May I reiterate my apologies in the personal communication between us for the delays with breakfast service however we did have an issue with the gas supply into the hotel on this particular morning meaning the team had to compromise on service. I understand that this was addressed with all affected guests on check-out.

I am pleased you enjoyed the complimentary room upgrade and sparkling rose in your room. As we operate an extensive 24 hour room service menu in line with our 5 star status we do not have mini bars in our rooms.

My apologies for the other issues your encountered and understand that the team rectified any issues that were brought to their attention.

Once again thank you for your feedback which will be discussed with my team.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,311 - 2,317 of 3,893 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel has a superb location and the facilities are exactly what one would expect from a hotel and spa. The food is not the best I have had yet it is adequate for the price. The car parking is often a problem as the location is so popular with visitors to the Bay. Be prepared to park away from the hotel especially if they have functions akin place in the hotel - and these are frequent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GwynRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at the St David's Hotel and Spa, particularly the location and facilities of the hotel.

We do have limited parking in our private car park at the hotel which is chargeable at £10 per 24 hours, however immediately adjacent to our car park is an NCP car park with over 200 spaces chargeable at £7 per 24 hours.

I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, we had a complimentary upgrade and the staff were extremely helpful, lovely restaurant too. Would definitely go back, a bit more than I would usually pay but worth it. Balcony a little on the small side that was the only complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review, the contents of which are much appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back very soon to The St David's Hotel & Spa, Cardiff.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I should start by saying I always enjoy my visits to the spa and the staff are always really pleasant and helpful. However, the irritations do mar my visits. There is not enough parking, so on most visits I am greeted at the car park entrance by a concierge who couldn't seem less concerned that there is no parking. You will be directed to the public car park next door, where it costs £3.50 for up to 4 hours. If you come for a full spa day, allow £7 or £8 pounds. Hardly 5 star!
Reception staff are always very pleasant and there are warm toweling dressing gowns, slippers and plenty of towels available. However, the changing rooms are tired and need a refurb. The shower cubicles are small, although there is plenty of room to enlarge them. A hook for towels in the cubicle would be good. There is nowhere to sit and apply make up; there is a small counter with 2 hairdryers where you can stand to use a mirror, but if other guests are waiting to dry their hair you feel obliged to move away. The pool is fine, but quite small with very few loungers. The jacuzzi and waterfall showers have awkward metal steps which you have to climb up and then down ~ not so good if you have mobility problems. The upstairs spa area is the best place to relax with a book and there is a good range of complimentary teas and drinks. I used to love the cafe, but the comfortable settees and coffee tables have gone; there was a very long wait for service with no staff at all in the room, but the food is still good and snacks are very reasonable. (Humous and 2 pitta breads is only £3.50)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank fiftysomething100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent spa day with us. Your comments will be discussed with my management team and therefore your feedback is much appreciated.

I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Five friends and I booked for afternoon tea as a pre Christmas treat. Although two of us asked for the Champagne option - this had to be chased THREE times and only arrived when the first pot of tea had gone cold. Similar requests for other drinks needed a number of requests.

Customer service was appalling, I don't think the staff wanted to be there.

The selection of teas was poor - since when do I want to smell all the fruit teas - asked for a smokey tea and was offered Camomile................ I shall not return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KLN234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Quite a nice hotel. Staff were pleasant enough although at times it was difficult to communicate due to language difficulties. My husband and I both asked for tea with our breakfast but got coffee. The rooms were pleasant enough but no better than a premier inn. Bathroom floor didn't look as though it had been cleaned for quite some time and grouting around bath quite mouldy. Didn't use the spar so cannot comment on that. Food was quite good but overall I would say it was slightly overpriced. Probably different a few years ago but it looks tired and in need of some TLC.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with balcony had a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be discussed with the team and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Receiving this overnight stay and tickets for a show was a present given to us for Christmas. Although the weather was appalling but this made the hotel more inviting than ever. We felt so welcomed from the word go. Our room was beautiful with a view over Cardiff Bay, unbelievable.
Dinner was delicious and the service was wonderful.
Unforeseen circumstances on our departure and my husband having difficulty combatting the flights of stairs of the fire exit, was a real trial but we cannot thank members of staff and guests enough for their assistance. THANK YOU ALL
We enjoyed the Hotel so much we will have to return in the Summer!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments will be shared with the team here at The St David's Hotel & Spa and we very much look forward to seeing you both again in the summer.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £92 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing