We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“?5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Arrived at the hotel to have the last space in the hotel's car park. The concierge outside did not offer to help with luggage completely ignoring myself and my husband.
Reception staff helpful and check-in quick and easy. Offered help with luggage at this point.

Lovely room, fantastic view overlooking Cardiff Bay, however agree with some previous comments on dated furniture eg bedside tables.

Disappointing wifi access. Could be accessed for free for 1 hour but could not then connect for another 3 hours!

Used the gym which was clean and had a lovely view.

Had to use room service for extra milk which was promptly delivered to the room.

Breakfast very average. The hotel has made excellent use of the views. However only offered porridge off the al a carte menu. Have stayed in many hotels across the world not all 5 star hotels with a far superior selection at breakfast.

Be warned car parking £15.

Not sure if it was value for money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I hope you except my apologies if your expectations were not met, I have noted your comments, however I am pleased you enjoyed the spectacular views we have to offer here in Cardiff.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,288 - 2,294 of 3,997 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friend and I have stayed at the St Davids Hotel 4 times so far. Every time the staff have excelled themselves in their kindness and helpfulness. We both have mobility problems and from the moment we stop outside to be greeted by the concierge we know that we don't have to worry about anything. All the staff are so pleasant and friendly and do their very best to do all they can for us.
The accommodation is always very good but this time we had definitely had "the room with a view". It did not have a balcony like most others but it had 2 walls of floor to ceiling windows giving magnificent views of the bay.
Friends raise their eyebrows when we tell them where we stay......then we tell them what we pay and they cannot believe it. We always stay mid week and we book directly through the hotel web site. This time our deal included full breakfast, free wi-fi and £10 in drinks voucher and cost us £55 each ...just look for the deals.
Ps Cardiff is a great city for the disabled shopper. City centre is nearly all pedestranised with loads of it under cover.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz2162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your review on the St David's hotel & Marine Spa. I am pleased your stay once again exceeded your expectations. we look forward to your fifth stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed here again for my birthday , on arrival they upgraded our room free of charge , plus we were early , and the room was ready ...nice spacious room with ab views over the bay , and a bed which is very comfatable , again staff could not do enough for you , will be back soon .....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review and choosing the St. David's Hotel & Marine Spa. I am delighted your whole stay in general was very enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great location,very welcoming staff ,great service at all times throughoutthe Hotel. Comfortable rooms with White Company toiletries.Good vibe in this locality. will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRUCE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments on your weekend stay here at the St. David's Hotel & Marine Spa. I am pleased the service was immaculate throughout your stay. We hope you return soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A very nice hotel, with easy access from the M4. Be aware of the very small car park which you can get into even when full but you cannot get out without a pass code. The alternative is the NCP at £15 for over 5 hours, expensive for an overnight stop. Internet is not the easiest to connect to, be patient and you will, eventually, get connected. Food is expensive even by London hotel prices. All in all a nice place to stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank RPRodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We do have onsite car parking this is chargeable alternately adjacent there is a pay and display car park with ample spaces provided. Our front of house team are always on hand to provide help to connect to the hotels WiFi.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here last night (April 2014) fabulous. Room was sparkling & had everything we wanted, but the view was specular. Over looking Cardiff Bay, by day beautiful & when the sun went down just as fabulous. A short walk to Cardiff Bay with every dining experience & bar catered for our stay was enhanced by the great weather, none the less the sights & sounds of what Cardiff has to offer will bring us back again & again I am sure.
The staff at the hotel were friendly helpful & welcoming, we made good use of the Spa, although a few cosmetic touches maybe needed to qualify it for 5* the whole stay was just lovely.

Room Tip: I assume all of the rooms look out at the Bay, fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review on the St. David's Hotel & Marine Spa. I am delighted your whole stay with us was fabulous from your spacious bedroom to how helpful and friendly our staff are. We look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas M. Maszczyk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is the second time my friend and I have stayed at this hotel on the edge of the revitalised Cardiff Bay but it won't be the last. Wonderful location, great food and lovely staff and service - what more could you want! There's even fluffy white bath robes and slippers and nice biscuits too

We didn't use the spa this time but we had a great time there last time and did use the leisure facilities. Room service was good too and we loved the fish finger sandwiches - yum!!

We particularly like the balconies overlooking the water: when it's sunny you could be on the Cote d'Azure.

Only possibly improvement would be to have a mini fridge so you can have fresh milk not UHT.

We paid £132 per night for the room inc breakfast - not cheap but absolutely worth it!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony overlooking the bay are lovely - great views across Cardiff too and the ico...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you and your friend once again enjoyed your stay with us. The Cote d'Azure is indeed a charming comparison and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

For future reference a mini fridge is available upon request, subject to availability, and we would of course be happy to provide fresh milk.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,361 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £88 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing