We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. David's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Anniversary Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for our silver wedding anniversary.
The whole stay, from start to finish, was first class.
Every single member of staff couldn't make us feel more welcome .
Complimentary bottles if wine in the room, which went down really well.
The spa and facilities were A1.
Breakfast was very good, as on the first day it was cooked fresh to order, the second it was a buffet breakfast, so I don't know how it's normally presented. Me personally preferred the cooked to order.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning.
Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mwg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased your wedding anniversary break was first class from start to finish. We do offer plated breakfasts from Monday to Friday unless occupancy is very high we will offer buffet and on weekends we offer buffet. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    993
    667
    300
    157
See reviews for
415
1,929
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a beautiful, striking hotel, it feels as if you are aboard a cruise ship when you're standing on your balcony ! The staff, bar none, are extremely friendly and helpful and any hitches are smoothed out so nicely, particular thanks to Nicola who we had spoken to a couple of times on the phone when planning our trip and was on duty throughout our actual stay. The views from our rooms were wonderful and to eat dinner in the restaurant ( totally delicious food ) whilst the daylight is going and the lights in the Bay and Penarth are coming on and their reflections are twinkling in the sea, is quite magical. The Spa is spotless with nice changing areas and lovely toiletries available in the shower cubicles. A dedicated lift down from the bedrooms into the Spa itself enables you to go back and for to the Spa all ready for your swim wearing just your bathers and the snowy white robes and slippers provided in the bedrooms.
I hope we will stay at St David's again, we'd really look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much on your recent review on the St. David's Hotel & Marine Spa. it made a delightful read. I will of course share your comments on to Nicola who made your stay with us more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 1/4/14.The room was on the seventh floor so good views if you could see out of the windows!! They all needed a good clean throughout the building. Having stayed at 5 star hotels throughout the country this hotel would not match other hotels of this star rating.The décor and furnishings in our room were pretty tired, the carpet was patchy and a bit threadbare. The bathroom floor was sticky. The double deluxe room does not match the sumptuous pictures on their website. Very disappointing.
The good news was that the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very enjoyable and a superb position to sit and enjoy the view.
Will not be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views if the windows have been cleaned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review I am so sorry if elements during your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments on our breakfast and your good night sleep.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is extremely comfortable, we particularly enjoyed the views from our balcony. Food in the restaurant was excellent, we had a couple of slight niggles about the slow service in the restaurant but these where dealt with in an excellent manner by one of the many wonderful staff we came into contact with at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review and your stay was very enjoyable and your kind comments on dining within the hotel. We look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M.Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the St Davids for our wedding anniversary in a junior suite with great views of the bay. The room was excellent as was the spa & pool. The staff were welcoming & friendly. The only spoiling factor was the surprise £10 car park charge for using the hotel car park ! (Not shown on website). When I questioned the charge on Twitter, I was told that all Cardiff hotels charge for parking, this is true but these are city centre hotels with limited space available. This does not apply to the St Davids. I appreciate it's "only" £10 but it rather spoilt an otherwise great time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review and on our great views we have to offer. in relation to the hotel car park. It is chargeable of £10 overnight and this information can be found on our website under location. I hope this helps.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a spa day for my best friends hen do! There were 11 of us and we loved every minute of it!
Champagne on arrival for the hen, tranquil spa treatments and then chill out time in the pool/jacuzzi.
Such an amazing day! Definitely would recommend! X

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemlouise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review on your Spa Day. I am pleased the day for your special occasion went so well. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duffryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

My friend planned a visit to the spa as a surprise for my hen party on the 22nd March. This has to be the best spa I have visited in Cardiff. I had a wonderful day and cannot find fault this spa. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for our party of 9. I was treated to a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival, we were given robes and towels immediately and shown around. The facilities are great. The biggest jacuzzi in a spa I have seen before. Lovely clean changing rooms, great relaxation room, separate seating area where we could take in the gorgeous views of the bay whilst helping ourselves to the complimentary drinks and fruit. I had a back neck and shoulder massage which was outstanding. My only negative was that I didn't have enough time to fit everything in, which is my own fault for booking so many treatments! Will definitely return as a treat for myself and the hubby after the wedding! : ) Thank you to all the staff for making my hen party so enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LeighGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent Spa Day. I am delighted the whole day for you and your friends were one of the best you have experienced in Cardiff. I am pleased to hear the day was so enjoyable. We look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing