We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. David's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,125)
Filter reviews
4,125 results
Traveller rating
1,686
1,150
754
353
182
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,686
1,150
754
353
182
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster suitecardiff bayoverlooking the bayspa facilitieson arrivalmermaid quaythe hotel car parkpay and displayfloor to ceiling windowsrobes and slippersafternoon tearelaxation roombirthday treatan upgradewelsh cakesbars and restaurantslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
2,431 - 2,436 of 4,125 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Setting is perfect. Service is very good, range of tea is superb. Scones are delicious, sandwiches good but cakes are variable. We've been four times in the last 6 months, Christmas time they were delicious, good on another two visits but very ordinary on another. Some crockery was chipped and although the mismatch gives a vintage look, an overall colour theme might improve the spectacle. Staff are very knowledgeable about the teas and services a very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Realfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your most recent visit for afternoon tea, and particularly our quirky take on this tone honoured tradition.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I visited the spa with a group of friends recently, and we were all very disappointed with the facilities on offer. Most definitely not a 5* hotel or spa. The changing rooms was small and crowded, and the robes we were given were very worn- belt loops ripped etc. The pool area is small and there are only a handful of beds, which were all full when we got there. The Jacuzzi is ugly and old fashioned and the pool small and cold. The sauna is good- shame there is no steam room. The juice bar upstairs (free tea/coffee/juice) is very pleasant with fantastic views over the Bay. It was by far the best part of the spa. The treatment room was pleasant enough, but it needed updating. The entire hotel is in need of a spruce up. The treatment I had (salt and oil body scrub) was average at best and not a particularly relaxing experience.

Dinner in the evening was pleasant- good food but, again, nowhere near 5*. Drinks were expensive and slow to arrive, as was food.

All in all, not the luxurious experience we had hoped for, and we would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent spa day. I am pleased you enjoyed the sauna and complimentary juice bar ihn our Marine Spa. I apologise for your disappointment with our salt water hydrotherapy pool and 15 metre exercise pool.

Again your comments regarding dinner are noted and I am pleased you enjoyed the food.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

First visit to St Davids on 30th March 2014.

A beautiful iconic building without doubt and the Reception and dining room Staff were charming.

However, decor is without doubt tired. The interior of our rooms door (409) is stained. The bathroom could have been cleaner. A nasty stain on stone shelf over bidet. The door catch to bathroom was loose and potentially dangerous with the clothes hook on the bathroom door almost falling off.

Spa was key reason for our decision to stay, and mixed bag. One of two gowns provided in room was badly torn at collar.

At the spa itself the changing rooms impressed. The Gym disappointed. Cardiovascular equipment not particularly impressive and the screens of most pieces could not be read due to sunlight.

At the poolside I was genuinely impressed with water quality. Disappointed however with scale build up on tiling in numerous areas, astonished at heavy corrosion/rust to most of the metal drain covers and to all of the fittings on the fire doors.

Breakfast so so. Lovely staff but all of the eggs vastly overcooked and had obviously been fried considerable time earlier and left on warming trays.

Overall we would probably visit again, but having worked at two Hotels of the Year including the Savoy I don't see this as a 5 star hotel

Thank Richard2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry if elements during your stay did not meet your expectations. your comments have been noted and we will investigate these comments with our Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager, I would like to thank you your for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for our silver wedding anniversary.
The whole stay, from start to finish, was first class.
Every single member of staff couldn't make us feel more welcome .
Complimentary bottles if wine in the room, which went down really well.
The spa and facilities were A1.
Breakfast was very good, as on the first day it was cooked fresh to order, the second it was a buffet breakfast, so I don't know how it's normally presented. Me personally preferred the cooked to order.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning.
Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mwg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased your wedding anniversary break was first class from start to finish. We do offer plated breakfasts from Monday to Friday unless occupancy is very high we will offer buffet and on weekends we offer buffet. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a beautiful, striking hotel, it feels as if you are aboard a cruise ship when you're standing on your balcony ! The staff, bar none, are extremely friendly and helpful and any hitches are smoothed out so nicely, particular thanks to Nicola who we had spoken to a couple of times on the phone when planning our trip and was on duty throughout our actual stay. The views from our rooms were wonderful and to eat dinner in the restaurant ( totally delicious food ) whilst the daylight is going and the lights in the Bay and Penarth are coming on and their reflections are twinkling in the sea, is quite magical. The Spa is spotless with nice changing areas and lovely toiletries available in the shower cubicles. A dedicated lift down from the bedrooms into the Spa itself enables you to go back and for to the Spa all ready for your swim wearing just your bathers and the snowy white robes and slippers provided in the bedrooms.
I hope we will stay at St David's again, we'd really look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much on your recent review on the St. David's Hotel & Marine Spa. it made a delightful read. I will of course share your comments on to Nicola who made your stay with us more enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews