We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star view, 3 star room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star view, 3 star room”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I'd like to start by saying how friendly and welcoming the staff are here. The communal reception area and atrium is most impressive, and I had a beautiful view from my room across the bay. The room itself, however, was somewhat disappointing: the size and dimensions were very good, but it just seemed very careworn. Obviously, there will be wear and tear over time, but I couldn't stop noticing little details like the scuffs and holes all over the back of the curtains, limescale build-up around the kettle spout, and the grubby telephone on the desk. None of these adversely affected my stay, but it wasn't up to the standard of accommodation that you would expect of a hotel in this price bracket. The bathroom was rather dated - it felt like something out of a 3-star package holiday hotel, and again there was lots of wear and tear on the fixtures and fittings. I think this could be a great hotel with a much higher ranking on Tripadvisor if the powers that be spent a bit of money to upgrade/refresh the rooms so there's a consistent standard and level of sparkle which matches or betters its cheaper rivals in Cardiff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick0092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, Guest Relations Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the location and views of the hotel, together with the service provided by the team, of which I am very proud.

I can confirm that we are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme and I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to witness our ongoing investment.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    1,055
    700
    317
    167
See reviews for
455
2,075
80
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

No way 5* or is that just for the suites and the rich or someone treating themselves. Stayed there room 505, awful wrote a 20 point list of thing wrong, from stained carpets, no complimentry biscuits, to old wooden (charity shop looking trays in bathroom and room), broken tiles, stained with makeup net curtains, only one coffee table chair ripped and broken (had to ask for another), really awful bathroom, shower and taps falling off. Dark area to put suitcases, needs light there. No sleep timer or time on tv, and no programme guide, old dirty looking off white phone. Bar was dark, no atmosphere. Waitress at breakfast, wasnt speaking clear english and was looking away from us as talked so couldnt hear her. I could go on.. And as for pool, dark and not as big as looks. I COULD GO ON, IF WANT BIT OF LUXURY AND VALUE FOR MONEY FUTURE INN MUCH MUCH NICER AND FREE PARKING ABOUT 5 MIN WALK TO BAY TOO.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaJoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked this hotel because of its 5 stars, however, in our opinion this is more like a 3 star hotel at best.
We arrived to be told the hotel car park was full so had to pay and display in a car park next to it which cost £15 for 24 hours.
We were told we had been upgraded to a deluxe room which was a huge disappointment. Decor is outdated and drab, the curtains were stained and dirty as was the carpet. Furniture was cheap looking and in general the entire room needed a revamp and was very uninviting.
On the plus side the bed was comfortable but would definitely not go back to this hotel again.


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wicked10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your comments which have been noted.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed on this occasion. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to St David's in the future to witness our ongoing investment.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst on our way to cardigan bay. We had stayed for a weekend previously, some ten years ago.

After reading some reviews on Trip Advisor, we were expecting peeling paint and a dismal hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the first floor and well equipped with all essentials, spotlessly clean, plus an amazing view of the bay. We paid a visit to the Spa area. Yes it could do with a bit of a lift but we enjoyed the experience of the sauna, jacuzzi etc., The atmosphere in the bar was good with live music.

But best of all were the staff. They were helpful, polite and very friendly.

We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanv82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us on your way to Cardigan Bay. Thank you for your kind review which will of course be shared with the team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager
The St David's Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Perfectly nice rooms but nothing really special considering the 5 star claim. I would be giving a very good mark if they admitted that it is not a luxury hotel, consider it a poor premier Inn with a small pool.
I stay here occasionally with work and no consistency between quality of rooms, many are looking tired/marked now.
Some nice refurbished rooms but still with the same flaws.
Don't be afraid to ask to move rooms the staff are happy to help.
Not luxury beds at all - all beds are only two singles pushed together, Premier Inn manages far superior beds. St. Davids please note - More pillows/cushions do not compensate for the poor mattress offering.
The air conditioning desperately needs a service in every room. No matter what time of year you visit the rooms are only one temperature - too hot.
Spa facilities average - more holes in the ceiling appear every visit and rusting metalwork combined with very dirty grouting really drag the place down.
I don't stay at weekends at all as noise from the bar music & general lobby noise makes a good nights sleep impossible.
And worse of all the sausages at breakfast are cheap catering sausages!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Setting is perfect. Service is very good, range of tea is superb. Scones are delicious, sandwiches good but cakes are variable. We've been four times in the last 6 months, Christmas time they were delicious, good on another two visits but very ordinary on another. Some crockery was chipped and although the mismatch gives a vintage look, an overall colour theme might improve the spectacle. Staff are very knowledgeable about the teas and services a very good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Realfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your most recent visit for afternoon tea, and particularly our quirky take on this tone honoured tradition.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I visited the spa with a group of friends recently, and we were all very disappointed with the facilities on offer. Most definitely not a 5* hotel or spa. The changing rooms was small and crowded, and the robes we were given were very worn- belt loops ripped etc. The pool area is small and there are only a handful of beds, which were all full when we got there. The Jacuzzi is ugly and old fashioned and the pool small and cold. The sauna is good- shame there is no steam room. The juice bar upstairs (free tea/coffee/juice) is very pleasant with fantastic views over the Bay. It was by far the best part of the spa. The treatment room was pleasant enough, but it needed updating. The entire hotel is in need of a spruce up. The treatment I had (salt and oil body scrub) was average at best and not a particularly relaxing experience.

Dinner in the evening was pleasant- good food but, again, nowhere near 5*. Drinks were expensive and slow to arrive, as was food.

All in all, not the luxurious experience we had hoped for, and we would not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent spa day. I am pleased you enjoyed the sauna and complimentary juice bar ihn our Marine Spa. I apologise for your disappointment with our salt water hydrotherapy pool and 15 metre exercise pool.

Again your comments regarding dinner are noted and I am pleased you enjoyed the food.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing